rinkydink Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Anyone heard the rumours of a decision to close the doors being taken last night? Suspect few tears will be shed right enough. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmmfc Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 I know there was an emergency meeting last night but no idea the outcome, although suspect you might be correct. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 No picture of John Boyle needed since his departure... The sovereign lady should remain. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 only reason i went in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Fucking h*n shop anyway. Would be good if the club bought it back & run it as a proper Motherwell supporters club, with no picture of the queen on the wall. Couldn't agree more but it will all depend on if the bar is owned by the brewery? Would be a fantastic opportunity for something new in Motherwell, especially with Starka shutting down. Perfect big hall complete with stage for live music, opportunity to offer one of the rooms to away fans before the match as well as pulling in 'Well fans. I could be completely wrong but I believe if run correctly, so long as the brewery isn't calling the shots, it has a great deal of potential. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 It's how it's managed when not every other Saturday though Dee. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albi Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Sad if true. A good place for a pre and post match drink Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 It's how it's managed when not every other Saturday though Dee. That is very true! However, with a club that size and the correct visions you could achieve quite a bit. I'm sure it was reasonably busy midweeks with the oldies? With so many rooms there is potential to have bingo, poker, live football, dancing etc. Almost something for all ages. That said, I'm not experienced in that field so I could be a mile out with that prediction. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
real dosser Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Perhaps we could get somebody from Motherwell F.C.with a bit of expertise ( like say Bill Dickie ) to turn it into something worthwhile for the community like for example a Squash Club.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 We can but hope. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Shut while they look for someone to fund insurance. They had been in discussions for months with Heineken looking for a loan of around 40k but have been told to bolt because they arent selling enough booze. If they cant find funding from somewhere then its goodnight Vienna. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
john_M_F_C Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 The put the prices up massively did they not? sure it was about £3 a pint last time I was in, thats city centre prices. From what I know they were spending big money on the acts they were putting on. Stuff like "show of the month" on a sunday night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 They'd actually cut the live music down to a minimum and werent paying huge amounts to the band either, its been the same band in there for a good few years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 We can but hope. Is that a whoosh moment? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Heard a while back it was in a bit of trouble and was going to have to raise prices of booze and charge admission fees to keep afloat. Never set foot in it in my life right enough, Daniels or Electric would always be the preferred option. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Sad to see it closed tbh. I've been a member since 1990. Hopefully something else that has live bands can replace it and it was fab for a pint before and after games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mjw Posted August 9, 2011 Report Share Posted August 9, 2011 Heard a while back it was in a bit of trouble and was going to have to raise prices of booze and charge admission fees to keep afloat. Never set foot in it in my life right enough, Daniels or Electric would always be the preferred option. Seems keeping the SKY subscription going when not enough people were going in to watch it started the slide. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted August 10, 2011 Report Share Posted August 10, 2011 Sky subscriptions for pubs and clubs is blatant extortion. For a simple wee boozer they are asking about £1200 a month and clubs are generally charged a bit more. We pay £3k per annum for a Scandinavian Channel and that gives us every EPL game even the Saturday 3 O'Clock kick offs. The basic problem with the Fir Park Club is it's location. Quite a few pubs and clubs get a lot of business from passing trade, and unless there's a game on there isn't going to be any passing trade in Fir Park Street. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 10, 2011 Report Share Posted August 10, 2011 Back open on Friday night apparently Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JBA Posted August 11, 2011 Report Share Posted August 11, 2011 A place I would never consider going for a pint, its a throwback to the 70's. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albi Posted August 11, 2011 Report Share Posted August 11, 2011 What have folk got against the Fir Park Club? Or am I detecting a few sheep in the thread? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted August 11, 2011 Report Share Posted August 11, 2011 Got nothing for or against the place, but would never go in there for a pint. Been in there once for a works christmas dinner, thats it. Wouldn't go in for a pre-match pint though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser_fae_the_shire Posted August 13, 2011 Report Share Posted August 13, 2011 Tell you what I've got against the place. We wre in there a few years ago watching a Motherwell v h**s game and their fans were having a right good sing song. We started to sing Motherwell songs and got asked to stop by a member of staff. Handed my membership to the guy and told them to stuck their fuckin club. Never been back since and dont miss it one bit. Fuck them. Daniels is miles better anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tid Posted August 13, 2011 Report Share Posted August 13, 2011 The problem is if it is shut means that the Cooper bar is going to be even more heavin' than it has been so far this season. For the last few years the Cooper bar has been ideal for a pint or a quick hauf before the game but the last 3 home games it's been absolutely jam-packed with a Q 30 or 40 long half an oor before KO. Disnae take a genius to realise that place is a potential goldmine if they get it right. Once or twice they've put a bottle bar at the far end of the hall which makes a lot of sense. charge say £2.50 a bottle & you'll get loads of punters buying whilst making the club a fair whack in the process. AND WHILE I'M AT IT TURN THE F*CKIN' HEATING OFF FOR THE "SUMMER" GAMES & SAVE THE CLUB A FORTUNE. THE PLACE IS A SWEATBOX! rant over. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albi Posted August 13, 2011 Report Share Posted August 13, 2011 Tell you what I've got against the place. We wre in there a few years ago watching a Motherwell v h**s game and their fans were having a right good sing song. We started to sing Motherwell songs and got asked to stop by a member of staff. Handed my membership to the guy and told them to stuck their fuckin club. Never been back since and dont miss it one bit. Fuck them. Daniels is miles better anyway. Maybe it was for your own safety...? Alternatively, why didn't you walk the 200 yards to the ground and watched the game there? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...