Smalltown Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 conversation starter regarding the pitch: there's seemingly a season long complaint about the quality of the pitch, which is probably more complicated to maintain than most of us think. looking beyond simple tradition (not a point to trifle with, but this is a conversation starter), why not consider more seriously artificial turf? I know that my son's teams love to play on it when they get the chance (U16 to U18 level here the US). it gives a consistent bounce (faster and higher but consistent)and there's no question that it's either to maintain, especially in difficult weather situations. the technology of turf has advanced considerably, so that it's not a sheet of plastic on concrete anymore, so the physical damage of it is less than years ago. thoughts? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maxywell Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Always thought it was a good idea tbh.it works in russia so why not here?! Only problem is that it does take sliding tackles out of the game and can slow the pace of games a bit but it's certainly worth a try in the spl. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Its currently against the Rules sadly here endeth the conversation maybe in the new stadium however Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Bulldoze the South stand and let the sunlight get to the grass is the only solution to our shite park. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smalltown Posted June 18, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 please excuse my ignorance of the regulations on that - is that an SFA rule, UEFA or? as noted, they do allow them in Russia and here in the US. thanks for the input Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 It's an SPL rule Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smalltown Posted June 18, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 thanks for the info. I understand the tradition of grass and, generally, do think it's better. but, given the choice between poor grass and losing games to to unplayable natural turf and then the more options available with artificial turf, I think it should at least be considered by the authorities. but the SPL has a lot bigger issues to settle than this looking forward to the season Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Don't think we lost any (home) games to an unplayable pitch last year. Or did we? I cannae mind Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Weahter we had last couple of season we wouldn't have played on any kind of surface apart fae indoors, even then the roads would have been deemed unsafe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Is Arsenals pitch not 50% artificial and 50% grass? Wonder much that would cost. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan09 Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Don't think we lost any (home) games to an unplayable pitch last year. Or did we? I cannae mind Motherwell 0-1 St Mirren , Michael Higdon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 There is a swiss club that played in the c/l with a synthetic pitch too, Young boys maybe? Spurs played them last year. Would probably be a good idea for the game to be slowed down too... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell89 Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 In the (possible) words of our ex groundsman - get real, yae cannae expect us to use that stuff on grass! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 why do folk thing synthetic grass slows a game down? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Regardless of the rules, I always thought artificial pitches had to be laid as flat as possible? There's far too big a slope on our pitch that would cost far too much to sort out first. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 please excuse my ignorance of the regulations on that - is that an SFA rule, UEFA or? as noted, they do allow them in Russia and here in the US. thanks for the input It's an SPL rule but I think there is also a UEFA rule as well, when Man Ure beat Chelsea in the Champions League final in Moscow, the Russians had to dig up their artificial turf and relay grass for the final. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 There is no UEFA rule per say. Many clubs have used it in European Competition with the Luzhniki Stadium (CSKA Moscow) even been given a 5 star rating. I don't understand why they don't allow them in the SPL, would probably, I guess save clubs a decent amount with maintenance, and the need to no longer have undersoil heating. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Yep plus renting it out for folk to play on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Bulldoze the South stand and let the sunlight get to the grass is the only solution to our shite park. Exactly which leads onto my sincere hope that the Club do not entertain Bill Dickie when it comes to any future stadium design. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 There is no UEFA rule per say. Many clubs have used it in European Competition with the Luzhniki Stadium (CSKA Moscow) even been given a 5 star rating. I don't understand why they don't allow them in the SPL, would probably, I guess save clubs a decent amount with maintenance, and the need to no longer have undersoil heating. The Luzhniki hada 5 Star rating but UEFA still made them replace the artificial turf for the Champions League final. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 The Luzhniki hada 5 Star rating but UEFA still made them replace the artificial turf for the Champions League final. So? To even hold the final you need a 5 Star Stadium. CSKA Moscow played all their European Games on the Synthetic surface and so have Russia, in fact they played England not so long ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Its not allowed in the SPL as it would have shown them up to be the shambolic organisation they are who forced clubs with perfectly good pitches to rip them up and install undersoil heating Accies must be seething at the farce, the had a pitch that was being used daily by the community, never had matches cancelled and because some fuckwit committee in the SPL decided the needed undersoil heating they had to rip it up and install turf Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted June 23, 2011 Report Share Posted June 23, 2011 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...