numpty Posted March 1, 2012 Report Share Posted March 1, 2012 Sorry everyone. The stadium thing is just an idea / vision / dream. I would - personally - not be keen on a soulless 8000 seater. Personally, I'm getting a bit tired of this "soulless" argument. Soul comes from the people who fill a stadium, not from the architect's plans. Fill any stadium with 5000 'Well fans every other week and put a team on the park that gives them something to shout about, and it'll have soul aplenty. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 Personally, I'm getting a bit tired of this "soulless" argument. Soul comes from the people who fill a stadium, not from the architect's plans. So moving to all-seaters didn't affect the atmosphere in the grounds in your opinion? While it may a romantic notion to attribute 'soul' to a building, there are certainly grounds with character that are more conducive to an enjoyable experience. You take the same crowd from an old gig at The Apollo and stick them in the SEC, you are not going to have the same atmosphere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 So moving to all-seaters didn't affect the atmosphere in the grounds in your opinion? It did, but soul and atmosphere are two different things IMHO. There might be less (or at least, a different) atmosphere at Fir Park now than there was 25 years ago, but it still has much the same soul… otherwise folk wouldn't be complaining about leaving it behind for a "soulless" new build. Only analogy I can think of at this time of night is the difference between weather and climate I suppose -- weather/atmosphere is what you have at any given moment, climate/soul is what you have over a longer period of time, and to some extent defines a place and the people who inhabit it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 I see Numpty's point. Folk lump Almondvale in with the soulless flat pack notion, but that wee stadium or similar, would be fucking jumping with a decent team on the park and a good crowd. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 I see Numpty's point. Folk lump Almondvale in with the soulless flat pack notion, but that wee stadium or similar, would be fucking jumping with a decent team on the park and a good crowd. Exactly. We could make some racket in there. Part of the problem with Fir park is it is so big and open. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 Any new stadium would also have safe standing. It's part design. You need closed in corners and 4 stands. Not NDP or NSMP but definitely Almondvale or Parc y Scarlets. And part whatever atmosphere the people bring. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 It's part design. You need closed in corners and 4 stands. Not NDP or NSMP but definitely Almondvale or Parc y Scarlets. And we won't get that, we are skinto people therefore it stands to reason we won't be able to afford our dream stadium. Therefore I vote we stay put cos Fir Park is a'right. Compared to a flat pack pre-fab where the only unique feature would be the colour of the seats it wins every time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 Not like wellfans to focus on one tiny assumed negative, in what is a very positive and welcome press article 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 Not like wellfans to focus on one tiny assumed negative, in what is a very positive and welcome press article Cannae play on the positives for too long, not much else in the way of debate there cos we more or less agree on the rest of the article. Precisely why fanzines flourish during tough times for clubs and fall away when their need is lessened. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFC-craig Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 8000 seater, steep and close to the pitch. Lovely! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 8000 seater, steep and close to the pitch. Lovely! Why would we want to lock potential customers out during big games? 12,000ish should be the aim - not that I want to leabe Fir Park Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roly Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 Why would we want to lock potential customers out during big games? 12,000ish should be the aim - not that I want to leabe Fir Park Why would we want a (less than) half full stadium for 90% of the games played there? Most people want to see us at Fir Park for sentimental reasons... And I would miss the stadium but I'd also love to see us in a new purpose built home. Soul, history and atmosphere would come to a new place given time. I wager that the majority of Buddies are happier in their new stadium than they were at Love Street. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 I wager that the majority of Buddies are happier in their new stadium than they were at Love Street. Well you wouldn't know for looking at them, sour faced bunch of c***s that they are. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roly Posted March 2, 2012 Report Share Posted March 2, 2012 Well you wouldn't know for looking at them, sour faced bunch of c***s that they are. Not so much different to the majority of 'Well fans then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted March 5, 2012 Report Share Posted March 5, 2012 Why would we want a (less than) half full stadium for 90% of the games played there? Because we should be ambitious and be looking to strive for larger attendances, not capping our capacity at 8000 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted March 5, 2012 Report Share Posted March 5, 2012 Because we should be ambitious and be looking to strive for larger attendances, not capping our capacity at 8000 I'm sure if we ever started filling an 8000-seater stadium every week, we'd soon have (or be able to secure) the funds to extend it a bit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted March 5, 2012 Report Share Posted March 5, 2012 As a club we're ultra keen to roll over and have our belly's tickled 4 times a season by the OF (financial armaggeddon otherwise, viewers) then we need to be aiming for capacity of between 10K and 15K - so that although we're getting pumped - wereat least bringing in the cash. There's no point in saying we need OF @ home paydays (and we can't afford poor Rainjurs to go bust) - then having a capacity below what they generally generate. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted March 5, 2012 Report Share Posted March 5, 2012 That's an excellent article. That's not an article it's an advert. It's written by a member of the board ffs, it's a straightforward press release. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted March 5, 2012 Report Share Posted March 5, 2012 That's not an article it's an advert. It's written by a member of the board ffs, it's a straightforward press release. someone at the club must have really pissed you off in the past - you pour scorn on everything they do Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted March 11, 2012 Report Share Posted March 11, 2012 someone at the club must have really pissed you off in the past - you pour scorn on everything they do Here was me thinking I was pouring scorn on the clown who thought the press were giving us a good write up when in actual fact it all they were doing was giving space to a propaganda sheet written by a board member. I stand corrected. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...