1991 Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 At the recent 1991 panel night Tommy McLean was asked who his worst signings were he said Paul Shepstone and Alex Jones were bad. I think the McLeish era was bad with guys like John Hendry Shaun McSkimming Eddie May Andy Roddie to name a few. Eric Black also signed a couple of crackers Yan Saloy and Ange Ouifio. Who do you think has been our worst signings. Alan Sneddon must get a shout Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
one m in motherwell Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 From what I remember, Soloy was actually alright. Ouefio I don't remember too much about - was he not in the Kampman/McLeish era though? There are the obvious ones like Holm Kraska, Steve McDonald etc, but one of the worst has to be McClair (2nd time around)... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Soloy was pretty decent, Ouifio was murder. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 For pure nepotism over and above his ineptitude .... John Davies You could argue some of the players we brought in like Falconer and McSkimming for the money was abysmal, that is if you compare it to now, however it was how things rolled back then, now a fair portion of signing fees goes direct to wages. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewhitepele Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 With Tommy Mclean being the manager for 10 years you would have expected him to have signed some right duffers over the years and he did,off the top of my head i give you John Gardiner,Derek Murray,Gordon Mair,Crawford F@@@ing Baptie,JIm Clark,John Reilly,Dave Shanks and Mark Caughey,maybe Tommys memory is going if he didnt mention any of the players listed,just wish i could forget their time with us as easily. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 With Tommy Mclean being the manager for 10 years you would have expected him to have signed some right duffers over the years and he did,off the top of my head i give you John Gardiner,Derek Murray,Gordon Mair,Crawford F@@@ing Baptie,JIm Clark,John Reilly,Dave Shanks and Mark Caughey,maybe Tommys memory is going if he didnt mention any of the players listed,just wish i could forget their time with us as easily. That's a belter of a list. Don't think anyone will be able to top that! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 With Tommy Mclean being the manager for 10 years you would have expected him to have signed some right duffers over the years and he did,off the top of my head i give you John Gardiner,Derek Murray,Gordon Mair,Crawford F@@@ing Baptie,JIm Clark,John Reilly,Dave Shanks and Mark Caughey,maybe Tommys memory is going if he didnt mention any of the players listed,just wish i could forget their time with us as easily. Everytime this topic comes up, that's the name that immediately spring to my mind!! He was chronically bad...ended up being chairman of Albion Rovers at one point if I mind correctly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Surely the 3 shite players for the price of 1 in Danny Murphy, Trevor Molloy and Paul Keegan has to be up there? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Yassin Matoutakililaokilili Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_army Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 What was the name of that clown we got from Falkirk, who assaulted Jim Griffin ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 What was the name of that clown we got from Falkirk, who assaulted Jim Griffin ? Colin McNair I think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1991 Posted June 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 What was the name of that clown we got from Falkirk, who assaulted Jim Griffin ? I think it was Colin McNair Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 it might have been colin something Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Somebody McNair Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1991 Posted June 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Wee Tommy def had a few howlers another I remember is Paul Baker, Dave Mcabe and Alex Kennedy. Also remember Stevan Lindquist, Steven Halliday Jamie Mclen. I also seem to remember some guy called Gulli Johnson think he was from Iceland. Jonni Lethonen was also pish poor Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Pup Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Kaven sneddon kraska jones may Roddie curcic malcolm nevin Halliday burns Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Gunni Jonsson one of McLeish's best signings. Made his debut against Aberdeen at Fir Park and gave away a last minute penalty, the sheep scored won 2-1 but i remember that was the game some guy ran on from the cooper and clatterted Leighton. Jonsson played again against a very poor St Johnstone the following week and we lost 4-3, needless to say he was on his bike soon there after. Greig Miller, Kai Nyyssonen, David White, Holm Kraska and Mikko Kaven were belters from the Kampman era. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonesy Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 curcic No chance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 With Tommy Mclean being the manager for 10 years you would have expected him to have signed some right duffers over the years and he did,off the top of my head i give you John Gardiner,Derek Murray,Gordon Mair,Crawford F@@@ing Baptie,JIm Clark,John Reilly,Dave Shanks and Mark Caughey,maybe Tommys memory is going if he didnt mention any of the players listed,just wish i could forget their time with us as easily. I wouldn't say all of those were right duffers -- a couple perhaps fell more into the "enigma" category. John Reilly seemed to find Billy's Boots every now and again and scored a couple of belting goals in his time, and my recollection of Gordon Mair is that he wasn't a bad winger until he had his confidence shattered by a crunching tackle on the main stand touchline one sunny day (can't remember who against, though). I never think of Derek Murray or John Gardiner as being especially bad compared to some later candidates either, but maybe I've just blanked them out Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmmfc Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Mario Dorner, Herve Bacque, Rob Maaskant, Rab Shannon, Stevie Woods, Tony Vaughan......there are far too many to mention. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Stevie Woods get a rough ride Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
one m in motherwell Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Mario Dorner, Herve Bacque, Rob Maaskant, Rab Shannon, Stevie Woods, Tony Vaughan......there are far too many to mention. Rab Shannon surely wasn't in that league? The others perhaps...what about that Andy Smith boy, the one we got from Preston I think who had that hoorish haircut? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dundeesteelman Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 I think Rab Shannon did a job for us. Not a glamerous one, but a job none the less. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmo Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 why has Esteban Casagolda not been mentioned?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deljohnstone Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Callum Elliot for loads of reasons ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...