henry Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 Our next six games start with next weeks visit of Dundee Unt and finish with our last game of the year against Dunfermline on the 28th of December. Four of these games are at home with two away from home ,the fixtures are Dundee Unt home, Hibs home, St Johnstone away, St Mirren home, Hearts away and finally Dunfermline home. Looking at each game individually there is no reason why we cant win them all ,but to win six games on the bounce is a big ask . However these six games will i think have a big say in how high or low we finish in the league . Thoughts, opinions ,predictions anyone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 If we take fourteen points from those games I'll be more than happy. We should be looking to win all of our home games, and take at least a point from our away games. I know the chances of us doing that are slim, but I feel we are playing well enough to at least believe we can achieve that target. A crucual aspect to the rest of our games in 2011 is the fact that of the six games, four of them are against the clubs sitting directly behind us. Good results against Hearts, Dundee United, St Mirren & St Johnstone will set us up perfectly for the 2nd half of the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 7-9 points will be acceptable, can always hope for more but we certainly aren't playing well enough to deserve more capable of more , yes, but performances have indicated, we're battling through more games than comfortably beating teams Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 Looking at those games and the fixtures of our closest competitors, we could find ourselves 15-18 points clear of 4th place AND perhaps, points clear in second place with Celtic having a pretty much identical run of game but with Rangers and Killie instead of Hibs (Also game in hand over Dunfermline on Wednesday) So all we need to do is Equal Celtics results against Dunfermline, St Johnstone, St Mirren Hearts and Dundee United and Hope that they drop points against Rangers and Killie (again) While we beat Hibs! I reckon that would see us three points clear if all goes to plan. Looks like it could be a REALLY happy New year Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 I would be happy if we took 12 points from those games. Would be delighted if we can take more than 12 though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 Before yesterday's game I thought we would get approx 12 points from those games. But I allowed us only a point from the game yesterday. I had us taking at least a point from all the games apart from away at Hearts where I had zero points. Hope that is not the case as I will hopefully be at Tynecastle. Always dangerous looking ahead and predicting this and that. Excellent start to the season and let's take one game at a time Dundee Utd will be tough as will most of the games. We should not get ahead of ourselves. I would be v pleased to get to the new year with around 40 points, anything else is a bonus.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 Every game means so much at the moment thanks to our form and the fact that the Old Firm remain in sight. It's been a long time since I've felt like this following Motherwell and there is a sense of something special being on this season. However, we should look no further than the Dundee United game as we have some patchy home form to address. Can't wait for the weekend. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 I think we can take a good few points from these 6 games ,Motherwell being Motherwell will most likely mean we will loose a couple of games at home and travel to Edinburgh and Perth and win. Going to be a great end to the year hopefully and I would be happy with 13 points from 18.One game at a time aye right . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 Every single one of these games is a tough nut to crack. Dundee Utd seem to have improved since we played them last time and they are quite a streetwise team and we haven't won at home since we played Aberdeen back in September so who knows what will happen. We are going to likely play Hibs in the period of bounce of a new manager. Form dictates both the Saints games will be tough and Hearts away is never a gift. The only one that looks like it should be a gimme is Dunfermline on December 28th but with five games worth of potential injuries and suspensions between now and then it would be folly to tick that up as three points now. However we have beaten five out of the six of them this season and we all know we didn't give a true account of ourselves against St Johnstone so it could go completely the other way. But the way I see it is we have 29 points from 14 games. I reckon if we get another 29 from the next 24 we will come 3rd. So if we get 10 we are well on track. However we are capable of more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 St mirren and st Johnstone are the two I feel will be tough. Hibs are shite and Dundee Utd have a clueless bald twat in charge. hearts will probably have no players by then and Dunfermine are relegation fodder. Fuck it we should beat them all. They are all pish Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 I tell you what, if we get to the turn of the year having not lost again, then we are shoe-ins for 3rd I'd have thought. It's a tall order, but then, so would have been suggesting we'd have 29 points and sitting joint 2nd come the last week of November..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 8 points - 2 wins, 2 draws and 2 defeats. