Malky79 Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 In short looks ganting! Maybe better lit up at night but aye against backdrop of a stand in need of a lick of paint looks shabby. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Saw it before the game and I'm glad I'm not the only one that thinks that looks utter shit 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 On the plus side, it'll always be a million times better than this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Anyone from the Trust willing to reveal how much it cost? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scott_mfc Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 didn't see it before the game and stuck my head round to have a gander after it. Not my personal taste, also don't think the alternate yellow and red light bulb does it any favours either. Looks completely out of place, the positioning of it looks a bit random as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 i heard it cost 12 grand. it looks like something that should be stuck on the side of the mega bar or the palace, not a fitting tribute to a much loved and much missed legend imo. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 I'd heard it was £18K. The expression said to me was "underwhelming....". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 As an artist and designer I wasn’t that excited about the chosen design. At the end of the day the O’Donnell family seem pleased with the outcome and I suppose that’s all that matters. I would be keen to know the significance of the dragonfly, but I’m sure that will remain a secret to a few close family members and the designer of the memorial. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Not a fan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 was dissapointed when I seen it, not in any way a reflection of what I pictured to reflect Phil O'Donnell I pictured simple solid lettering LEGEND 10 so the 'zaney'? lettering with what looks like a collander looks miles out and I was never aware a dragonfly was significant to the family but even up close its hardly stands out but on listening in to the words from Eileen O'Donnell which were read out, the family seems to have been happy to have input into the design and their thoughts and feelings are the most important Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 As an artist and designer I wasn’t that excited about the chosen design. At the end of the day the O’Donnell family seem pleased with the outcome and I suppose that’s all that matters. I would be keen to know the significance of the dragonfly, but I’m sure that will remain a secret to a few close family members and the designer of the memorial. Just watched Kirkie talking about the memorial and Phil and he too seemed quite pleased. And its important that the family are happy too. I was hoping for something a bit grander after a higher profile fundraising campaign. However it's there and the sentiment can't be downplayed as well as the achievement of raising the funds and bringing it to fruition - something that fails to happen all too often. So that needs to be acknowledged. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Didn't get the 10 thing until I was looking at the photo and I have to say it looked a bit better from a distance and when it was light a night. Like all artwork some will like it some will not but as far as I'm concerned if the Phil's family liked it then that's good enough for me on another note I do wish they would repair the sign on the east side of the Davie Cooper stand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Anyone got a shot of it lit up? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Anyone got a shot of it lit up? I thought it was gonna be a mural ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 I'm afraid I also used the word underwhelming to friends at the game although it did look a bit better lit up on the way out. In daylight it just makes the stand look as if it needs a good wash. Sounds easy but the cost is in the access - either scaffolding or cherry picker. I assume the budget didn't stretch to that. Maybe it'll grow on me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EightSixteen Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 STV News Report http://news.stv.tv/scotland/west-central/282701-family-of-phil-odonnell-thank-motherwell-fans-as-memorial-is-unveiled/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Sadly, it looks cheap and nasty in daylight and at night. A poor tribute to the great man imo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Isnt what I had in mind but fair play to those involved for getting a lasting tribute to POD Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pettywulliegrew-2 Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Like everything in the "Art world" a lot of things are not everyones cup of tea............and as usual, on this site peoples good intentions are ripped to shreads..... This gesture was done with the coperation of the family who were involved in the design.....which was all done with the best intent to remember POD What were some people expecting..........:wank: Ah well I'm sure the next time it happens the people involved will know what to do 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 What were some people expecting..........:wank: A tribute that did Phil's memory and legacy justice... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 Can't argue with the sentiment behind this. As for the 'this site' pish, it is not this site's opinion that people post, it is their own. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 I believe that folk have a more conventionional notion of a memorial pw2 Folk are entitled to their opinion as are you. Doesn't make them (or you) a wanker Phil (who or what is 'POD' ?) meant a lot to us all - so we're all entitled to a point of view. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 picture by @motherwellFC twitter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 picture by @motherwellFC twitter Poor show, bit of a red neck to be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted November 26, 2011 Report Share Posted November 26, 2011 I think it looks much better with the lighting. I'd definitely have given the background a lick of paint though as it does look a little shabby. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...