Spiderpig Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 A true Motherwell fan who will be sadly missed, he worked very hard for the club over the years, especially with the ground improvements and the new South and cooper stands. I only spoke to him on a few occasions but he was a true gentleman. Condolences to all the family, A sad loss to scottish football. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 A sad loss, condolences to his family. RIP Bill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ernie Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 RIP Bill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
another number Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 True loss to the club. Thoughts are with his family and friends. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Seemingly he suffered a cerebral haemorrhage last night and died in hospital awaiting surgery. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Sad news indeed - my thoughts are with his family at this sad time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser30 Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 A sad loss indeed. Thoughts with his family. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myteam Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 sad times indeed. never knew him personally but we frequently got a wave & toot when we passed him on the way to away games. r.i.p. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 A gentleman. Very sad news indeed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DunnyMFC Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 R.I.P Bill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gunn Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 RIP Thoughts are with his family! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Bill Dickie was a lucky man, a very lucky man indeed. Now, I certainly do not wish to belittle him with that statement. What I mean is; he was a fan of his local football club and was fortunate enough to live the dream of having a 30yr input to his beloved Football club, including the designing of the South and Cooper Stands. While I've been a critic of the South Stand, it and the Cooper are certainly quite a legacy to leave behind. One I'm sure we'd all be envious of. Hope you get the jist of what I'm trying to say, albeit not very well, sorry. RIP Bill 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrismfcno1 Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Tragic news, great ambassador for the club and a great servant rip Bill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kylie Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 RIP Bo;; Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Very sad news, R.I.P. Bill. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 I'm saddened by this news. Bill served the club well for decades and was a real fan too. I spoke to him on a good few occasions and always found him to be a real gent. Always ready and willing to help out when needed. He will be missed. Condolences to his family, friends and colleagues at Fir Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Really sad news. He was a frequent visitor to my place of work and always took the time to pass the time of day and have a quick chat about the 'Well. He was one of the last remaining links at FP to my childhood days going to FP in the early '70s. A true gentleman in every sense of the word and a stalwart and diehard for MFC. His presence at the club will be well missed. Bill will be sadly missed by all who knew him (inside and outside FP) and my sincere condolences go to his family. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 RIP Bill!! Pretty shocked to come home from school to this news! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Can't remember having any personal dealings with him apart from occasionally bumping into him around the club it's amazing to think that from the season I started to regularly attend Motherwell matches (1986) to this weekend, Bill Dickie was there behind the scenes (and sometimes in front of the scenes!) working away for the club. That's an incredible period of service for the club. I think when I remember Bill Dickie it will be in the aftermath of the Scottish Cup win and how pleased he was to win the trophy, he obviously enjoyed it as much as any player or fan. This legacy will be the history of the club over the last 30 years. From being a lower division team to achieving promotion and staying there, winning the Scottish Cup, qualifying for European football for the first time in our history, finishing 2nd and 3rd in the league on a number of occasions - I'm sure his name will be always linked to a 'golden era' in the history of Motherwell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 RIP a sad loss my condolences to his family. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 A great loss to the club. I met him a few times through work and he always had the ability to think on his feet. Apart from that I will always remember him enjoying the trip to Nancy not so long ago. Thoughts are with his family and friends Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Can't remember having any personal dealings with him apart from occasionally bumping into him around the club it's amazing to think that from the season I started to regularly attend Motherwell matches (1986) to this weekend, Bill Dickie was there behind the scenes (and sometimes in front of the scenes!) working away for the club. That's an incredible period of service for the club. I think when I remember Bill Dickie it will be in the aftermath of the Scottish Cup win and how pleased he was to win the trophy, he obviously enjoyed it as much as any player or fan. This legacy will be the history of the club over the last 30 years. From being a lower division team to achieving promotion and staying there, winning the Scottish Cup, qualifying for European football for the first time in our history, finishing 2nd and 3rd in the league on a number of occasions - I'm sure his name will be always linked to a 'golden era' in the history of Motherwell. I can remember waiting for my ticket for the 1991 Cup Final and the tickets were being sold from a wee window to the side of the main entrance of the main stand. (No ticket office in those days). There were thousands waiting to get tickets and when I got to the front there was Bill Dickie, the Chairman, selling the Cup Final tickets, he must have been there for hours. When I travelled to Denmark for the Odense game as I was having a breakfast beer, Bill spotted the me,with my Well top and kilt on, and came over for a chat. He was certainly a true Well fan and always stopped for a blether about the Well. His enthusiasm will be missed, I hope his family and friends can find comfort at this time. He'll be going to Well heaven alongside Davie Cooper, Phil O'Donnell, Jamie Dolan and Paul McGrillen and every other Well fan or player who has passed away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Had a few dealings with him and whilst we maybe disagreed on things he was always very polite and likeable and quite obviously Motherwell through and through. He'll be missed in our little family certainly, been a fixture for so many years. Thoughts are with his family Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Never nice to hear of a fellow Dosser passing, especially one who put so much time and effort into the club. Thoughts are with the family. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellmanandy Posted January 10, 2012 Report Share Posted January 10, 2012 Saddened by the news of Mr Dickie's death. Spoke to him a few times over the years and he always had time to chat about the Well. My condolences to his family Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...