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gary_411 Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 A lot of teams in the league have been unusually woeful this season, United and Hearts in particular. I think yesterday was United's second home win of the season? Hibs problems have been well documented and Dunfermline haven't been anything like what they were tipped to be upon promotion. We've pulled in much more points than expected and won a lot of games that normally would have been draws probably. Its pushed us well ahead of the pack given the number of "underperforming" teams so far. St Johnstone have improved a lot and that game is away, so it will be difficult. Plus I don't think McCall has beaten St Johnstone in the league since he came in? Will be interesting to see how Lomas does. The other away game is at Tynecastle, a place we've had some good results of late and with our current away form we should be looking for something there. No point looking so far ahead really though, a win next Saturday is all im bothered about so hopefully we can dish out another pumping to that wee baldy prick Houston before our first taste of Friday Night Football. edit to add; even St Mirren who are meant to have imroved so much and are now a team competing for a top 6 space have scored the fewest goals in the league! We should be looking for nothing less than fourth and European football i think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grant Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 One game at a time. Nobody would have thought we would have won the last 4 away games so take every game as it comes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 Next six games could go any way. Next two games at home are pretty big and I'm not looking past those to be honest. Not complaining for a second but it would be grand to go into the last 10 or 15 minutes of a game 2 or even 3 goals up. These 'winning by a single goal' games are great but pretty nerve wracking to watch 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 20, 2011 Report Share Posted November 20, 2011 i said after the celtic game that it would be great to go into the new year with 38 points so i'd be happy with 3 wins. i don't think we'll lose 3 games however. 50 points should be good enough for europe this season as it seems anyone can beat anyone in the bottom 9 so i can't see any side going on a great run. it's incredible to think we could have it wrapped it up before winter is over. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 Just as a matter of interest what is our longest undefeated SPL streak and what is the most games in a row we have won in the SPL? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 We'll win the away games & struggle with the home games. Higgy will get dogs abuse we'll be told to keep the high balls low & get it up the park asap but keep it on the deck & take your time. Maybe we should wear the unbeaten silver strips at home & confuse the "fans" just there to abuse anyone in claret & amber. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 We'll win the away games & struggle with the home games. Higgy will get dogs abuse we'll be told to keep the high balls low & get it up the park asap but keep it on the deck & take your time. Maybe we should wear the unbeaten silver strips at home & confuse the "fans" just there to abuse anyone in claret & amber. You have been watching to many GCUTD games Ian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 We'll win the away games & struggle with the home games. Higgy will get dogs abuse we'll be told to keep the high balls low & get it up the park asap but keep it on the deck & take your time. Maybe we should wear the unbeaten silver strips at home & confuse the "fans" just there to abuse anyone in claret & amber. Hard to believe we have the worst "goals scored at home" total in the SPL (six), given our position. Imagine where we might be if we'd even scored half as many again in the right games, which would still be a lot fewer than we've scored away from home (fourteen). Rumour has it we wanted to wear the silver strip at home against Celtic the other weekend, but they objected! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesacs Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 i 50 points should be good enough for europe this season as it seems anyone can beat anyone in the bottom 9 so i can't see any side going on a great run. it's incredible to think we could have it wrapped it up before winter is over. are you on drugs? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 are you on drugs? 4th place is guaranteed europe. over the past five seasons the amount of points needed to secure 4th has been 50, 54, 53, 53 and 56. there are only 8 points seperating 4th to 12th now suggesting that between those clubs anyone can beat anyone. there isn't a side like gretna, falkirk or accies that everyone will gub and no one below us looks capable of hitting a great bit of form. dundee united look the most likely to me to go on a good run but i can't see two sides managing it. if we win 3 of the next 6 we will have 38 points making it likely that 15 points in the new year will see us into europe. due to the parity between the bottom 9 i can't see the total number of points needed to get 4th being higher than usual. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
muffdiver91 Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 in 2008 we finished third with sixty points I think this will be enough to do so again. I just hope a bad spell isnt round the corner. If we get europe and aberdeen go down Ill go on the piss for about a month Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 I think 13points is a fair and realistic target! Thats allowing for one defeat and one draw. Bearing in mind we have played everyone already this season, and with the exception of the Brothers Grimm, we have only lost one game all season to St Johnston in what was without doubt our most shocking performance. If we get wins against United and Hibs that will surely fill us to the brim with confindence going into the game with St Johnstone - who I sincerley believe are our main rivals for 3rd this year, and as such this will be our toughest game. I'll be happy if come New Year we are still at least 9pts clear in third, and as a result anything above 10points would suffice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted November 21, 2011 Report Share Posted November 21, 2011 I'd bite your hand off if offered 10points right now from the next 6 games. If possible, wins against hearts, st johnstone and this weekend against utd would be the ideal 3 wins for me as i see these 3 being our main challangers for europe. Obviously id hope for a win against dunfermline aswell but i dont want to seem greedy! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...