DEWELL Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I wasn't at the game on saturday but reading the comments from McCall sounds like big Hutchie could be out for a while.Im concerned this leaves us in dire straights in defence. Can we make an emergency loan signing outwith the window? Can Johnathon Page step up? Will Glancy be put in central defence even though he wasn't good enough to play there for Kilmarnock. A bit of a worry. Does anyone have an update on Hutchie? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Its definitely a big blow, Hutchie is a cracking player for us and when needed, is probably the one guy in the team that can hit someone hard. Â He's posted a picture of his ankle on twitter, doesn't look good. I ruptured my ankle ligaments a few years back playing fives, it swelled up like that, and then went black. Was out of footballing type action for at least 4 months. Â Saying that, Im not a professional athlete, nor did I have access to physio's etc, so you would expect he's going to heal much quicker than me. Hopefully its just a bad sprain or something. Hope the big man gets back soon! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 aye it'll be a big blow if hutchy is out for a while weve been really unlucky already this season with injuries to defenders.i wonder if theres any players without a club right now that could maybe do us a turn in defence Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Jonny Page will just have to step up, no dramas. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
liquid_football Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 It'll be a blow, but I was pretty impressed by Page at centre back at the Clyde game. Wasn't playing against top opposition sure, but his positioning was spot on all night, and looked much better going up for headers than he did last season. I think he can make the step up and cover for a few months if need be. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted September 11, 2011 Author Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 John Page it is then. Always had it in my mind that him and Hutchie will be our central defence once Craigan retires at the end of this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I doubt Page will start. I fully expect our back four will be Hateley, Clancy, Craigan and Hammell. Personally i'd like to see Page given the opportunity to step up, but I don't think he will be. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 No way will page start. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I would like to see Page get a chance as well but agree with Al B that our back four will most likely be made up of Hateley, Craigan, Clancy and Hammell. Â By all accounts Page is one of the most consistent performers in the reserves and it would be good to see him get a chance, especially as this season is likely to be Craigans last. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Page will be back up but now looks likely to get game time. Football is a funny game and whilst injuries to Hutch and Saunders are bad for the team and fans it is a positive for Page who now has a real chance to get on the park on a regular basis and build a career for himself. His aim, possibly along with Clancy, should be to ensure they can't be immeadiatley dropped upon the return of Hutch. Â Massive opportunity and when presented he really needs to take it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc88 Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Exactly. If Page is ever going to make his breakthrough with us, its now. I know that he was a hit at stirling and he seems to have done well in the cup games he's played in (all be it against lower league opposition). Hopefully he will take his chance and give mcall a real selection headache when hutchy and saunders return! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 Bad news and hopefully it's not as serious as they think and he won't be out for long. Â However, without wanting to tempt fate, if ever there was a series of games where you thought we could maybe get by without him, then it's probably the ones coming up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 shaunhutchy23 Shaun Hutchinson My ankle is looking worse then ever today! Physio having a good look at it! yfrog.com/kgsf5kkj Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 he has not long tweeted a picture of it exclaiming it looks worse than ever now, but he's with the Physio  hurry back Hutchy  Edit: as Aaron said Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 I doubt Page will start. I fully expect our back four will be Hateley, Clancy, Craigan and Hammell. Personally i'd like to see Page given the opportunity to step up, but I don't think he will be. Unfortunately I have to agree. I would like to see Page given the opportunity to step up and prove he's worth a spot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 Glancy is a shoe in to take his player. His chance to show Killie they were wrong to let him go. If he looks a bit shaky then Page would be next in line. Â Hopefully Hutchison back fairly soon though as two defenders down is stretching us a bit thin. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 Aye I think either Glancy, Humphries or Hatley should take Hutchison's place  In other new's Clancy will probably fill in for Hutchinson 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 shaunhutchy23 Shaun Hutchinson My ankle is looking worse then ever today! Physio having a good look at it! yfrog.com/kgsf5kkj   Aye, thats what mine looked like. Not good. He won't be playing for a while anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grant Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 Out for 2 months!! Â http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14868849.stm Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 6 to 8 weeks. Could have been worse. Could have been better. Â Where's an International break when you need one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 A blow but could have been worse. An international break is included in this so that is a plus. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 He isn't out for as long as i thought, but it is still a blow. Could have been a lot worse. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 Hopefully he comes back better than ever. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 Terrible news for the player and the team/club. Hope he recovers well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 The defence looked solid enough against Dunfermline with Clancy fitting in well ,we've no old firm games on the horizon so i think we will be ok against the diddy teams. Big problem is if we get an other injury ,I'm i right in thinking were allowed to make an emergency loan signing if injuries limit our squad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...