swami Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Just watched the SPL Classic match on the BBC site. 2-2 v Rangers in 2001. Now, I was at this game, I was 21 at the time so not a kid where all memory of the team has been lost in the mists of time. It must have been at the time when Eric Black was the manager, McFadden was in the team, Brown in goals, Delemeaux at the back, I can remember pretty much every player in the squad. But David Kelly? Who the fuck is this? I genuinely cannot remember this name ever appearing in connection with Motherwell. Have I cracked up? Is this some sort of elaborate hoax being played on me by the BBC to make me believe that my mind has snapped? I think I need a lie down. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 He was an Irish International who played around 20-25 games for us in 2001-2002 season. We got him from either Sheff Utd or Tranmere from memory and then he had a bust up with Eric Black during a cup game with Dunfermline(think it was the game the lad got onto the roof of their East Stand and we got beat) and don't think he ever played again for us. He's was Billy Davies' assistant manager at Notts Forest up until last season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Has he not turned out in the Masters for us too? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 He was an RoI international. I remember him, think he was most remembered for being invloved in a dressing room bust up. Sure I saw him score at rugby park?? 6 goals in 19 appearances according to wikipedia. Anyone remember who the bust up was with? I'm thinking Spencer or Davies?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Based on him being Billy Davies assistant, maybe not him? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Dissenting voice was against the then assistant manager Big Tel was it not? Only one winner there... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Just watched the SPL Classic match on the BBC site. 2-2 v Rangers in 2001. Now, I was at this game, I was 21 at the time so not a kid where all memory of the team has been lost in the mists of time. It must have been at the time when Eric Black was the manager, McFadden was in the team, Brown in goals, Delemeaux at the back, I can remember pretty much every player in the squad. But David Kelly? Who the fuck is this? I genuinely cannot remember this name ever appearing in connection with Motherwell. Have I cracked up? Is this some sort of elaborate hoax being played on me by the BBC to make me believe that my mind has snapped? I think I need a lie down. Everything you could want to know about David Kelly! Motherwell debut - Jul 28 2001 (A) Dunfermline Final appearance - Jan 05 2002 (A) Dunfermline League - 19+0 (6) Scottish Cup - 1+0 (0) League Cup - 1+0 (1) League Goals - Jul 28 v Dunfermline (A), Aug 18 v Aberdeen (A), Sep 8 v Hibernian (H), Sep 22 v Hearts (H), Oct 27 v Dundee Utd (A), Dec 15 v Rangers (H) Cup Goals - 25th Sep v Airdrieonians (A) TOTAL APPEARANCES: 21+0 (7) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 An erm, victim of cost cutting measures later that year? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 A fairly vociferous one if I remember correctly. Reasonable player who did a job but you didn't get too excited when he got the ball. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 An erm, victim of cost cutting measures later that year? David Kelly was pretty decent for us. Apparently he twatted Eric Black on the beak aswell. Two things I remember (a bit hazily, possibly incorrectly) is a great dummy by him for Greg Strong to score into one of the Old Firm at Fir Park (can't mind which one, they're both the same to me) and I think it was him who played a part in a tremendously worked freekick at Pittodrie with Andy Dow scoring. As I said, those memories may be wrong but I definitely remember the guy. I also remember Keef from the boards being moist when he signed as he was a bit of a hero at Tranmere apparently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Yeah I remember him being pretty decent. Bit of a habit of getting his goals against the bigger sides if I remember rightly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burn_Broomfield Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Booting a Dundee United player in the chops during a melee is a particular fond memory of Ned. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Sure we called him Ned Kelly too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 He was a decent player while he was here, got a few goals although they were mainly penalties but you could see he had a bit of class about him even though he was well into his thirties by that point. On a side note, watching the highlights of that game v.Rangers from 2001, who says we never get any decisions against 'The Old Firm'? If that was a handball then Andy Roddie was a prolific goalscorer! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 i liked him, he had a bit of the coyne about him. a decent player even if he was as slow as week in the jail. i also remember some kanu style doubts flying around about his true age. for some reason i'm also thinking he was combining playing for the well with owning golf course in england but that might be nonsense. that cup tie at dunfermline was a grim, grim day. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 All his career stats here courtesy of Wikipedia. Certainly a very decent player in his day, with an impressive 35 goals in 70 games for Newcastle Utd, and 9 international goals from his 26 caps. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Two things I remember (a bit hazily, possibly incorrectly) is a great dummy by him for Greg Strong to score into one of the Old Firm at Fir Park (can't mind which one, they're both the same to me) and I think it was him who played a part in a tremendously worked freekick at Pittodrie with Andy Dow scoring. Funnily enough, that was the first David Kelly related memory that popped into my head when I clocked this thread! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Craig Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Booting a Dundee United player in the chops during a melee is a particular fond memory of Ned. I remember this. It was Cantona-esque! Some run up as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 He got on the same flight as me from London to Glasgow once. He had no luggage whatsoever other than a large bag from a lingerie store. Odd. Other than that, I remember only a lot of penalties and Keith Lasley's hair colour Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 My memory of David Kelly is him smashin' the ball from 6 yards out right aff Stefan Klos' beak. Cúnt didn't even move. great save Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 Two things I remember (a bit hazily, possibly incorrectly) is a great dummy by him for Greg Strong to score into one of the Old Firm at Fir Park (can't mind which one, they're both the same to me) and I think it was him who played a part in a tremendously worked freekick at Pittodrie with Andy Dow scoring. As I said, those memories may be wrong but I definitely remember the guy. I also remember Keef from the boards being moist when he signed as he was a bit of a hero at Tranmere apparently. My recollection of said free kick (and given we'd been plastered in Aberdeen the night before, I could be wrong) was the Dow chipped it over the defensive wall and Kelly spun and volleyed it into the net from about 12 yards. But I was going into alcohol withdrawals round about that time, so could be wrong. I have a strange recollection that we may have lost that game 5-2. But again, my memory of that day is not particularly reliable... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 I remember that 2-2 Rangers game as if is was yesterday. What a goal by Lasley. I also remember all the goals listed that David Kelly scored. I remember the dummy Kelly did for Greg Strong to score against Celtic (we lost 2-1) and how we were denied a penaly only for Maloney to trip over a blade of grass and win one in the dying minutes. I remember a mental melee with Dundee Utd right in front of the East Stand. I remember we were largely pish that season. There's got be a job where I can utilise this useless knowledge I retain about Motherwell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 To think that game with Rangers was just months before we entered administration. We knew the club were in a bit of bother financially at that point but no one knew just how much in the brown stuff we actually were. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 i liked him, he had a bit of the coyne about him. a decent player even if he was as slow as week in the jail. i also remember some kanu style doubts flying around about his true age. for some reason i'm also thinking he was combining playing for the well with owning golf course in england but that might be nonsense. that cup tie at dunfermline was a grim, grim day. For some reason, I associate David Kelly with that day. Having said that, I also associate Derek Adams with that day as he was especially shite Sorry just read Wee grafters post about the cup tie and Kelly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted August 19, 2011 Report Share Posted August 19, 2011 My recollection of said free kick (and given we'd been plastered in Aberdeen the night before, I could be wrong) was the Dow chipped it over the defensive wall and Kelly spun and volleyed it into the net from about 12 yards. But I was going into alcohol withdrawals round about that time, so could be wrong. I have a strange recollection that we may have lost that game 5-2. But again, my memory of that day is not particularly reliable... Not 4-2 big chap? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...