Motherwell v Aberdeen Discussion Thread

postiejim

Just watched the TV highlights and picked up 2 incidents. In the first half just before Chris Humphrey hit the bar, Considine could and should have been red carded. As the ball approaches the penalty box Considine clearly veers away from it to run across Humphrey's path and impede him. Its really only clear from the rear.

Second half, Tim Clancy is clearly impeded/brought down by the goalie's arm/hand.

Still its academic now but it could have been costly.

Great goal by Bob.

Just watched the TV highlights and picked up 2 incidents. In the first half just before Chris Humphrey hit the bar, Considine could and should have been red carded. As the ball approaches the penalty box Considine clearly veers away from it to run across Humphrey's path and impede him. Its really only clear from the rear.

Second half, Tim Clancy is clearly impeded/brought down by the goalie's arm/hand.

Still its academic now but it could have been costly.

Great goal by Bob.

Yeah, just watched them too and came to the same conclusions. 2nd incident was a stonewall penalty.

The one thing I don't like, people seem to point out the mistake by Forster leading to our goal more than the don't give up attitude of McHugh. Excellent tackle, and to have the awareness to get back up and take the ball!

Also another note, just added to why I picked Lasley as MotM as he was the only one up there with McHugh when he scored.

The one thing I don't like, people seem to point out the mistake by Forster leading to our goal more than the don't give up attitude of McHugh. Excellent tackle, and to have the awareness to get back up and take the ball!

Also another note, just added to why I picked Lasley as MotM as he was the only one up there with McHugh when he scored.

Foster didnae make a mistake, Sir Bob won the tackle and went to score with aplomb. Very well worked goal :thumbup:

That's what I thought at the game, and that is what I thought after the highlights but the media have all mentioned Forster made a mistake. That goal came about because of the never say die attitude McHugh showed.

Yep, we know. Since when did any of the meedja have an opinion worth a fuck in relation to our club? Go Sir Bob :thumbup:

Looking back at the two decisions KMcalpin talked about. The first one probably was a foul by Considine however a red card is technically only awarded in a circumstance such as that for 'denying a goalscoring opportunity'. I don't think a referee could allow an advantage and then send someone off for denying a goalscoring opportunity because if he had denied it there would be no way you could play advantage. So if he didn't deem it as denying a goalscoring opportunity was it a bad enough foul to merit a yellow card? My hunch is probably not but others may disagree on that.

As for the one on Clancy. I watched Sportscene and I didn't notice this and I didn't notice it at the game either which whilst it may have happened it must have been a tough one for a referee to spot. Actually I thought Alan Muir did quite well yesterday - never looked like he was going to have an influence on the game.

Yeah, just watched them too and came to the same conclusions. 2nd incident was a stonewall penalty.

It was a decent shout, but I wouldn't say it was stonewall. The fact that the keeper emerged from the collision clutching the ball probably swayed the referee's decision... had he collided with Clancy and not won the ball, we'd probably have had a better case.

A great result yesterday, which cements our SPL "third force" status. :nod::D

2co60p3.jpg

Aye we weren't playing our best football. And some of the players might not be playing their best. But we're third in the table after a quarter of the season. Why not just enjoy the fact that we can be poor and still beat teams like Aberdeen. How many times have we played like we did on Saturday, expect a point then lose a goal in the 85+ minute.

As it stands, we're in Europe...

...or is it too soon?

It was a decent shout, but I wouldn't say it was stonewall. The fact that the keeper emerged from the collision clutching the ball probably swayed the referee's decision... had he collided with Clancy and not won the ball, we'd probably have had a better case.

See, I'd tend to disagree there. He didn't win the ball at all. Clancy was bulldozed off the ball by a combination of the keeper grabbing his leg and the defender pushing him over. Only then did the keeper reach out and grab the ball. At the end of the day, it doesn't really matter though. It's good when these decisions can go against you and still take the points.

Just seen the highlights. Cracking finish by McHugh and some fine tenacity to win himself the chance in the first place. Thought Clancy was unlucky to hit te bar - looked a well worked setpiece with Aberdeen clueless. But, for the love of the wee man, how the HELL did Humphrey manage to hit the bar? That seemed like practically an open goal, no?

Given that two Aberdeen defenders seemed to be racing back to the line, and one got there, I guess Hump was going for the power drive when a side foot might have been cleared. Don't matter though.......

Just seen the highlights. Cracking finish by McHugh and some fine tenacity to win himself the chance in the first place. Thought Clancy was unlucky to hit te bar - looked a well worked setpiece with Aberdeen clueless. But, for the love of the wee man, how the HELL did Humphrey manage to hit the bar? That seemed like practically an open goal, no?

It was actually a decent hit and I think he must have been aware of the two defender and just hit it hard.

Not as simple a finish as it looked.

Enjoyed todays rare visit and company. Not the greatest performance,but we got the goal that was going to seperate the teams,by a player showing abit of hunger. Nice we pressie on my birthday.

Didn't realise it was your birthday. Where was the obligatory woolly pullover from granny/aunt/mother*?