carlukemurray Posted July 18, 2011 Report Share Posted July 18, 2011 Inverness are operating with a 19 man squad right now so they don't have a lot of options. Do we have a lot of options? Is our squad any bigger? I'll go for 2-1 to Motherwell although I'll miss the game as like another boarder I am off down to the Wickerman Festival. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted July 18, 2011 Report Share Posted July 18, 2011 Inverness are operating with a 19 man squad right now so they don't have a lot of options. Do we have a lot of options? Is our squad any bigger? Either way, unlikely to affect the outcome of the first game of the season for either team, you'd hope. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dazzer Posted July 18, 2011 Report Share Posted July 18, 2011 A good test for the first match, it will be a handy gauge on where we will end up this season, some spells against Leeds were top notch, as in going forward, show the same commitment and 3 points are there for the taking, close game with Motherwell coming up trumps, by two clear goals. Not sure on scorers, but would like Higdon and Humphrey to score, get there confidence up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ankles Posted July 18, 2011 Report Share Posted July 18, 2011 Made a point of avoiding all the in between season shite that goes on ,so i'm now heading into a season where i dont know exactly who actually plays for us and what our line up will be ,or for any other SPL team for that matter. Quite refreshing actually. Not read a sports page from cup final day. Will miss the first two games due to the feckin Spl bringing the season forward ,but expecting to step off the plane on my return to find we have the first six points in the bag Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Games against Inverness are never easy and I can't see this one being any different. Stick on draw I reckon. 1-1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 I do expect it to be a tight encounter, they usually are against ICT. They have improved as a side, but have lost a number of stalwarts, so who knows how they'll be on Saturday. We have looked good pre-season, and if we can play our fitba I reckon we'll have too much for their defence to cope with. My only concern would be that we need to tighten up at the back, as well as being more clinical in front of goal. I'm going for a Well win, 2-0 sounds about right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Higdon catches fire as he bangs in 2 goals in a 3 - 1 win. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Not a fan of opening games, I really dont think we learn anything from them, and they dont bear a great deal of significance for the rest of the season. I reckon this will be a fairly nervy 0-0 draw. Hope I'm wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 think it's interesting that Butcher seems to be panicking about his team not being ready according to the BBC. He also has a rant about the early start of the season in the same article. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_nuts Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 looking forward to getting my Saturdays back to normal by sitting in the pub from 12.30 before heading up to the football. Think we will win 3-0 on Saturday Murphy with 2 and Law with the other. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Forbes unavailable due to suspension, gutted for the wee man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 That's a shame for yeez. Sill you've got Humphrey & Higdon - you'll be fine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 15mins, you getting slow in your old age. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
McLovin Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Flying in to Glasgow early Saturday morning and going to the game. Hoping for a win and a good game! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 15mins, you getting slow in your old age. First game thread of the season, prior to the game commencing, your the opposite, getting more and more premature. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted July 22, 2011 Author Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 I would have thought that most would just be happy to see football back on a Saturday afternoon to be honest <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 You would think so. I for one cannot wait for it to start. 3-1 Well tomorrow. Hutch, Murphy and The Don. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
another number Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 looking forward to tomorrows match. If we can play like we did in the Leeds game we'll get a result Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Would be great to get off to a good start and get 3 points but it's Motherwell so you have no idea how things are going to pan out! I have a feeling that we will play well, but I'll still go home disappointed! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 I'm optimistic. I think if we get service to Humphrey and Law we can do a job. Higdon will hopefully pull their defence around and leave some gaps for Murphy or Law to exploit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 First game thread of the season, prior to the game commencing, your the opposite, getting more and more premature. Aww there he is SD's wee pal. Hiya.. Think we will do ok on Saturday fancy a wee 2-0 victory. No idea what kind of pre-season they have had but they have lost a few of their better players. Will be interesting to see how the guys get on in a proper competitive game against a team that we have struggled physically against on numerous occasions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Aww there he is SD's wee pal. Hiya.. That's smashin - comin from the official spokesperson for the SteelmenOnline Knuckle Dragger & Tourettes Party 1h 18mins Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 I would have thought that most would just be happy to see football back on a Saturday afternoon to be honest I certainly am, even though it's been the shortest ever close season, I'm glad the football's back. I think the fact that our last real game was that Damp Squib at Hampden in May and that has made the close season drag in for me and it'll be good to get back playing competitive football again and start putting all that behind us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pretzel Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Official kit numbers just annonced by all teams. Motherwell's obv -- Motherwell 1 Darren Randolph 2 Steven Saunders 3 Steven Hammell 4 Nicky Law 5 Stephen Craigan (captain) 6 Thomas Hateley 7 Christopher Humphrey 8 Steven Jennings 9 Michael Higdon 11 Jamie Murphy 12 Lee Hollis 14 Keith Lasley 15 Shaun Hutchinson 16 Robert McHugh 18 Ross Forbes 19 Gary Smith 20 Jonathan Page 21 Jamie Pollock 23 Jordan Halsman 25 Steven Lawless 26 Stuart Carswell 27 Ross McKinnon 28 Steven Howarth 30 Dario Quinn 31 Thomas Bradley 32 Lee Erwin 33 Michael Lynch 35 Kieran MacDonald 36 Dean McLean 37 Euan Murray 38 Joshua Watt 39 Adam Cummins 40 Nicholas Devlin 41 William Muir 43 Zaine Sebastian Francis-Angol 44 Steven Hetherington 45 Adam Asghar 46 Darren Brownlie 48 Craig Moore Can't wait till the game tomorrow, fancy us winning 2-0 Higdon and Murphy both netting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taff Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 canny fucking wait mun Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...