something else Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Sod the morton game let's get the herne bay game confirmed! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted June 20, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Where is that? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuarty Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Herne Bay, fucking some trip that would be if we go near playing them. A good 7 and a half hour trip each way, I think I will pass on this game!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Finlay its near margate mate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted June 20, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Is it? Aye. Not sure I would do that for a friendly myself. Cheers lads. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 You will not of seen them for ages and the club needs every penny it can get. Surely they are good enough reasons to turn up. I see Motherwell play Leeds in a meaningless game, or I can afford the rent. I need every penny I can get, never mind the club, who, at the end of the day, just got a couple of hundred quid for my season ticket. I don't disapprove of the friendly itself, but don't presume to question other fans who have other interests than seeing a turgid friendly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joe90 Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 im also looking forward to the dumbarton game,ma cousins husband is the manager.hoping get some hospitalty,although there hospitality is probably a hob nob and a can ae bru. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Finlay its near margate mate. fling in chas n dave and its a goer Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 fling in chas n dave and its a goer Two years too late... http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/6217531/Chas-and-Dave-split-as-Dave-retires.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Cut my veins and i will bleed motherwell colours. Oooh you should get that looked at it could be the plague or some other nasty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted June 21, 2011 Report Share Posted June 21, 2011 Two years too late... http://www.telegraph...ve-retires.html you may find they have not long played margate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted June 21, 2011 Report Share Posted June 21, 2011 The game will be pish of the highest order, I've been to plenty of meaningless home friendlies over the years and I have learned my lesson, I doubt I'll be at another one anytime soon unless its for a real glamour tie. I can wait another week until the real stuff starts to see the Club that I love. Away friendlies are an entirely different kettle of fish though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyRoss Posted June 21, 2011 Report Share Posted June 21, 2011 Oooh you should get that looked at it could be the plague or some other nasty. I doubt he's telling the truth! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted June 21, 2011 Report Share Posted June 21, 2011 Oooh you should get that looked at it could be the plague or some other nasty. I doubt he's telling the truth! get it tattoo'd on yer arm, that'd be even better Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
leedsunited Posted June 22, 2011 Report Share Posted June 22, 2011 (edited) falkirk charging us 50% more for a weekday night match. well done motherwell i really hope its pays off . http://www.lufc.netfirms.com/ feel free to post on here. Edited June 22, 2011 by Andy_P Merged into the existing pre-season discussion thread Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Morton away friendly confirmed for Tuesday 5th July, just been posted on the MFC Facebook page. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 A healthy away support and a relatively healthy home support could make this a wee bit better than yer average run of the mill fare. Would love it to be a decent game to shut some of the moaning fuckin bastards up. Why o why o why do you even bother calling yourself a fuckin football supporter. I remember us putting 4 past Real Sociedad at FP and thinking - that sets us up nicely for the season - and by fuck it did. Wasn't a classic match but was good to see the boys getting a work out and a first glimpse of big Cusack if I mind right. These games have their purpose - getting us up to speed before the real business. A really vital part of preparation at that. Granted friendlies might not recently have been the most imaginative or enthralling, played half arsed in fromt of a paltry half arsed audience - but surely we've got to be a wee bit more positive about a competitively priced game with the chance of a decent turn out? No? Of course - the other option is not to bother. That's cool, don't bother - but why fuckin moan about it? Alternative suggestions for preparing for a cometetive season an a postcard please 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Some people are not happy unless they have something to moan about SD. I have rarely come across a bigger shower of negative people than populates this forum. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 These games have their purpose - getting us up to speed before the real business. A really vital part of preparation at that. They are indeed. However, paying to watch training isn't the most enticing offer. Granted friendlies might not recently have been the most imaginative or enthralling, played half arsed in fromt of a paltry half arsed audience - but surely we've got to be a wee bit more positive about a competitively priced game with the chance of a decent turn out? No? It's only a game if the sides are competing. Otherwise its just a workout. Alternative suggestions for preparing for a cometetive season an a postcard please Closed door games? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Is it the fact we've become used to European games in such a short space of time? Used to be everyone looked forward to friendlies cos they were desperate to get back into the swing of things, mind you we didn't get charged for them then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Is it the fact we've become used to European games in such a short space of time? Used to be everyone looked forward to friendlies cos they were desperate to get back into the swing of things, mind you we didn't get charged for them then. Do you mean 'included on the season book' fatcalf? I thought they were always pay at the gate in the past - but only recently they stopped being free to season book holders. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted June 23, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Hopefully another lower league away game will be arranged for Sat 2nd July now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Do you mean 'included on the season book' fatcalf? I thought they were always pay at the gate in the past - but only recently they stopped being free to season book holders. Yep first game I recall being charged to attend was Southampton whenever that was. Before that your season book included all Motherwell first team and reserve matches at Fir Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sieb Dykstra Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Yep first game I recall being charged to attend was Southampton whenever that was. Before that your season book included all Motherwell first team and reserve matches at Fir Park. July 2005? I'm sure that big streak of pish Crouch was up with them just before getting sold to Liverpool....? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 July 2005? I'm sure that big streak of pish Crouch was up with them just before getting sold to Liverpool....? And some wee wonderkid who went to Arsenal Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...