underboyleheating Posted December 7, 2011 Report Share Posted December 7, 2011 Two of our 1970's kits are featured on an Admiral online poll to find the publics favourite Admiral kit. Our 1976-78 Away kit (wrong shorts!) might be worth a wee vote. It's a shame they they have ignored our 1991 cup winning kit, the 1991-92 kit and also our 1976-78 home kit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 That Coventry City away kit from the 70s is absolutley minging Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brigna Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 I don't know how it came about, but I had that Dundee home strip Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 I had the Leeds 1974-81 top. Thought it was brilliant Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Can't believe they missed out the ones UBH mentioned. Didnae really like that home kit they featured. Bradford's 70s is nice. I had the Leicester one with the shoulder trim and the Leeds lemon yin. Admiral made some good kits in the 70s, later ones were mainly minging. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 8, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 That Coventry City away kit from the 70s is absolutley minging Ironically the Admiral brown Coventry away is probably one of the most iconic kits ever produced. A very brave colour choice as well! A Motherwell version of this well used template would probably have look a bit like this... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 8, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 The very shirt that I helped the club shop and Bukta to produced a replica of. It was a belter! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 When I was a boy I had a poster on my wall of all the Admiral strips. Must have been from the late 70's / early 80's. I can only remember the Well, Coventry and Leeds tops but it had enough strips to go all sound the perimeter with an action shot of two players fighting for the ball on a mudbath of a pitch. That brown Coventry strip was something else. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Quite like the Bradford City Away Kit from the late 70s posted up there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 I had the same track suit and away top but I wore the claret shorts with that away top...... Admiral did have some cracking strips in the 70's....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Quite like the Bradford City Away Kit from the late 70s posted up there. York City used that same template for their away kit, saw an old FA Cup tie repeated a wee while ago on ESPN when they wore it against Nottm Forest on an icy pitch, goalies wearing tracky bottoms and players all wearing trainers wi' snow piled up behind the goals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 8, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Without doubt Admiral shook up the football kit market in the 70s. A market that was then mainly dominated by Umbro, Bukta and Adidas. I hope with the recent takeover they can get back to the glory days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 The very shirt that I helped the club shop and Bukta to produced a replica of. It was a belter! That was back in the day when, in Scotland, it was the home team that wore their change strip if there was a clash. When I was a kid it always felt a bit special to watch us play in that white effort under the floodlights on a cold Wednesday night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 8, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 When I was a kid it always felt a bit special to watch us play in that white effort under the floodlights There is something very stylish about white football kits. Our 1970s Umbro white C&A sash away kit was top notch. The same goes for our Ian St. John white late 50’s C&A hooped top. White tops with a touch of C&A always look superb. (Although I’m sure whoever washes our kit may think otherwise!) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 8, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Talking of away kits, this mid 60s picture of us playing against Celtic in our amber hooped top shows two black players playing for Celtic. I don’t remember any black players playing for Celtic around that time. Any old yins on here, remember this game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 They had some tremendous kits with most of the best ones being variations on the themes of stripes down one or both sides - I like Wales Home, even Aberdeen and of course ours look great (particularly the Away). Surprised they went to the effort of doing different strips for us and Bradford. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 13, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 The votes are in and Number 11 in the 'Countdown to Your Favourite Admiral Kit' is the Glasgow Rangers Home Kit 1990-92. Anyone apart from me, vote for our 70's white away kit? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 The votes are in and Number 11 in the 'Countdown to Your Favourite Admiral Kit' is the Glasgow Rangers Home Kit 1990-92. Anyone apart from me, vote for our 70's white away kit? Aye me, didnae like that home kit though so voted for Bradfords. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 13, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 Aye me, didnae like that home kit though so voted for Bradfords. Same here Fatcalf, I also liked the brown Coventry effort. Almost certain that the England 80-83 home kit will be voted the favourite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 14, 2011 Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 The votes are in and Number 11 in the 'Countdown to Your Favourite Admiral Kit' is the Glasgow Rangers Home Kit 1990-92. Anyone apart from me, vote for our 70's white away kit? Aye me.....where did we get to in the countdown? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 14, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 14, 2011 Aye me.....where did we get to in the countdown? Not sure, as they are only showing the top 11. So unless we are in it (highly unlikely!), we will never know. And here is number 10... Manchester United away kit 1975-80 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 15, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 15, 2011 Number 9... England Away 1981-83 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 16, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 16, 2011 Number 8, you either love it or hate it... Coventry City Away 1978-81 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted December 16, 2011 Report Share Posted December 16, 2011 Number 8, you either love it or hate it... Coventry City Away 1978-81 I liked the design when it came out, but that particular version is hideous. It was a disgusting shade of brown that that mock-up doesn't come close to capturing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...