Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 11/08/2025 in all areas

1. I turned the TV off and went out and did something less boring instead... Why don't you?
    6 points
  2. Can I also say what an achievement for SOD to get 200 appearances. Really pleased for him as some of the stick he has taken over the years has been ridiculous. Aye made mistakes but who doesn't? He never hides and actually is a player who fits into JBA style unlike the garbage "just punt it" from Kettlewell. He also got badly treated by Alexander. Well done SOD
    6 points
  3. Now that we have gone through one round of games it's probably a good barometer on the team's progress. From my own point of view, I really think this is genuinely an exciting time for the club. The football we are playing is exceptional and like nothing I could ever have dreamed of seeing at Fir Park. I was chatting to a few mates, and I actually think the only game we have actually deserved to lose all season was the St Mirren semi final. If you look back at the league fixtures: Motherwell v Rangers - 1-1 - draw probably a fair result but could have nicked it. St Mirren 0 v 0 Motherwell - fair result Hearts 3 v 3 Motherwell -- should have won Motherwell 2- 2 Killie - Should have won Dundee 1 - 1 Motherwell - Should have won Motherwell 2- 0 Aberdeen - Justified Celtic 3 - 2 Motherwell - Draw probably would have been a fair result Motherwell 1 - 2 Falkirk - Game of two halfs- draw might have been a fair result. Livingston 1 - 2 - Fair result Motherwell 2 - 0 Dundee Utd - Fair result Aberdeen 1 - 1 Motherwell - Probably should have won it. Killie 1 - 3 Motherwell - Pumped them Motherwell 2 - 0 Hibs - Total domination. Every one of these games we have not been dominated by anyone and the really good thing about this is the trend we are moving towards - scoring goals and then controlling games, reducing the draws. Exciting times.
    6 points
  4. What would be brilliant is if this style of football was adopted right down to the young academy boys. As a club we push this style of play and it becomes the identity of the club.
    6 points
  5. Celtic and Rangers aren’t playing until Sunday either. I know quite a number of them from both sides who regularly go along to fir park when their “big team” aren’t playing. Might swell the crowd a bit too. i actually spoke to an old duffer of a Celtic fan last week who said he’d stopped going to Celtic games altogether and goes to all the Motherwell home games now… said it was a better experience as it’s been poisonous at parkhead….. didn’t want to say to him that it’s been poisonous forever at parkhead.
    6 points
  6. 5 points
  7. Given my reservations that he was way down a pecking order that had Liam Scales on top… I’d be going all out to tie up Stephen Welsh for the long term.
    5 points
  8. In my head when I came up with the 17 points thing, we were beating Falkirk and drawing this one, however, it's on grass, they're shite and we're 2008 Spain. Nothing can go wrong......
    4 points
  9. In context, I don't think JBA was in any way having a go at Hanley. He was just trying to explain his approach during a live interview, while grasping for a few exact words using his second language. If you listen to any of his interviews, including his pre-match against Hibs, he never has anything but praise and respect for all our opponents. What I took from this interview, was that our tactic was to target the defenders with pace and a high press, and close down their usual outlets. Meaning Hanley (and the other defenders) were having to bring it out rather than being able to pass it to their regular ball carriers like Cadden. The fabricated fuss is a bit ironic given the experts in the media make a living telling everyone how terrible certain players and mangers are on a weekly basis. And they have English as their native language (allegedly).
    4 points
  10. Hearts were a more aggressive and more physical side than Hibs were and because of that sometimes our passing wasn't as slick as it was on Tuesday but I thought over all it was another good performance and we probably deserved the 3 points. Two disallowed goals and their keeper has made 3 or 4 smart saves. Hearts didn't create much and when we were under pressure I thought we defended really well. Overall you'll take 4 points out of 6 against the teams sitting 1st and 3rd in the league but the performances have been excellent and we've been the better team both times.
