NottsMFC Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 Hammell called up to squad for the Croatia game on Tuesday. Â From BBC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 Good news, would be great to see him get a few minutes on the park. Â Few of the under 21s got to train with the 1st team this week, including Fraser Kerr. Andy Roberson that scored against us at Tannadice sounds like the pick of the bunch. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 Still stand by that he isn't good enough for Scotland. Good luck to him but doubt he will see any action. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 Still stand by that he isn't good enough for Scotland. Good luck to him but doubt he will see any action. Â I agree. Happy for him but it's similar to Garry Kenneth getting the nod when Peter Houston was involved in the Scotland set-up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 I agree. Happy for him but it's similar to Garry Kenneth getting the nod when Peter Houston was involved in the Scotland set-up. Or Clarky when Butcher was assistant to Burley Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 Hes got to start imho........harrrumph Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted October 13, 2013 Report Share Posted October 13, 2013 Or Clarky when Butcher was assistant to Burley  To be fair to Clarky, he did score on his Scotland debut. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Where is Clarkson now ? Last i heard it was Bristol Rovers when McGhee was in charge Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Where is Clarkson now ? Last i heard it was Bristol Rovers when McGhee was in charge  Aye, still there. Scored a couple of goals this season already but been on the bench the last 2 games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Still stand by that he isn't good enough for Scotland. Good luck to him but doubt he will see any action. Â He's coming in to replace Lee Wallace. Â LEE WALLACE. Â Difference between saying he's not international class and isn't good enough for Scotland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 What it means is we are shite at producing left backs ! Nothing against Hammell but we are very short in that position ! Lee Wallace is the best option Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Every single Motherwell player is international class. Have you seen some(most) of the National Sides. "Not international Class" is one of the dumbest comments in football. Have people seen the spectrum for International Football? Â As for not being Scotland class, nonsense. Is he or will he be the greatest left back to play for Scotland, probably not but what he has done is play over 400 games at a decent level, more than most and will be, if needed an adequate stand in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 What it means is we are shite at producing left backs ! Nothing against Hammell but we are very short in that position ! Lee Wallace is the best option No fuckin way Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Wellfan i can agree with that to a certain degree. I am a massive fan of Steve Hammell and he is a player thats been overlooked in the past cause he didnae play with sevco or the rotten mob but i think he is even comfortable with the back up call up. If he started tomorrow and made an arse of it and it cost us the game every fan, journalist, "pundit" would be slagging Strachen cause he isn't a player fir the ugly sisters ! he would get crucified !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Wellfan i can agree with that to a certain degree. I am a massive fan of Steve Hammell and he is a player thats been overlooked in the past cause he didnae play with sevco or the rotten mob but i think he is even comfortable with the back up call up. If he started tomorrow and made an arse of it and it cost us the game every fan, journalist, "pundit" would be slagging Strachen cause he isn't a player fir the ugly sisters ! he would get crucified !! Â Know I'm tempting fate, but can you think of a player of ours less likely to "make an arse of it"? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Let me start by saying claretband i was not having a go at Hammell when i'm saying "making an arse of it" i wasn't singling him out for ridicule i'm just saying if Hammell was to play any part tomorrow and was blamed for a goal or the lead up to a goal against us etc the media would rip him a new arsehole cause he doesn't play for the auld scum or play in England. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 True and no offence meant. Let's just hope he gets a run out and does play well. I keep telling my OF loving mates(who say they've barely heard of him) he is Mr. Consistent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 I've never seen a Motherwell player that can kill a ball with one touch the way Hammell does its amazing at times. will sadly admit tho that if i was Scotland boss i'd still pick Lee Wallace in front if Steve, i can't put my finger on why i might have been listening to the SFA PR machine too much but its just the way i see it. Tae be fair tho i'd defiantly put Hammell in before that wank rag Whittaker !! He was shite at Hibs and he is shite now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Making my International comeback tomorrow so hope Stevie gets a shout. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 To bring things to purely Scotland chat i think we'll beat the Croats tomorrow. We both have nothing to play for now and i think we'll do the job 2-1, with a Steve Hammell goal in the 90th minute Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Always good to see a Motherwell player pulling on the dark blue so hoping Stevie gets a start regardless of the fact it is 5/6 years too late. Â Mulgrew is the only real alternative and I would prefer not to split him and Brown in midfield as I think we have stumbled onto something that works there. Â Just hope if he plays he gets some cover in front of him and gives a good account of himself. Â All the best Stevie. Do us proud! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 As for not being Scotland class, nonsense. Is he or will he be the greatest left back to play for Scotland, probably not but what he has done is play over 400 games at a decent level, more than most and will be, if needed an adequate stand in  He also has Scotland U21 experience, Scotland B team experience and full national side experience, probably 20+ Europa League/Champions League matches, plus he's the undisputed left back at the second best team in Scotland.  By the way the other left backs in the SPFL eligible to play for Scotland, that get a regular club game, are Kevin McHattie, Clark Robertson, Tam Scobbie, Graham Shinnie and Aaron Sinclair. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted October 14, 2013 Report Share Posted October 14, 2013 Tell ye what Ya Beezer i would take every single one of they lads at left back before that scudbook Whittaker, i appreciate he getting played out of position on the left but he is shite on the right tae so give one of the lads a shot ! Cannae be worse than that mug Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 15, 2013 Report Share Posted October 15, 2013 Tell ye what Ya Beezer i would take every single one of they lads at left back before that scudbook Whittaker, i appreciate he getting played out of position on the left but he is shite on the right tae so give one of the lads a shot ! Cannae be worse than that mug Same old, same old, I know Whittakers down South now but Old Firm (connected) right backs playing left back putting the best left back in Scotland out the team is nothing new with Scotland. Picking lower league players is a new approach to an age old problem. Thnakfully injury prevents us from seeing how the lack of intensity has affected Wallace this time, but sure there will be other opportunities. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted October 15, 2013 Report Share Posted October 15, 2013 I'd only be concerned if Croatia have a flying machine on the wing as it's a big pitch and Hammell could be left exposed. Otherwise he should fit in better than a fit Wallace as his passing and ball retention are much better from what I've seen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...