liquid_football Posted February 4, 2012 Report Share Posted February 4, 2012 That 'formula for a cupset' segment was fuckin cringeworthy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Right they c***s are taking the piss just watched aberdeen and queen of the south for 20mins wouldnt even class it as football utter pish killie and hibs got about 15mins worth of boring shite, we win 6-0 and they show the fucking goals no more than 40seconds WTF. I thought the same Willie fucking disgusted. More goal scoring chances in our game than every other game in the cup today. Absolute shambles of a programme. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Last round they got Humphrey and Daley mixed up. When in recent times you add that to Jim Spence being ignorant of two European campaigns in an article and that young winger we have called Lawleff, you'd think the beeb really need to be more competent in their coverage of us. With regards tonight's highlights, fair enough we weren't a main game and the six goals probably restricted what they could show, but any football highlights program shouldn't miss someone going on a good run and hitting the woodwork, someone missing an open goal and the most stonewall passback shout turned down I think I've ever seen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 From the BBC Live text commentary 66:54 Goal scored Goal - Jamie Murphy - Motherwell 6 - 0 Morton Jamie Murphy gets on the score sheet with a goal from inside the box to the bottom right corner of the goal. Motherwell 6-0 Morton. Funny that, given he'd scored in the first half! The c**ts make it up! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 From the BBC Live text commentary 66:54 Goal scored Goal - Jamie Murphy - Motherwell 6 - 0 Morton Jamie Murphy gets on the score sheet with a goal from inside the box to the bottom right corner of the goal. Motherwell 6-0 Morton. Funny that, given he'd scored in the first half! The c**ts make it up! Not as bad as: Goal - Tom Hateley - Motherwell 1 - 0 MortonTom Hateley finds the back of the net with a goal from just outside the box to the bottom right corner of the goal. Motherwell 1-0 Morton. How can it be just outside the box when they saw him take a corner Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 How can it be just outside the box when they saw him take a corner I can kind of excuse that on the basis that they obviously only have a few preset phrases that they can string together for the live text commentary by clicking a few buttons, and "scores direct from a corner" presumably so rarely happens that it just isn't on the list, so "just outside the box" is as accurate as they could manage. It's a poor system that can't be over-ridden for the occasional edge case, but such is life. I'd agree that Sportscene really isn't worth watching any more though... apart from being able to watch the goals on MFC TV before the BBC show them, the online BBC highlights are usually longer and better than Sportscene's anyway, and without the mediocre discussion afterwards. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Last round they got Humphrey and Daley mixed up. When in recent times you add that to Jim Spence being ignorant of two European campaigns in an article and that young winger we have called Lawleff, you'd think the beeb really need to be more competent in their coverage of us. With regards tonight's highlights, fair enough we weren't a main game and the six goals probably restricted what they could show, but any football highlights program shouldn't miss someone going on a good run and hitting the woodwork, someone missing an open goal and the most stonewall passback shout turned down I think I've ever seen. The BBC get their information from the Press Association, so the Lawleff mistake turns up all over the place, not just on the BBC. And Jim Spence said our last campaign we went out to Odense and that he was at the Nancy match, not mentioning every European campaign doesn't mean he's ignorant of them. Tad harsh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 The BBC get their information from the Press Association, so the Lawleff mistake turns up all over the place, not just on the BBC. And Jim Spence said our last campaign we went out to Odense and that he was at the Nancy match, not mentioning every European campaign doesn't mean he's ignorant of them. Tad harsh. Sorry but you're wrong. The opening line of his blog was Motherwell's last adventure into Europe was in Nancy 3 years ago. After his mistake was highlighted by myself he changed his line to Odense in August 2010. http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/jimspence/2011/12/motherwell_road_show_should_le.