David Posted October 23, 2011 Report Share Posted October 23, 2011 Can we make it 5 SPL games unbeaten when we visit Inverness this coming weekend? Once again we come into a game with nothing really by way of injuries (at least thus far), and this will probably see the team remain the same. Is this a good thing? Or do we need some fresh faces in there? I can see the sense behind what McCall is doing, however, I'd like to see young Murphy given a rest this weekend, even if it is only to bring him back for the game against Celtic the following weekend. I think McHugh deserves a run-out, especially after his goal against Aberdeen. Apart from that, I'm interested in seeing how a McHugh & Higdon partnership would get on. Aside from that, I can't see much else I'd change. Inverness have been poor of late, and I'd be seriously disappointed if we can't take at least a point away from them, even if all three is what I actually think we should get. I'll go for a 2-0 win. Higdon to score. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted October 23, 2011 Report Share Posted October 23, 2011 ICT have not kept one clean sheet this season and have conceeded 22 goals in the SPL. This is the kind of game we should be winning. In saying that I still remember Accies mugging us 1-0 at Fir Park last season. I think both sides will score but I'm taking us to win 3-1 (Higdon and Murphy X 2). Would go some way to wiping out the 3-0 pasting we got the last time we were in that ground. That was a crap day. Same team for me as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted October 23, 2011 Report Share Posted October 23, 2011 A win for 'Well!!! not sure by how many but we'll win. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 We need the 3 points however we can get them to ensure we go into our following game as the second place team in the league. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 4-1 Motherwell with McHugh and Higdon hat-trick. I normally make this trip but I am working Saturday til 2 . Having drawn with Killie last week I week I would take a carbon copy of the results from the first 11 games. 42 points after 22 games will do me. Does anyone know how many points (on average) get you in to the top 6? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 4-1 Motherwell with McHugh and Higdon hat-trick. I normally make this trip but I am working Saturday til 2 . Having drawn with Killie last week I week I would take a carbon copy of the results from the first 11 games. 42 points after 22 games will do me. Does anyone know how many points (on average) get you in to the top 6? Over the last 5 seasons it averages out at 49 points for 6th place and 63 points for 3rd place. That's including the final fixtures though so to get into the Top Six I reckon you would need about 45 points at the split. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Over the last 5 seasons it averages out at 49 points for 6th place and 63 points for 3rd place. That's including the final fixtures though so to get into the Top Six I reckon you would need about 45 points at the split. Thanks for that. So a 3rd of the way in to the season (the pre split part) we are just over half way to achieving a top 6 slot (going with averages from previous seasons.) Top quality. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Inverness are a side on poor form and we should have no problems beating them. 3-0 Motherwell, with a Higdon brace and McHugh coming off the bench to score the third. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Inverness are a side on poor form and we should have no problems beating them. Actually their form isn't poor at all. In the last 7 matches their record is W3 D2 L2, i.e lost only 2 out of 7, one of which was Celtic away. They are undefeated in 3 matches (2 wins) and they haven't lost at home since Rangers beat them there back on the 13th August, 5 home matches ago - a pretty decent home record. I think this is going to be a tougher match than a lot of people think. They got off to a bad start, their worst defeat of the season was against us on the opening day, but they are actually in much better form than any of our recent opponents, Kilmarnock, Hibs or Dundee Utd right now, despite their league position. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted October 24, 2011 Author Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Does anyone know which league positions will ensure European football next season? We have two Champions League slots, aye? Does that mean we have third & fourth place guaranteed a crack at the Europa League? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuarty Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Looking forward to the trip North on Saturday. Staying in Inverness on Saturday night so with a bit of luck will be able to celebrate on Saturday night with a few beers. In terms of the match I have a good feeling about us this weekend and think its going to be a 0-2 win with Higgy and Murphy getting on the scoresheet. Roll on Saturday!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Namvet Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 I have 2 spare friends fare tickets for Inverness om Saturday, leave Glasgow Queen Street at 10:11 and arrives in Inverness at 13:27. Comes home at 18:43 and getting in at Glasgow at 22:20. If anyone wants them, PM me cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 ict away is one trip i miss bad hope there is double figures chucked out Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Does anyone know which league positions will ensure European football next season? We have two Champions League slots, aye? Does that mean we have third & fourth place guaranteed a crack at the Europa League? Scotland has 5 berths. 2 Champions League (1st & 2nd), 3 Europa League (3rd, 4th and Scottish Cup). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_nuts Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Going u on friday and coming back down on the sunday. I love my trip up north. Think we will win 3-0 as they are a very poor team at the moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 One each methinks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuarty Posted October 24, 2011 Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 What hotels are folks staying in in Inverness this weekend? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted October 24, 2011 Author Report Share Posted October 24, 2011 Scotland has 5 berths. 2 Champions League (1st & 2nd), 3 Europa League (3rd, 4th and Scottish Cup). A Europa League spot is what we should be aiming for now in my opinion. A win over a team like Inverness is vital. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted October 25, 2011 Report Share Posted October 25, 2011 Dont know how the game will pan out, one thing I'm sure of though is that I'm going to get melted!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesacs Posted October 25, 2011 Report Share Posted October 25, 2011 I have 2 spare friends fare tickets for Inverness om Saturday, leave Glasgow Queen Street at 10:11 and arrives in Inverness at 13:27. Comes home at 18:43 and getting in at Glasgow at 22:20. If anyone wants them, PM me cheers Do u still have these?? PM sent Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted October 25, 2011 Report Share Posted October 25, 2011 Same team. 2-0 victory. Higdon and Law. Simples. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted October 25, 2011 Author Report Share Posted October 25, 2011 Same team. 2-0 victory. Higdon and Law. Simples. Lets fucking hope so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joe90 Posted October 25, 2011 Report Share Posted October 25, 2011 think ict are due a result.jst hope to fck it aint on sat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted October 26, 2011 Report Share Posted October 26, 2011 You boys are having weekend in Inverness Im having a weekend in the Whitsunday Islands for our fitba teams end of season trip. Will be too hot & pissed to even remember there's a game on but hoping we don't blow our good away form against bottom of the league. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myteam Posted October 26, 2011 Report Share Posted October 26, 2011 looking forward to this match as we always enjoy a wee trip up north. hopefully mfc are not in a generous mood & we return home with 3 points in the bag Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...