Infamous Wee Grafter Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Legends & Leg-ends Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcmainstand Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 see we haid a player from nancy in 00-01 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottW1886 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 The legend that is Said Chiba.... Big Bad Bob's pal Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 see we haid a player from nancy in 00-01 Not just "a player", but the one whose head Bob Malcolm stamped on, for which he has yet to be forgiven by many folk! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser30 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Joe Wark played in 464 games for the 'Well. Now that is legendary. B) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest JohnnyDefault Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 'ckin 'ell!!!! How good was Tommy Coyne's record? I thought he was absolutely IMMENSE for us at the time - but I've never looked at his goal ratio stats till now. If that's correct it's phenomenal. Particularly when you think of how highly Dougie is regarded (quite rightly) in general by the support. Cobra - played 132, scored 59 Dougie - played 240, scored 59 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Ian St. John...80 goals in 113 games.......jings......I honestly never realised he was THAT good wi us... I used to watch him on the box wi' Greavsie...!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Never mind that, I didn't realise how good Ian St John's record was! I knew he was good but 80 goals in 113 games?! EDIT: Too late Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 KirkySuper Sub 1 Fat Tony 0 Hee, hee.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 You win this round KirkySuperSub... And as Dosser30 says, Joe Wark - 464 games, that is a real legend! :worshippy: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 A wee bit tastless putting Deceased in as Unle Phils 'Transferred to' club. Makes me shudder a bit. Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 On a more positive note, it's amazing to think that our front five from the 1952 Cup final averaged more than fifty goals each for the club, while Andy Paton and Archie Shaw both played for 12 years in a largely succesful Motherwell team and didn't manage a goal between them! It's definitely a changed game from those days. Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Ha-ha! Paul Baker. Scored a brilliant debut goal against Saint Johnstone at Fir Park.......only for the linesman's flag to go up. He was not best pleased I seem to recall........ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Isn't it funny how we look back with a strange affection for some of our duffers?!! Take Mark Caughey for example. Signed from Accies with a great goalscoring record, yet in 17 games for us he only managed one...an oggie on his debut against Hearts! That said, he did net a hat trick in the Reserve Cup Final against Celtic in 1988 which we won 4-2, so not all bad! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Willie Pettigrew - 80 goals in a 166 appearances. The man is a legend! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keef Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Poor Andy Roddie. Even Mio scored more goals than he did... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Mac Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Poor Andy Roddie. Even Mio scored more goals than he did... Even John Hendry scored more than he did...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mcguru Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Big Softie 7 goals for us, remember 3 of them aff the top of ma heid - 1. Almost bursting the net as his blooter put us 1-0 up against Rangers in last home game before 91 Cup final. Dougie adding 2 memorable goals in the last 5 mins. 2. Equaliser at Tannadice in 94th minute of a Cup game sparking manic scenes in the Tannadice Enclosure and on Radio Clyde commentary. 3. Was standing behind the goal at Cappielow when Big Softie connected with a ball something like 50 yards out it seemed to me. Most days it would have ended up past the cranes in the docks but on this day it rocketed straight towards me and only the net saved me from getting battered. 1-1 that day as I remember. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rinkydink Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 2. Equaliser at Tannadice in 94th minute of a Cup game sparking manic scenes in the Tannadice Enclosure and on Radio Clyde commentary. Probably my all time favourite Motherwell away day. So many memories from that day, from snowball fights outside the pub before the game, to the Sieb Sieb Sieb chant, to the United fan getting lifted for mooning the Well fans at half time, to Softy's post match "another crack at the cherry" interview. Marvellous. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Big Softie 7 goals for us, remember 3 of them aff the top of ma heid - I also seem to recall him shooting from 30 yards out and the baw whizzing past ma heid and right into the window opening at the old pie stall in, what is now the DC stand...lets just say, the pie man was not best pleased...! But it was funny as feck......it was a midweek game, many moons ago...I'm sure it was against Hearts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
elky Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Big Softie had the fastest and hardest shot at the old soccer sixes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Dixie Deans 78 goals in 152 apps, very impressive aswell ! wonder who had the best goals to games ratio ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Without having time to do the maths, I think Ian St. John looks like having the best ratio. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Big Softie 7 goals for us, remember 3 of them aff the top of ma heid - 1. Almost bursting the net as his blooter put us 1-0 up against Rangers in last home game before 91 Cup final. Dougie adding 2 memorable goals in the last 5 mins. 2. Equaliser at Tannadice in 94th minute of a Cup game sparking manic scenes in the Tannadice Enclosure and on Radio Clyde commentary. 3. Was standing behind the goal at Cappielow when Big Softie connected with a ball something like 50 yards out it seemed to me. Most days it would have ended up past the cranes in the docks but on this day it rocketed straight towards me and only the net saved me from getting battered. 1-1 that day as I remember. If my memory of that game at Cappielow serves me right you must have been standing in the home end rather than the crappy plastic bench seating in the away end where you spend the whole game being bitten by flies from the warehouses across the road. Is that right? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted December 10, 2008 Report Share Posted December 10, 2008 Without having time to do the maths, I think Ian St. John looks like having the best ratio. Skippy had a good ratio 43 in 89 games. thats almost a goal every two games! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...