    4 points
  11. He also said that driving at 5mph in an area filled with prostitution was him just being a careful driver
    4 points
  12. Stop that kind of talk at once. I'm a BBC pundit and Scottish fans would much rather have seen the free kick put out at the corner flag so that Motherwell could have tried to force a mistake. This playing football stuff is an outrage against society.
    3 points
  13. I'm not having Stama's miss today as a sitter. He should have done better with it right enough but that's hardly a sitter. That Hendry header on the other hand.
    3 points
  14. Yes, it’s great but think where we could be if we had Jack Ross or Malky! 😂😂😂
    3 points
  15. Trump getting a peace prize tells you everything you need to know about FIFA as an organisation.
    3 points
  16. Grizzlyg you are generally glass half full type and I get your concerns. However if for example. Oxborough who is good at crosses we would not have the same control in games as we would have a man less at back to keep the ball. Our game is all about creating an extra man somewhere and ward like all others in team are a part of that. Also he is organising defenders in front of him and very much part of us keeping clean sheets. On game last night I like most thought the subs for us slowed us down but I would argue the point that we were more in control of game than Falkirk. Still haven came away from a game this season thinking the other team were better than us. A centre forward required in January would be my choice.
    3 points
  17. It was a Robinson thing.....we have to play dinosaur football first because we have to 'earn the right to play football'. Used to get right on my nipple ends !
    3 points
  18. Mc call is an ex football manager and will continue to be an ex football manager , dinosaur is the best description for that fud.
    3 points
  19. Devlin is a annoying wee dirty bastard who got away with murder today from Clancy, there was probably a queue to have a go at him.
    3 points
  20. Makes me nervous with so much “feel-good” press going on. Glad to see MJC prediction as I don’t like to see him forecasting wins for us.
    3 points
  21. Quick shout for Calum last night, ok he had little to do bar a couple of punches but his distribution was superb all night; he is integral to our new style of play.
    3 points
  22. Are we on the brink of a bright new dawn? Probably not but enjoy the ride just now...we will lose a few goals by playing out from back, the fans need to accept that.
    3 points
  23. I came across this analysis on X by @johnwalker_1986 and was going to share on the Hibs thread, but this seems a more appropriate place given it shows how much of a transformation has taken place in such a short period of time. Frankly, it's astonishing; < Motherwell: Dominating Without the Ball A lot of praise has rightly went to Motherwell & Jens Berthel Askou for their work "With the Ball" but last night was a clinic on how to control a game "Without the Ball". Hibs Analysis > Wing-Backs High & Wide to Deliver > Hanley "Limited" Distribution Quality > Barlaser Key in Building Through Lines Motherwell Press: > Leave Hanley Spare > Front 2 Pressing Outside CB's > Just Blocking Barlaser > Triggers to Jump on Hanley After Bushiri Pass inside > Frustrates Wing-Backs to Drop Deeper & Deeper Just Intelligence & Scanning Elijah Just is one of the signings of the season, he has absolutely everything but last night his intelligence and technical ability without the ball was exceptional: > Regularity of Scanning for Barlaser > Blocks Barlaser & Creates Chances to Jump > Wins Penalty & Scores off the Back of that work Work-Rate When Broken Albeit happened only once in the 30mins the game was 11v11, it helps when players work-rate is at such a high intensity when Hibs did break through, Motherwell got back behind the ball & forced an error. Best Coached Side in the Country Currently 👌 >
    3 points
  24. Last night proved we can rotate the starting eleven without shifting our fundamental approach. It also underlined JBA’s tactical nous in adapting formations to the game while keeping our style intact. With a few January ins/outs, we should only get better as the season progresses.
    3 points
  25. Don’t see us getting anything from this one infact I think we could actually be on the end of a drubbing. 1-5 Hearts
    3 points
  26. Even before the sending off that is one of the most controlled and professional performances I have ever seen from a Motherwell side. Over 700 passes - I doubt we managed that in a full Graham Alexander season.
