Rory Bellows Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Nice piece in today's Sun with the legends... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Nice piece in today's Sun with the legends... I remember when, after a few successful games, the Daily Record was comparing John McKeever to Gerd Muller. Hope this article doesn't have the same effect! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Ah yes, John McKeever... first Motherwell player to try the "wear fluorescent boots to make me look more intimidating" trick? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 link? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DavyMcAlpine Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4123362/Motherwell-news-Legend-Willie-Pettigrew-reckons-watching-Henrik-Ojamaa-is-like-turning-the-clock-back.html 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 good man, cheers good wee read, I wish I got to see Pettigrew Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 good man, cheers good wee read, I wish I got to see Pettigrew Fantastic player, and one of those rarities that, when you look back at footage from the old games, was actually as good as you remember. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 good man, cheers good wee read, I wish I got to see Pettigrew but that would make you my age, or perhaps older Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 My father used to tell me Pettigrew was literally faster than light. Being six at the time I completely believed it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 My father used to tell me Pettigrew was literally faster than light. Being six at the time I completely believed it! Only over the first 5 yards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 My father used to tell me Pettigrew was literally faster than light. Being six at the time I completely believed it! How could he tell? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Touché! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 How could he tell? Because Wullie P always celebrated 20 seconds before he scored. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phoenix Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Wullie P could have had a cigar to celebrate every goal but Bobby G always nicked them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Any particular reason that Ojamaa is wearing grandpa glasses and a bushy moustache? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee jo Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 Is that no how they portray the sheriff in a western Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 They've got the current generation of player and an older generation of player but, wait for it, they've dressed them to appear the other way around. I know, crazy right? Those wacky Sun guys. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 I didn't realise Willie P's strike rate was that good - 80 goals in 146 appearances sounds impressive by Motherwell standards. If the wee man can replicate anywhere near that, we are on to a winner Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 11, 2012 Report Share Posted February 11, 2012 I didn't realise Willie P's strike rate was that good - 80 goals in 146 appearances sounds impressive by Motherwell standards. If the wee man can replicate anywhere near that, we are on to a winner Aye, he really does live up to his 'legend' status. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted February 12, 2012 Report Share Posted February 12, 2012 But remember Pettigrew was assisted by Bobby Graham. Not many played could control a ball like him. Didn't matter what speed or angle the ball came to him at one touc and it landed at his feet. However in saying that, pettigrew just knew how to score goals. Just natural ability, instinct can't be coached. I still think he got a raw deal as far as international caps go. And he was fast. He used to go to athletic competitions with Dalziel high, run in his gutteis and tan the arse off of all the other high school posers with their fancy track suits spikes etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted February 12, 2012 Report Share Posted February 12, 2012 I didn't realise Willie P's strike rate was that good - 80 goals in 146 appearances sounds impressive by Motherwell standards. If the wee man can replicate anywhere near that, we are on to a winner Not quite, Ian St.John managed 80 in a 113 appearances. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Villageman Posted February 13, 2012 Report Share Posted February 13, 2012 Not quite, Ian St.John managed 80 in a 113 appearances. Without belittling the efforts of either players efforts St. John had four/five teammates to provide the ammunition Willie P only had Bobby G. sorry about the stutter must be away past my bedtime Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted February 14, 2012 Report Share Posted February 14, 2012 Yes but the Saint also went on to have a really good career with Liverpool. Not knocking the legend Willie P but if we're comparing him with St John he falls short IMO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 14, 2012 Report Share Posted February 14, 2012 Yes but the Saint also went on to have a really good career with Liverpool. Not knocking the legend Willie P but if we're comparing him with St John he falls short IMO. I think if Wullie P had played in that Liverpool team, he would have also had a really good career. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted February 14, 2012 Report Share Posted February 14, 2012 I think we're getting carried away with ourselves if we think Wullie P was good enough to be playing for one of the big English teams when he was in his Prime. Rangers and Celtic didn't even consider him good enough to make a decent bid for him. For my money Dixie Deans was a better centre forward than Pettigrew. Probably not statistically so in his time with us because he wasn't there long enough before Celtic came calling. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...