Welldaft Mk1 Posted October 27, 2011 Report Share Posted October 27, 2011 Borrowed from P&B http://en.wikipedia....tball_champions I naturally assumed that our proper place in the SPL was finishing somewhere between 7th and 10th. But a quick look at that link shows that in terms of finishing 1st, 2nd & 3rd we are the best provincial side in the country. Add that to the fact we are one of only 6 or 7 teams to have won the Title, Scottish Cup and League Cup in our history. We also have the top goalscorer in the top flight with Willie MacFadyen on 52 in season 31-32. Another point about Old firm supremacy. Motherwell the only side outside the Old firm to win the title between 1904 and 1948 - 44 years!! The more things change - the more they stay the same Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pop84 Posted October 28, 2011 Report Share Posted October 28, 2011 we are motherwell - we are motherwell - we are! there was a farmer had a dog ....... a-team acapela i'm in a singing mood! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted October 28, 2011 Report Share Posted October 28, 2011 how do you come to that conclusion from that link? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted October 28, 2011 Author Report Share Posted October 28, 2011 how do you come to that conclusion from that link? Eh Frank? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted October 28, 2011 Report Share Posted October 28, 2011 Eh Frank? Frank aye.. Let me rephrase for the,,, Lesser minded From the link that you have posted, how have you come to the conclusion that "we are the best provincial side in the country" ? (not meaning to seem like a prick ) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 I naturally assumed that our proper place in the SPL was finishing somewhere between 7th and 10th. You were right the first time... All time performance table Top ten are 1. Rangers 2. Celtic 3. Hearts 4. Hibernian 5. Dundee 6. Aberdeen 7. Motherwell 8. Kilmarnock 9. Morton 10. Partick Thistle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted October 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 (not meaning to seem like a prick ) You are not coming across as a prick, but please tell me you do not need me to spell it out? My original post contained the following statement: "But a quick look at that link shows that in terms of finishing 1st, 2nd & 3rd we are the best provincial side in the country". If you look at the table toward the bottom of that link, it shows QUITE CLEARLY that Motherwell have the best record in terms of finishing in the top 3 in the top league outside of all the city clubs and in fact better that DDee Utd and Dundee. Should not be too difficult to grasp surely???? As for the all time performance table - it shows Morton just below us. A team that have hardly been in the top flight for the past 30 years. This table takes into account all points won regardless of which league the team was in. You would have a strong argument to say that winning points in the SPL/Premier league v Celtic, Hearts and Rangers is tougher than Partick, Queen of the South and Raith Rovers.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 All time performance table Top ten are 1. Rangers 2. Celtic 3. Hearts 4. Hibernian 5. Dundee 6. Aberdeen 7. Motherwell 8. Kilmarnock 9. Morton 10. Partick Thistle Dundee United are 24th?! Would dearly, dearly love to see us move above Aberdeen in that table. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 "But a quick look at that link shows that in terms of finishing 1st, 2nd & 3rd we are the best provincial side in the country". If you look at the table toward the bottom of that link, it shows QUITE CLEARLY that Motherwell have the best record in terms of finishing in the top 3 in the top league outside of all the city clubs and in fact better that DDee Utd and Dundee. Should not be too difficult to grasp surely???? Provincial in Scottish terms usually means outwith the Old Firm though, not outwith the city clubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pop84 Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 once rangers get bumped 25 points for going into administration, itll be a 2 horse race! hehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted October 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 Provincial in Scottish terms usually means outwith the Old Firm though, not outwith the city clubs. In which case I stand corrected and Well 2k7 was on the ball after all. I always thought Provincial meant non city sides. It bloody should Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pop84 Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 sniper alley fookstix, nippy eh. njoy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 In which case I stand corrected and Well 2k7 was on the ball after all. I always thought Provincial meant non city sides. It bloody should It's Scotland though intit? We always dae things arse fur elba eh no? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted October 29, 2011 Report Share Posted October 29, 2011 Provincial in Scottish terms usually means outwith the Old Firm though, not outwith the city clubs. Naw it doesnae In which case I stand corrected and Well 2k7 was on the ball after all. I always thought Provincial meant non city sides. It bloody should you're right, outside the capital or largest cities It's Scotland though intit? We always dae things arse fur elba eh no? naw some peeple do things erse for elba, Not all of us :moonie: but eh aye? we're a no bad wee team Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted October 30, 2011 Report Share Posted October 30, 2011 So yeah, going by what you are saying, yes we are. Because it is only Dumbarton who are above us that are outwith a city. Dumbarton have two top 3 finishes whereas we have 13 so yes we are the best going by what you are saying. So yeah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 30, 2011 Report Share Posted October 30, 2011 Naw it doesnae you're right, outside the capital or largest cities naw some peeple do things erse for elba, Not all of us :moonie: but eh aye? we're a no bad wee team OK then in Scottish fitba' terms provincial is condisered to describe teams outwith the Old Firm then. In general terms provincial means outwith the larger cities, howsat? We are indeed a no' bad wee team, been saying so for decades Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted October 30, 2011 Report Share Posted October 30, 2011 Dundee United are 24th?! Dundee United didn't form until 1909 so some teams would have 20 seasons worth of points before they got going. Also they were Dundee's pishy wee team until the mid 70's. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted October 30, 2011 Report Share Posted October 30, 2011 we are 6th in this one Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted October 30, 2011 Report Share Posted October 30, 2011 we are 6th in this one Its says that it was last updated at the end of the 2008/09 season, so the link to the other table may be more recent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...