mfcmainstand Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Accies relegated there is only space for one premier team in Lanarkshire, MON THE WELL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 We've always been the Pride of Lanarkshire as it is! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcmainstand Posted May 10, 2011 Author Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 I have a strange sense of pride knowing there down now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TigerWoodsMFC Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Although I will miss a new years derby at New Douglas Park to be honest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan09 Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 the last one was the worst game of football all season, or so i heard... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Nah, according to the Sportsound commentator, that was at McDairmid tonight........... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Although I will miss a new years derby at New Douglas Park to be honest Indeed. With no Accies, that will likely mean a St. Mirren or Killie New Year 'derby' - which never felt quite right to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HonkyMcHonK Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 I wish they stayed up. <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Christ I'd forgotten about that, was an absolute howler of a game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 I wish they stayed up. They probably could have if it wasn't for Billy Reid's negative tactics. I'm glad there gone to be honest, but would have rather seen St Midden or Aberdeen go before them. Wish I sampled the Derby's some of the older posters enjoyed back in the day. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JBA Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Will be glad to see the back of them and their poor attendances. Dunfermline should bring a decent crowd to their games, the raith v pars decider had 11,000, amazing for a first division game! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 They probably could have if it wasn't for Billy Reid's negative tactics. I'm glad there gone to be honest, but would have rather seen St Midden or Aberdeen go before them. Wish I sampled the Derby's some of the older posters enjoyed back in the day. I welcomed the return of a derby affair but the reality is there was nothing in the games resembling the old fashioned matches I recall and hoped we might be able to look forward to. Reid's mind numbing tactics negated any chance of that and I'm glad to see the back of them with the memory of £50 doon the pan for that New Year debacle still paining me. They would seriously get fitba' stopped if they kept that up. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 the standard of the derby games since hamilton got promoted have been pretty poor the 0-0 game at new year was the worst ive ever seen closely followed by another 0-0 at NDP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TigerWoodsMFC Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Although they've not been classics, its always a good laugh and you do get a decent away support. My favourite one was the 2-2 last season where Jamie Murphy scored a screamer in the 80th minute. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Although they've not been classics, its always a good laugh and you do get a decent away support. My favourite one was the 2-2 last season where Jamie Murphy scored a screamer in the 80th minute. aye i enjoyed that 2-2 game and billy reid fell on his arse which made it even better 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phoenix Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Made my night, can't say I will miss the derby again now we had a taste more of it this season, spark gone for me so excellent they struggle in the lower leagues while we are The Pride Of Lanarkshire.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 Would rather it had been St Mirren but won't lose sleep over that lot going down. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TigerWoodsMFC Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 If Airdre managed to get up the derbies would be mental Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 i would much rather games against airdrie theres definately a sense of hatred fae both sides.though i dont think strathclydes finest would have the resources to police well v airdrie games on a regular basis after the riots that went on when we last played through there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TigerWoodsMFC Posted May 10, 2011 Report Share Posted May 10, 2011 i would much rather games against airdrie theres definately a sense of hatred fae both sides.though i dont think strathclydes finest would have the resources to police well v airdrie games on a regular basis after the riots that went on when we last played through there Yeah ma mum's friend didn't want to take her car cos the registration plate said MFC on it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted May 11, 2011 Report Share Posted May 11, 2011 Would much rather St Mirren went down would save us at least 6 points a season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beechy dossers Posted May 11, 2011 Report Share Posted May 11, 2011 (edited) The derbies were shite there was no atmosphere to them Maybe a cup game every couple of years would put the atomos back! Edited May 11, 2011 by Beechy dossers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted May 11, 2011 Report Share Posted May 11, 2011 We've always been the Pride of Lanarkshire as it is! Don't you mean Scotland? :whistling:Although i suppose we can be both. I wish they stayed up. <_>So do i. St Mirren will take the plunge back to the First Division where the belong next season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted May 11, 2011 Report Share Posted May 11, 2011 would love for airdrie to come up in the spl... would be great as for accies... i hope those bastards do a gretna... we've had a few diddy derbys now they can get fucked 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted May 11, 2011 Report Share Posted May 11, 2011 There were some cracking games with Motherwell, Airdrie and Accies back in the day....even the preseason Lanarkshire Cup threw up some good games with the addition of Rovers as the big four Lanarkshire teams. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...