SteelmaninOZ Posted October 1, 2011 Report Share Posted October 1, 2011 Looking forward to it Dundee Utd game, I'm heading up on the train. Can you switch season ticket seats? I sit in the Davie Cooper, have done for years and I love where I sit. However, my point is,I think the singing section is great. I would like to go back to my young days, (middle of the shed and singing like feck all through the game) and join in with the singing section. In my opinion, that is what football is all about, not the constant moaning and getting on some players' back I am 50 though and would be slightly drunk and wanting to sing all the old 70's classics as well as the new ones, (I'm sure there are more of us out there). Why don't the guys of my generation move to the section beside the singing section and take our kids with us, 3 generations of Well fans belting out Well songs for 90 minutes, we would have the best atmosphere in Scotland. YES! I remember when the shed was in full voice as was the wee terraces in front of the main stand where I stood and shouted and sang...even the bings (That's now the Cooper and South Stands)were in full voice. Fir Park was magic back in the '70's with Joe Wark, Wullie P, Gregor Stevens, etc,... the fans... the pies... the brick wall as a toilet....the polis ... the Fir Park Club under the main stand...the crowds walking up the street... aye they were the days...It would be great to have something akin to that at Fir Park now....KEEP IT GOING LADS & LASSIES.......... "...dont you take my Motherwell away.....We are the Motherwell FC ..... C'Mon ye 'Well!" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gilmour Posted October 2, 2011 Report Share Posted October 2, 2011 I wasn't having a go at the Entire east stand just the booing morons. The lads at the end you are doing a great job in bringing the atmosphere back, well done. As for the cooper being as bad no chance dull it may be but there was no booing from it. However time to move on and i find the way the lads were treated at the UTD game shocking and as someone previously put yes it does have something to do with age and it is easier to pick on them. I'm 38 and can remember 20 so years ago when we were all regularly searched when entering the ground, At Easter road in particular they lined us up and searched us 1 by 1. A few weeks ago a couple of younger guys were speaking to me in the Que waiting to enter Fir park i didn't know them and 1 of them had a can of beer. The steward took it off them and and then searched them for more, thinking i was with them he said "mind if i search you" i laughed and said no chance he didn't debate it and let me in, would the younger guys have got away with this I DOUBT IT. Fondly remember the shed and the cage but prefer the view from the old Bing or the now Cooper but enjoy the singing from the East so keep it up and don't let the fookers grind you down, they were there when i was younger and are still there just they wont bully a grown man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rico Posted November 2, 2011 Report Share Posted November 2, 2011 Probably the biggest game of the season so far in terms of maintaining our title challenge ,so here goes my 'I have a dream' effort. Noticed another thread encouraging people to get along to the game,so I'm using this to encourage those who are at the match to be as loud and boisterous and possible. Encourage those around you to do the same. Get behind the players for the full 90 as we've seen in recent weeks,even if we are having a 'mare we're still able to sneak late winners and play till the end. Bring out any flags,scarfs etc that you have tucked away and get the place as noisy and colourful as possible and get the lads cheered on to victory. Up the 'well! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee Posted November 2, 2011 Author Report Share Posted November 2, 2011 Can only agree with what Rico has posted, massive game ahead and a loud and lively home crowd will only help to lift the players on the park. As McCall said in one of his recent emails, the atmosphere and singing seems to be more constant at away game, probably because most people have had a few drinks and are more up for the day out, but we really need to try and replicate that at home! Here's a video from Inverness on Saturday, more of the same please! Gutted I'm missing this along with a couple of the other guys from the end section. Booked flights to Oslo to see Aalesunds in the Norwegian cup final on Sunday and then due to Celtic playing Rennes tomorrow they go and move the 'Well game The idea of us going 6 points ahead of Celtic is making me think twice.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted November 2, 2011 Report Share Posted November 2, 2011 I'd try to encourage those that sit around me in the middle of the east to get up and make some noise, but unless it's to yell at Higdon or give McCall pelters from bringing off Murphy I doubt they'll respond too much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
