GazzyB Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Doubt me all you want, Ports will be here til Faddy turns 32, just so they can play together. Edit - surely Cardiff will be a better option, coz they're probably heading for the Premiership? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
orange county dosser Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Doubt me all you want, Ports will be here til Faddy turns 32, just so they can play together. now theres a thought !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperCC Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Wish him all the best with many thanks for his time at the club. From start to finish, Porter has probably been the best bit of business this club has done for years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Easy Target Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 good luck to the big man. class act. sorry to see him go but he has done so well since bein here and deserves a big move. kept his head down, got on with the job (in some style), so he leaves with my best wishes. hope he does really well. hope he boots that wee whore mccormack in the baws! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellTiliDie Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 I reckon he'll turn down Championship football and sign a new 4 year deal at the Ark.. You heard it here first. I think you could be right. £400,000 is too good an offer for us to turn down but i believe the club will be doing everything they can to keep a hold of him to the end of the season at least. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 My hope is that he is still available to play on Saturday. We've not had the time to prepare without him and it would be great for all the fans to get a chance to send him on his way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 It's only too good an offer to turn down if the money we would receive for Porter gets invested in bringing new players in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mic2904 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 My hope is that he is still available to play on Saturday. We've not had the time to prepare without him and it would be great for all the fans to get a chance to send him on his way. Only thing is we play away :-( Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Aye. Imagine, I would hate for one of the last thing's Porter did for us was to miss an absolute sitter against |Falkirk. A hatrick against Hibs to see him on his way Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcsuperwell Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Pity we couldn't do a deal with willo flood and get it up the manky mob and Dundee Utd for that matter... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Sorry to see Porter go.The price offered, is to good to refuse seeing has he could have moved for next to he-haw. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Not too surprised to be honest, if a suitable offer came in he'd be away, and £400K is decent business. As others have said, we'll miss his link-up play as Sutton is more a penalty box player, but I reckon if he gets the service he'll score. Gutted to see him go though, as he's the best 'big' striker we've had at the club in years, great pace, feet, link-up play as well as arial ability and scoring rate. What is the best way to boost the squad with £400K now? Interesting, almost a new thread.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 People on the Cardiff boards are saying that the Welsh media is reporting that Porter was on his way down but has received word of other interest and has turned around to come back up and consider other offers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 People on the Cardiff boards are saying that the Welsh media is reporting that Porter was on his way down but has received word of other interest and has turned around to come back up and consider other offers. that'll do me. at the very least it increases his chances of being in the starting line up for saturday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 However it turns out, and whoever he ends up with, I am just glad to see our gamble with taking on Porter has actually paid off (most likely). Great to be getting that sort of money for him in this financial climate and considering how little of his contract is left to go. Now, if other clubs are interested as reported above, maybe we can get the price hiked up a bit too? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dmsd Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 that'll do me. at the very least it increases his chances of being in the starting line up for saturday. If the game had went ahead last night porter was not going to play according to the papers?? so maybe they knew about it and if he is to go then i dont think mfc will risk a bad injury and play him on sat Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brazilmfc Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Good luck to the big chap. Been really fond of him but it suits all parties if he goes. We get good money & he gets a good move he was hoping for. Has put in a shift for the team and been loyal to us. Thanks for the memories chris. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 People on the Cardiff boards are saying that the Welsh media is reporting that Porter was on his way down but has received word of other interest and has turned around to come back up and consider other offers. Might bump his price tag up a bit if a few folk are interested? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_Triangle Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Might bump his price tag up a bit if a few folk are interested? Don't think so. If that offer has been accepted, All Derby would have to do is Match it, and we'd accept that as well. Then obviously it would just be up to Porter to decide where he'd like to go. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 McGhee says Setanta.com. “We’ve accepted an offer from Cardiff and have handed it over to Porter who is away speaking with family and whoever else he speaks to and he will make a decision as to whether he thinks it’s the right thing for him. “So we’re actually waiting as we speak for him to come back to us and say 'yes I’m interested and I will go and speak to Cardiff.' “So, at this moment in time it is not a done deal. “He knows he has to give us an answer today because he knows we have options with regard to who we can bring in to strengthen a little bit if we lose him. “Maybe not a direct replacement, but we can certainly invest some of the wages we will save on Chris to bring in a loan player and we want to do that quickly.” Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Don't think so. If that offer has been accepted, All Derby would have to do is Match it, and we'd accept that as well. Then obviously it would just be up to Porter to decide where he'd like to go. So why didn't Cardiff simply match the £200,000 offer that was accepted from Huddersfield? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Positive at least to hear McGhee say that he knows who we can get in should Porter go and everything's ready to be put in place. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iain7_mfc Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Would hate to see the guy go but wouldn't grudge the guy a move to a much bigger club. All the best Ports. Hope he grasps the Championship the way he did with the SPL. Chrisy Porter Motherwell's number 9! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 http://www.walesonline.co.uk/footballnatio...91466-22810420/ Bluebirds' quest for Chris Porter on holdJan 29 2009 By Mark Bloom, Media Wales Cardiff City's bid to sign Motherwell striker Chris Porter has been on hold until after the weekend. The 24-year-old was on his way for a medical with the Bluebirds earlier today, but turned back to consider other options before commiting himself to a move to South Wales. The Bluebirds remain interested in Porter and could yet complete the deal on Monday, but for now it is delayed. Porter has netted nine goals in 21 starts this season for the Scottish Premier League club and has a fine career scoring record having claimed 31 goals in 66 starts for Oldham before moving to Motherwell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Some guy on facebook messaged me asking me a few questions about Porter and now I'm on one of there unofficial site yaaaaaaas Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...