Kat Posted March 14, 2012 Report Share Posted March 14, 2012 I used to work beside former well player Ian Kennedy and he would chat about this game, he always told me he played a blinder and had Johan Cryuff in his back pocket all game. Obviously researching the issue I found out Ian wasn't even in the team that day lol, further more dont even think Cryuff was on the books at Ajax. Was a good story tho Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted March 15, 2012 Report Share Posted March 15, 2012 This is a conplete one off. I don't think an hour goes by at work without the champions league getting a mention. Enjoy it while we can. Exactly, so on that note http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgomX3qD-iA Apolgises if this has been posted earlier in the thread. Can't wait to hear this belting thru the Fir Park tannoy. Wonder if it will manage the high notes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted March 15, 2012 Report Share Posted March 15, 2012 Not to put a downer on anyone's excitement ...but you don't get to play the Champions League music in the qualifying rounds...only in the League proper. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted March 15, 2012 Report Share Posted March 15, 2012 I used to work beside former well player Ian Kennedy and he would chat about this game, he always told me he played a blinder and had Johan Cryuff in his back pocket all game. Obviously researching the issue I found out Ian wasn't even in the team that day lol, further more dont even think Cryuff was on the books at Ajax. Was a good story tho Indeed… here's a complete rundown of Ajax's 76/77 season, including team photies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 15, 2012 Report Share Posted March 15, 2012 I used to work beside former well player Ian Kennedy and he would chat about this game, he always told me he played a blinder and had Johan Cryuff in his back pocket all game. Obviously researching the issue I found out Ian wasn't even in the team that day lol, further more dont even think Cryuff was on the books at Ajax. Was a good story tho What were his actual words though, it could have a bearing. eg "I never put a foot wrong all game" - Aye cos ye werenae playing "Cruyff was posted missing all game" - Aye cos he wisnae there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 15, 2012 Report Share Posted March 15, 2012 I used to work beside former well player Ian Kennedy and he would chat about this game, he always told me he played a blinder and had Johan Cryuff in his back pocket all game. Obviously researching the issue I found out Ian wasn't even in the team that day lol, further more dont even think Cryuff was on the books at Ajax. Was a good story tho Cruyff was at Barcelona by that stage. However, the Ajax team was full of Dutch internationals, a number of whom played in the 1978 World Cup final (including their captain Ruud Krol). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted May 1, 2012 Report Share Posted May 1, 2012 Will we be getting a new kit to play in the CL? Will we just play in our silver kit? Or will UBH come up with a new design...... worried fan from Airdrie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted May 1, 2012 Report Share Posted May 1, 2012 UBH has a plan I'm sure Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted May 1, 2012 Report Share Posted May 1, 2012 If so I hope it is better quality material like the Canterbury tops and no the prison issue away top. It looks great and I like the silver/grey top, but even my old man who swithered over buying one tthis weekend, took one feel and decided against it. It has to be silky smooth and if it is I will buy one........... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted May 1, 2012 Report Share Posted May 1, 2012 Nah, same two that we have will do us fine imo. Belters! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Junior Posted May 1, 2012 Report Share Posted May 1, 2012 If we get there.....no, please no special strip. 'Our strip' will do fine..!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxi Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 We won't make the groups, so no. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 would like to see the return of the white away strip. Last seasons was cracking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 We should use the anniversary strip for European competition. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 We should use the anniversary strip for European competition. Unfortunately I can't see it, but that would be outstanding. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 Get this thread title edited and get the 'premature' to utter fuck! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
two_sevens Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 Well, we've seen other unlikely comebacks before... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 Well, we've seen other unlikely comebacks before... Nae danger. Job's a good yin. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 Yaaaaaaass passport is oot! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grant Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgomX3qD-iA Look at the highest rated comment Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orinoco Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 brilliant!! well done to all at Fir Park. Champions League we are having a laugh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EightSixteen Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 Not to put a downer on anyone's excitement ...but you don't get to play the Champions League music in the qualifying rounds...only in the League proper. If we made it that far we'd need to kidnap the Firpark DJ so we can safeguard it and prevent an embarrassing Proclaimers mashup 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 Fantastic achievement! Well done Stuart McCall and every single player who has pulled on the Claret and Amber this season. Achievement wise this is right up there with anything we have ever done. Its gonna be a good summer! 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jim64 Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 +1 unbelievable we are the well can you hear us !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dundeesteelman Posted May 2, 2012 Report Share Posted May 2, 2012 +1. Has to be up there as one of the best nights to be a Well fan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...