santheman Posted November 9, 2011 Report Share Posted November 9, 2011 Some footage of the display at the Celtic game. Doesn't show it here but its spreading into the 2nd section.Maybe by the end of the season the whole East stand will be gettin in on the act Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gilmour Posted November 10, 2011 Report Share Posted November 10, 2011 Some footage of the display at the Celtic game. Doesn't show it here but its spreading into the 2nd section.Maybe by the end of the season the whole East stand will be gettin in on the act Was in the Cooper and couldnt see this so asked a Celtic friend what it was about and he said "a banner about terrorism" what a tit, should have known better as he said they sang " oooo ahh samara say ooooo ahh samara" sounded more like oooo ahhh up the rah to me. 10 mins in BTW. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted November 10, 2011 Report Share Posted November 10, 2011 Off on a slight Tangent but I noticed on Sunday we were almost 40 mins into the game before the great unwashed actually sang anything with theit team name in it ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
happyslappy Posted November 17, 2011 Report Share Posted November 17, 2011 Not sure about the shoe bit but search on you tube for lillestrom singing fans looks a good laugh. Could do both ends of the shed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq7hr-C0L3Q Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFC-craig Posted November 17, 2011 Report Share Posted November 17, 2011 Not sure about the shoe bit but search on you tube for lillestrom singing fans looks a good laugh. Could do both ends of the shed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq7hr-C0L3Q Another video but on a grander scale! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alanr Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Keith Lasley switching on Gowkthrapple Christmas lights on Thursday evening. Bring the drum! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Christ, how did he get landed with that gig? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Christ, how did he get landed with that gig? Wis offered Gowky or Muirhouse. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcmainstand Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Muirhouse don't have lights, too much glare on the security cameras 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grant Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 You just couldn't imagine this at Fir Park haha http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtLxpMyh13g 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eaststandfan Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 May I make a suggestion some people want some of the old Well songs can someone put them on the site for the guys at the end of the east stand, and lets see when the sing them will it spread along the east stand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 May I make a suggestion some people want some of the old Well songs can someone put them on the site for the guys at the end of the east stand, and lets see when the sing them will it spread along the east stand Here are a few 70's classics: Wherever You May Be We are the Motherwell FC We hate the Hearts and we hate Dundee We will go wherever you may be Cause we are the boys of the MFC To the tune of Dance Wherever You May Be Pride of Lanarkshire We're the pride of Lanarkshire We're the pride of Lanarkshire To the general tune of You're Not Singing Anymore You are My 'Well You are my 'Well My only 'Well You make me happy When skies are grey You'll know never just How much I love you So please don't take my Motherwell away La la la, la la la To the tune of You are My Sunshine Can't You Hear Us We are the 'Well; can't you hear us? We are the 'Well; can't you hear us? Walking along, singing a song S****** on the Hibees all the way To the tune of Winter Wonderland ??????? We hate Glasgow Rangers We hate Celtic too, they're s**** We hate Heart of Midlothian But Motherwell we love you To the tune of Land of Hope and Glory Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 Some more Classics, :yahoo: Motherwell Motherwell, Motherwell, Motherwell Motherwell, Motherwell, Motherwell Little tune, very repetitive 'Well Flag Do you know where hell is? Hell is Easter Rd Heaven is the Fir Park Where the Hibees s*** their load Oh, I was born under a 'Well flag A 'Well, 'Well flag To the tune of I was Born Under a Wand'rin' Star Away the Lads Away the lads You should've seen us coming We're only here to drink your beer And ***g your f****** women All the lads and lassies Had smilies upon their faces Walking down the Fir Park Rd To see the Motherwell aces To the tune of Blaydon Races A Claret and Amber Ribbon She wore, she wore A claret and amber ribbon A claret and amber ribbon in the merry month of May And when I asked Her, why she wore a ribbon She said it's for the 'Well and we're gonna win the cup Win the cup, win the cup To the tune of She Wore a Yellow Ribbon We Were There When the 'Well, Went Up, To lift the Scottish Cup, We were there, we were there To the tune of the Quartermasters Store 5-2 As I walked down the Copland Road I heard a mighty clamour For the boys in blue Got f***** 5-2 By the boys in claret and amber To the tune of 'Carnwath Mills' (We're No' Awa' to Bide Awa' ) Doon ye Go Eeh I oh Doon ye go Airdrie, Airdrie To the tune of? Boom Boom Boom, boom, boom Let me hear you say 'Well 'WELL Tune of Boom Boom ????? Oh the 'Well fans don't carry razors Oh the 'Well fans don't carry chains Oh the 'Well fans we just carry shot