rambunctious Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 It's not so much the song - but the way it's sung. Really stood out on TV during Ch/League games so could only imagine what it would've be like being there. Think it could be quite powerful (and as I said, intimidating) if we could pull it off in much the same way? Tosh I agree totally, but i meant it has actually been sung slowly like that already this season. Would be good if it were to happen but i can't really see it, not to the same scale anyway Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 Would have to say, I think it was them who had it first That would be a first then, they even stole being kid-on Irish fae Hibs and Dundee Utd. Haud the bus!!! Nothing original about the easily offended (Well apart from the lack of personal hygiene) Heard this played out at plenty grounds in England in recent years... Definitely Bolton Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ML1 Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 We're up to our knees in postal fees surrender or you'll die ... ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 Bob Marley Three Little Birds Just cos...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 We're up to our knees in postal fees surrender or you'll die ... ? Catchy and Topical........gets my vote Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmc1886 Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 The cry was two fish suppers, a puddin and a pie aye aye! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
clamber91 Posted April 28, 2011 Report Share Posted April 28, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfbOHebiBgw Great tune...not sure we all could get it right but uplifting and original.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
clamber91 Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9-_OW1TIr8 Far too many Tennents cold tonight................... OOOh OOOh --Ohh Motherwell x4 Ah- ah- ahh- ah Motherwell x4 By the gates of Firpark, there we sat down, Yea-eah We wept when we remembered Phil our boy. By the gates of Firpark, there we sat down, Yea-eah We wept when we remembered Phil our boy. When The wicked!! Old Firm scum came to town Required of us a song. Now how shall we sing a Well song In phil's name. When the wicked Old firm scum came to town requiring of us a song. Now how shall we sing a Well song In Phil's name. Oh Oh oh Motherwell x4 Let the words of our mouths and the meditations of our heart Be acceptable in Phil's sight here tonight. Let the words of our mouth and the meditation of our heart be acceptable in Phill sight here tonight. By the gates of Firpark, there we sat down, Yea-eah We wept when we remembered Phil our boy. By the gates of Firpark, there we sat down, Yea-eah We wept when we remembered Phil our boy. Oh -Oh- Oh Motherwell x4 By the gates of Firpark there we sat down Pure tears for phil our boy x3 Wow wow wow Motherwell---Wow wow wow Motherwell wow oh oh oh........................... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 what about rocking all over the world? Status Quo everyone knows that eh? I prefer the original version . I've been thinking about this since the Semi but don't seem to be able to think of any songs that would be appropriate for the occasion... was thinking that Rise against - prayer of the refugee with song lyric changes would work?? Its quite a nice song rhythmic wise but it would have to be the acoustic version because I couldn't see the 15000 or so 'Well fans screaming the chorus! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTOcDZQ-MSI Or perhaps a stadium version of this.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVinwOpllQk I think Ten thousand fists would work because the lyrics sort of match our intentions on the day and it reflects our crowd roughly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 How about Agadoo from Black Lace Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 Bob Marley Three Little Birds Just cos...... I'd go with that. And in the interest of democracy, freedom and reaching a consensus for the people (plus the notion that we might end up with a song out of this thread) I think we need to get it out there soon. So we practice our skanking at the h**s and killie games. Three Little Birds it is then? Unless someone knows different. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gdalli10 Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 randomly found my self signing "were the mighty motherwell" to the tune of pride of lanarkshire this week and the peter ward song which is james bond music with PETER WARD PETER WARD! at the end but changed words to MON THE WELL, WIN THE CUP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 Not as easy for me as it was 30 years ago, (gone are the days of writing something on 5 or 6 sheets then handing it round the Bridgework bus for everyone to rehearse on the way to an away game, however I've put a lot of thought in recent weeks into creating something. Essentially it has to be easy to remember the lyrics and the tune, so here goes. Hope you find favour with this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1N95aeSLtA4 With these lyrics ....... I have a dream We have a dream If dreams come true And dreams come true Then Motherwell Then Motherwell We'll follow you We'll follow you ..... I hope and pray We hope and pray Today's the day Today's the day That Motherwell, we'll win the Scottish Cup with you. REPEAT....REPEAT....REPEAT....REPEAT, etc., Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 I'd go with that. And in the interest of democracy, freedom and reaching a consensus for the people (plus the notion that we might end up with a song out of this thread) I think we need to get it out there soon. So we practice our skanking at the h**s and killie games. Three Little Birds it is then? Unless someone knows different. got my vote Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 I'd go with that. And in the interest of democracy, freedom and reaching a consensus for the people (plus the notion that we might end up with a song out of this thread) I think we need to get it out there soon. So we practice our skanking at the h**s and killie games. Three Little Birds it is then? Unless someone knows different. Al hand that onto Dee and the young lads then, they've already kinda adopted it as an anthem some of them. Just need to take it up a level and give it laldy at the Final. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 Bob Marley Three Little Birds Just cos...... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LanCLS_hIo4 Steve is right, perhaps getting a gildy-on is required and a selection is made pronto. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TigerWoodsMFC Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gyt-71DkVM4&feature=related Just seen this, would be a good laugh if we could do something like this 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Alpha Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 To the tune of "I am a passenger" ...."We are the Motherwell We are the Motherwe e e ll Na na na na nananana Na na na na nananana Rpt often Also when the unwashed do their huddle ,we could do a Posnan !! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TigerWoodsMFC Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 To the tune of "I am a passenger" ...."We are the Motherwell We are the Motherwe e e ll Na na na na nananana Na na na na nananana Rpt often Also when the unwashed do their huddle ,we could do a Posnan !! We do usually do something along the lines of the poznan during the na na bit of you are my well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FlashGordo Posted April 29, 2011 Report Share Posted April 29, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Po5wrJ8TujM Merely for the line; Some things are meant to be Would be amazing if we did get one of these going as an anthem, no matter which one, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FlashGordo Posted May 3, 2011 Report Share Posted May 3, 2011 Should maybe get a poll going to see the favourite, three little birds would probably get my vote, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted May 3, 2011 Report Share Posted May 3, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Po5wrJ8TujM Merely for the line; Some things are meant to be Would be amazing if we did get one of these going as an anthem, no matter which one, Airdire song (where's the shaking heid smiley?) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FlashGordo Posted May 3, 2011 Report Share Posted May 3, 2011 Airdire song (where's the shaking heid smiley?) Blissfully unaware, apologises, just one of my favourite songs, ruined it for me now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted May 3, 2011 Report Share Posted May 3, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDBlqu6KF4k one of my favourite songs of all time, sums me up pretty well, and the chorus was just writen for motherwell i recon, sums up everything we stand for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FlashGordo Posted May 3, 2011 Report Share Posted May 3, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDBlqu6KF4k one of my favourite songs of all time, sums me up pretty well, and the chorus was just writen for motherwell i recon, sums up everything we stand for. Great song, but if any song were to work it would have to be well known by most generations of well fans Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...