    3 points
  27. The Kilmarnock X account makes for some glorious reading about Kettlewell. ”6 defeats in a row, no one else would get away with that. Sack him” ”Kettlewell out. A cheap appointment playing out as we all predicted. Utter dross from recruitment to tactics. Get him binned tonight” “SK it’s time to go” Bascially EVERYTHING that was being said by our fans over the last two years. ‘Some Motherwell fans really are deplorable human beings’ though eh???
    3 points
  28. We held on to the lead for the entire match.
    3 points
  29. Hartley was the Piers Morgan of the puppet world. Pretty sure he killed the old man too as part of a power grab.
    3 points
  30. Always did like St Brendan then. A man of true principals. 🥱
    3 points
  31. 3 points
  32. I thought Fadinger was excellent , as were several players . He goes under the radar but what a fabulous signing he’s proven to be
    2 points
  33. Although I will give AP credit for his PKs. He exudes confidence, doesn’t Fanny about and has mixed them up.
    2 points
  34. You’re still on track Ally 😀
    2 points
  35. No sure why you quoted him, if you're unwilling to answer his question
    2 points
  36. Its a big ask and while we wont win the league, if we were able to get a striker who can convert chances & if we hold onto the manager, i honestly see no reason we cant be in the fight for 2nd. Typing that out just had me thinking how good Biereth could be in this team with his pace, game intelligence & eye for goal.
    2 points
  37. In the 25 century …..will Accies be around then
    2 points
  38. I had the exact same thought when I left the ground. We'll enjoy every minute of it, the fans have certainly earned it based on recent times.
    2 points
  39. Not long in from the game and I can’t remember watching a more enjoyable and exciting 0-0 in my life. I thought we were excellent for about 3/4 of that game. We lost our way for about 20mins in the 2nd half but we pulled it back and took control again against a difficult big tough side. id have taken a point before the match but felt a little irked at the end as we did have some good chances. I did feel we were a bit slow with changes as it was clear after 60mins a few of the players were done but a tremendous effort from all and a great crowd. and McInnes is a wee short arsed Oompa Loompa ar5ehole, clyping to security at the end about a guy in the main stand. Pathetic wee rat.
    2 points
  40. Yeh we played so poorly last night I tend to agree 😝
    2 points
  41. Wilson will be moving on, its clear he is not rated by JBA, hes got no pace and the fact he is not getting a game at Raith would suggest hes not that highly rated there either
    2 points
  42. To be fair, like many teams visiting Fir Park this season, the version of Hibs that turned up tonight was the version our players and tactics created.
    2 points
  43. Surely the two are the same thing?
    2 points
  44. 2 points
  45. Jim Paterson new Head Of Academy Coaching. Richard Foster left to explore opportunities elsewhere
    2 points
  46. Poor Mirrens luck deserted them I see and its toys out the pram. Pure shame, not!
    2 points
  47. we are doing fine. We just need to concentrate on one game at a time and see where it gets us. Killie on that awful pitch is going to be hard.
    2 points
  48. The issue with our current style is that it too often slips into slow, sideways pish, like driving from Glasgow to Edinburgh via Inverness and then sticking it in reverse. We need to be more direct and move the ball quicker through the back line and midfield. Otherwise, we’re just keeping the ball for the sake of it in safe areas. And that’s the point. It doesn’t matter if it’s a front two, Stama and Hendry, or a Bair regen up top on his own. None of them will get the service if the build-up is that slow. I’m not saying JBA needs to rip up the game plan. The style itself is fine when it’s played with tempo and intent, which we didn’t see against St Mirren. The question is whether we have the players to sustain it across a season, especially against teams who are happy to sit in a low block and wait for us to make the inevitable mistake or just outmuscle us, or whether the current lot just completely shat the bed on the day. Or both.
    2 points
  49. I always thought Imrie would have done well with us, he was an annoying wee git as a player but I always thought there were a lot of comparisons to Dougie Arnott, just a total nuisance who opposing players hated playing against. im glad him and his family got support from the fans message, its nice to hear.
    2 points