guns To blast out the jam tart brains To the tune of? By the Light of the Silvery Moon By the light (by the light, by the light) Of the silvery moon (silvery moon, silvery moon) We f***** the boys (f***** the boys, f***** the boys) We f***** the boys in maroon (4-2, 3-0) To the tune of By the Silvery Moon We Love You 'Well We love you 'Well, we do We love you 'Well, we do We love you 'Well, we do Oh, Motherwell we love you To the tune of? The Fir Park Terracing From the slopes of the Fir Park terracing onto it's playing fields so green; There's eleven stalwart warriors, the best you've ever seen. Tho' they may not be league champions Or not even runner's up They have humbled mighty Sassenachs in the old Texaco Cup. For they halted Stoke's endeavour, in a hard and bitter fight; Then they thrashed the Spurs of Tottenham, on a cold November night; So applaud those gallant warriors with a loud triumphant yell; And always speak in reverance, on the mighty Motherwell. Then bring on Wolves or Derry As it matters not at all; For the answer to each one of them, has the writing on the wall. And we the staunch supporters, are always proud to tell; Of the wonderful achievements of the mighty Motherwell. Up The 'Well We're the boys from the 'Well And We're doing very well You will find us at Fir Park The home of foo-ootball Of the Steelmen we are proud Shout their praises long and loud We will follow them wherever they may go Chorus: Up the 'Well we will shout As the Gers and Celts we rout We've the spirit and the skill To set them reeling Claret & Amber colours true, Far ahead of green & blue They'll remember Motherwell For many a day Frae the tap o' the toon Tae the Cross and further doon, You can hear the roar that greets You through the tunnel Then the ref his whistle blows, And the more he volume grows, As we hail the Scottish team That beats them all. (Chorus) You may travel far and wide, Watch the Thistle or the Clyde, Or the Hearts and Hibs At Easter Road in combat, But we'd cross both sea and surf, just to view the Fir Park turf, Or to cheer the Steelmen On to victory (Chorus) Don Goodman Song Don Goodman, Don Goodman He has afro hair Don Goodman, Don Goodman He is everywhere He gets the ball Then he scores a goal Don Goodman, Don Goodman He is everywhere To the tune of Robin Hood ?? As I was slowly passing fir park one day I stopped there for a moment, just to watch the well play Alone a boy was standing And when I asked him why He turned with eyes that could not see And he began to cry OH WELL OH WELL WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS To the tune of Lonely Child - Alexander Brothers! The bells of the Well go ting -a - ling -a ling ting - a - ling a - ling , ting -a - ling a ling , the bells of the Well go ting - a - ling - a -ling for you ya Jam Tart B*****D . Oh , Wullie Wullie , Wullie Wullie Wullie Wullie P E T T I G R E W . repeat chorus ( if you remember the words ) Wullie PettigrewHis name is Wullie Pettigrew, he's the leader of the team The greatest cetre forward that the world has ever seen He's in He's out He's running about And scoring the winning goal As as for Derek Johnston (or similar) You can stick him up yer holena na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na (to the tune of MacNamara's Band) THE CLARET AND AMBER IS SOARINGWHEN ALL OUR FORWARDS ARE SCORINGTHE FOOTBALL IS SWELLTHEY PLAY FOR THE WELLSIDE BY SIDE(to the tune of Walking Along Singing A song Side By Side) 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 We f***** the boys (f***** the boys, f***** the boys) 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 The sounds of the seventies...from the slopes of the Fir Park terraces... but I don't remember F*** the boys by the light of the silvery moon? Whit did you get up tae behind the south bing Gordy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 The sounds of the seventies...from the slopes of the Fir Park terraces... but I don't remember F*** the boys by the light of the silvery moon? Whit did you get up tae behind the south bing Gordy? Some of the guys from that era will back me up on that one, if you know what I mean. :evilgrin: By the light of the silvery moon, (altogether now) :whistling: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
santheman Posted December 1, 2011 Report Share Posted December 1, 2011 Some of the guys from that era will back me up on that one, if you know what I mean. :evilgrin: By the light of the silvery moon, (altogether now) :whistling: Yeah, definately remember that one Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 1, 2011 Report Share Posted December 1, 2011 The bells of the Well go ting -a - ling -a lingting - a - ling a - ling , ting -a - ling a ling , the bells of the Well go ting - a - ling - a -ling for you ya Jam Tart B*****D . Was just gonnae suggest that yin, glad I had another look back. Lovely wee song that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martin Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 Safe Standing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 19, 2011 Report Share Posted December 19, 2011 There is no jurisdiction under Scots law preventing standing areas returning, with only an amendment to the SPL's rules required. Away!!!! Proof we've been lied to all these years? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...