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 and the most stonewall passback shout turned down I think I've ever seen. You talking about the one that Randolph done well to save? If so, never a pass-back in a million years. It was a deflection - and no intent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 You talking about the one that Randolph done well to save? If so, never a pass-back in a million years. It was a deflection - and no intent. away, Hutch drove it in the direction of Randz (in the middle of our goals), but he had came out his goals to narrow angle and had to pull of a great save to stop it as it was going some. definite passback imho (more like a shot from hutch!), but guess the ref decided otherwise as he had clear view maybes we'll see it on the highlights <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Nope. Would never get given in any league (correctly). It was not a "controlled pass-back" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 but it was controlled , in the sense that it was a choice by Hutch , who had no where else to put it, so directed it towards Randolph, and then Randolph used his hands to deal with it. there would be general meltdown on here, if it was an important decision against us anyone remember back in the day when the rule was introduced, when McCart was it? facing away from goal, had a shocking swipe at a ball on edge of the box and it went 30ft up in the air and back over his head into the box and the keeper picked it up and it was given as a passback Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 That happened when we played Killie at Rugby Park mid 90's as well. Killie defender sliced it and the wind held it up, keeper caught it... indirect free kick. Philliben rattled in the free kick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waldo Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 anyone remember back in the day when the rule was introduced, when McCart was it? facing away from goal, had a shocking swipe at a ball on edge of the box and it went 30ft up in the air and back over his head into the box and the keeper picked it up and it was given as a passback I think that was against Hearts - and they scored from the free kick? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Louis Thow I seem to remember was the ref involved that afternoon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Louis Thow I seem to remember was the ref involved that afternoon. Aye, THAT bastard!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 aye sounds about right, few hazey recollections but good to see fellow Wellfans dont hold grudges Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 away, Hutch drove it in the direction of Randz (in the middle of our goals), but he had came out his goals to narrow angle and had to pull of a great save to stop it as it was going some. definite passback imho (more like a shot from hutch!), but guess the ref decided otherwise as he had clear view maybes we'll see it on the highlights Think you're starting to see things, never a passback in a million years, TV pictures will prove it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 I think that was against Hearts - and they scored from the free kick? I thought it was against Hibs. Maybe the old mind playin tricks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Think you're starting to see things, never a passback in a million years, TV pictures will prove it nae doubt sorry for saying it like I seen it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 That happened when we played Killie at Rugby Park mid 90's as well. Killie defender sliced it and the wind held it up, keeper caught it... indirect free kick. Philliben rattled in the free kick. That's right aye It was Andrew Waddell, that ref with the white hair who gave it, Colin Meldrum was the keeper. Sure that was the day we won 4-2 with a Tommy Coyne hat trick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Aye, Sportscene has been a joke for years now. You're much better off using MFCTV & BBC to watch the highlights. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 The BBC get their information from the Press Association, so the Lawleff mistake turns up all over the place, not just on the BBC. And Jim Spence said our last campaign we went out to Odense and that he was at the Nancy match, not mentioning every European campaign doesn't mean he's ignorant of them. Tad harsh. Nah it wasn't. Jim Spence's article initially said our last game in Europe was Nancy, before various comments highlighting his negligence prompted him to change it. As with the "Lawleff" thing, even if it is the Press Association who got it wrong, you think the BBC would have a look at the teamsheets whilst at Fir Park and maybe make some adjustments to be correct. The BBC managed to forge a successful Motherwell career for Steven Maguire, despite him never making a first team appearance. Basic incompetencies shouldn't happen in a service which license payers money funds. Don't imagine if the Press Association accidentally called Gary Hooper, "Hopper" it would stand for long before being rectified, for example. So in short, I'm not being a tad harsh. We should expect a better service from a company so reputable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 Got a feeling the beeb won't change it until the change of squad in the summer. Saying that, they've done it now for the last few easons (maguire 9Mcgarry) Lawleff (Lawless) etc ) Utter fools. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted February 5, 2012 Report Share Posted February 5, 2012 I just fast forward all the talkshite and go to the Motherwell highlights. I might look in if one of the Mould Firm have been gubbed. Nae point in watching any of the rest of it. <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...