steelboy Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 as far as i can tell the mighty well have never won three games in row at tynecastle. saturday is a chance to make history. we've raped the jambos on our last two trips to their midden and the atmosphere the well fans have created has been a huge part of that. both games in 2010 we outsang their 3 stands and took all 6 points, if we can get a similar support again on saturday we will dominate. it is within us to intimidate hearts in their own ground. let's do it this saturday! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 It is always a joy to pump the Jambos on their Midden. Lets hope the boys do it on Saturday!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Was talking to a hibs fan about our common hatred of hearts yesterday. They are not a good team, but they are capable of grinding out results. I didn't see much difference in the team that beat us at fir park, and the team we tore apart at tynecastle, just some confidence and luck. If will be a tough game, with plenty route one football. I don't care about Saturday, I just hope the players cone through unscathed! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 I figured this may as well be the Hearts game discussion thread. So, heading into the match on Saturday the updated top six competition list looks something like this; Inverness Celtic (home) Kilmarnock (away) Hearts (home) St Johnstone Rangers (home) loss Dundee United (away) Celtic (home) Hibernian Hearts (home) Draw Celtic (away) loss Aberdeen (away) Accies (home) St Johnstone & Hibs are now officially out of the running, leaving us and Inverness competing for top six football. Has there been any update on when Inverness are playing Celtic? If they lose to Killie on Saturday then it's all over for them anyway regardless of how we do against Hearts, but if we can win at Tynecastle we'll cement our top six placing, although even if we don't get anything from the game it'll leave Inverness needing a win against both Killie & Hearts, and a draw against Celtic to draw level on points with us, which although is mathematically possible, has to be considered very fucking doubtful. The big question is, do we go for it against Hearts on Saturday? Or rest some players with the semi-final coming up? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Has there been any update on when Inverness are playing Celtic? Next Thursday night. 48 hours after Celtic play St Johnstone away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Hearts season is all but finished. Tough decision for McCall but we could really do with resting our key men. Hampden is not a nice place to go to with tired legs. I think we could manage a point with a few of the fringe players in the team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 If it were up to me I'd be resting a few of last night's team, guys like Hump and Las who are carrying injuries. I'd hate for anyone to aggrivate an injury ahead of the Semi Final, especially when we've all but guaranteed our Top Six place. So with that in mind this would be my team for Saturday, in a 4-1-4-1 formation: Randolph Saunders Craigan Hutchinson Ross Page McHugh Hateley Forbes Jones Murphy I'd have guys like Sutty, Hump and Las on the bench just in case, but if we can get away with not using them then great. I'd be delighted with a draw, and ICT not winning too of course! Mon the Well!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeecee Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Sod 4 in a row and 3 in a row at Swinecastle, play the U-19's on saturday!!! Oh aye and hope ICT get humped tae!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Maybe reading between the lines, but into today's Herald McCall is quotes as saying: “Those selected for Saturday will be determined to put a performance in to be involved at Hampden the week after. It is a win-win in that respect.” which sounds to me like he will resting a few players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waldo Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 I would definitely rest Lasley, maybe play him with a minute to go to give him his win bonus. I think he'll put out a strange team but we'll soon find out whose carrying a knock. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 It will be a very tough game. 1-1 or narrow loss for us on Saturday. Mainly due tonour exersions of the last week and possibly a changed line up. No doubt we will all be looking for updates from Rugby Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 I'm not really a fam of resting players, always believe you play your strongest 11 and play to win however this is a tough decision this week. Lasley has cracked ribs and given he had just played 2 games against Houston's Hackers then playing him against a physical Hearts side might be too much of a risk. I'd say that if Jennings was available then it would be a no brainer to leave Lasley out but it will be tough to have a midfield without Lasley and Jennings and expect not to be overrun. Might be worth sticking Page in there? Is he mobile enough for the role? I'd expect Jones to get a starting berth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 So if we get a draw against hearts then it's all over regardless of what ICT do? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 So if we get a draw against hearts then it's all over regardless of what ICT do? No a draw with Hearts would put us 8 points ahead of ICT and they can get 9. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperCC Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Difficult decisions for McCall to make because a win against Hearts could still give us an outside chance of 4th in the League and another (possible) route into Europe (and the extra cash for 4th or 5th) but resting some of the squad makes sense but then leaves us open to a defeat by the Jambo's and if we also lost the semi - then our season is over!! (top 6 finish still a major achievement though). I'm all for playing the strongest squad possible in both matches and hope the full weeks rest inbetween is all they need to recover. Let's just have trust in McGhee, Gannon, Broon, McCall or whoever it is now as my memory's shite Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auldyin Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 According to the Sun and Hearts web site, next month marks the 125th anniversary of Tyncastle. There will be a large number of Hearts legends at the Motherwell game. Sounds to me that it's an ideal time to stuff them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Going to be another tough game. I think the game will go 1-0 either way, playing a strong a team as we can, taking next Saturday into consideration. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 This will be my first and probably only away league game of the season ,be a hard match but a think we might just do it, 1-2 victory and a top six finish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 After weeks of self imposed exile and being quite content with the coverage, reports and the results, this is one that I'm gonna feel i'm missing out on. Sadly work means I can't change that. Team has been delivering above and beyond in terms of effort and results, can't be much left in the tank, I hope they can find enough to stem what is quite an attacking Jambos side, Zaluska, Elliot and Skacel with the recent return of Driver means our defence will have to be solid and whoever makes up the midfield will have to try and stop the supply from the wings Or we could just try and outscore them, which could lead to a classic Either way if I'm having a quiet shift I'll be listening in on the Killie match as much as I am ours This will be my first and probably only away league game of the season ,be a hard match but a think we might just do it, 1-2 victory and a top six finish. taking advantage of the new train line? mind these away games are not all about sitting supping beer and dodging bubbles from the fountain although........ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bladesman Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Hopefully going to swinecastle, and would love to see us pish on their parade, however I'd be equally as happy with one eye on hampden and a defeat with some youngsters in the side.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 Would be happy if ICT win against Killie then get pumped in their next game. We can still catch Killie so really don't need them picking up points.Finishing 5th gives us more money than 6th so we have to be aiming for that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan09 Posted April 7, 2011 Report Share Posted April 7, 2011 i see no reason why we cant aim for 4th to be honest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted April 8, 2011 Report Share Posted April 8, 2011 Hoping for a caley win too, lets keep the unbeaten run going and get the top six with our own games and then climb the table. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted April 8, 2011 Report Share Posted April 8, 2011 Reckon we will play a good few of the squad players on Saturday and rest key men. Got Hearts at 5/6 last night with VC. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mon' the JT's Posted April 8, 2011 Report Share Posted April 8, 2011 Mon' the Hearts!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...