Wellfan1984 Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Thistle forum has a link to Motherwell Times or something running the story. Sure he just signed a new contract with Thistle not so long ago. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Contracted until May 2013 apparently. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Maybe a swap? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Possible. I'm not sure who they would be interested in though that we could afford to lose. I know many will say Ross Forbes, but could be Bob McHugh plus some of Erskine's wages getting paid. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Craig Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Maybe a swap? Who would be going the other way though? Ross Forbes? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wishaestevie Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Apologies if posted already/elsewhere, but a Thistle fan at work tells me we have Chris Erskine on trial. Attacking left sided midfielder apparently. I asked a Thistle supporting mate about him when the story first surfaced and his assessment was that Erskine is "pish". Does anyone know much about him ? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 A contact I met through work. I never knew he was a Shrewsbury Town fan until I mentioned going back up to Scotland for a Motherwell match and he asked how Chris Humphrey's was doing. From there we got chatting about football and every now and then we discuss how our relevant teams are doing and he mentioned a few weeks ago that we were back to steal another of their players, he is still a bit miffed about Humphrey, and gave me the info. He took great delight yesterday in e-mailing me the BBC page about Taylor signing a new contract. So he's just a Shrewsbury fan? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Saw him last year versus Dunfermline @ Firhill looked a bit Ted McMinn to me - gangly dude. Some stuff he did worked other times it was a bit 'holy fuck' I'm sure he scored at least one that day Didn't see enough to be swayed one way or t'other. Seems to be a bit of a Kirky type enigma to the Jags Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 It's possible that Erskine's new contract contains a clause allowing him to leave for an SPL club for a nominal fee. Just a thought.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colsa77 Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 'Enigma' is what I've heard. On his day supposed to be unplayable (presumably at first division level!) but often enough goes missing. Not seen him play myself. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Mr Burns is tweeting that in tomorrow's express there is Steven Jennings on his future as McCall is about to make his 2nd signing. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 Mr Burns is tweeting that in tomorrow's express there is Steven Jennings on his future as McCall is about to make his 2nd signing. I'm guessing Nicky Law will be said signing as Burns hasn't really come up with anything before that we haven't already read on here.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joe90 Posted June 24, 2011 Report Share Posted June 24, 2011 ehh Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well 4 Europe Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Mr Burns is tweeting that in tomorrow's express there is Steven Jennings on his future as McCall is about to make his 2nd signing. Some Motherwell fan just asked if it was Nicky Law signing and Jennings leaving to which Burns responded "one right one wrong". Such a tease but should be worth a read. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Pure guess, but my money would be on: Nicky Law signs Jennings give a nothing interview about how he wants to stay at the club but is still weighing up his options before he decides his future. You read it here first. Don't waste your pennies on the Express. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 According to the express Jennings will sign a one year extension and Nicky Law will sign a 2 year deal on the 1st of July. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Great news if true. 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Great news if true. On the button. Unexpected but great (if that's how it turns out) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Great news if true. Agreed. That would be a good resigning, and from what I've been reading, a potentially excellent acquisition. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colsa77 Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Will be absolutely delighted if this is true. Just need a striker (or two) and maybe another centre half now. And Celtic to sign that big f*ckwit goalie from Newcastle. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Just a thought. What kind of centre half do we reckon is what we're needing? Older head, commanding in the air, speedy etc? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 I'd settle for Gavin Gunning coming back. Thought wee looked our best wi him and Hutchison as our centre halfs last season. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted June 25, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Just a thought. What kind of centre half do we reckon is what we're needing? Older head, commanding in the air, speedy etc? Massive, for me the best central defenders are always huge and use their physical attributes. Skillful, composed and fast would be a benefit but if we can find a guy with all 4 then he's probably out our price range. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Massive, for me the best central defenders are always huge and use their physical attributes. Skillful, composed and fast would be a benefit but if we can find a guy with all 4 then he's probably out our price range. Don't agree. Carolos Puyol, Fabio Cannavaro, Ricardo Carvalho (all smaller than 6ft) are three of the best defenders to grace the game in the last 10 years. Winning trophies left, right and centre, including World Cups, European Championships, Champions League, Premiership, Serie A, and La Liga. If you've got a good defensive brain then it doesn't matter if you're tall and built like a brick shit house or you're small/average height. Would rather have a defender with a brain rather than a Gary Kenneth! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted June 25, 2011 Report Share Posted June 25, 2011 Experienced man mountain - we've been vulnerable against bigger teams at set pieces for more years than I care to remember. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...