mwellhighland Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Anything less than £1.5m for the pair of them and I'll be raging Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grant Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 If we do sell them for derisory amounts, it would be down to Motherwell and not Scottish football. Hearts, Hibs and Dundee Utd manage to hold out for value. The story on the official does come as somewhat desperate. If the figures are true, neither bid really merits a mention. Aye a suppose so, the clubs down south probably think we are desperate for money after the rangers fiasco. Just hope the club don't take whatever their given and hold out for what the players are worth instead. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Well done Motherwell on turning down those offers if the quoted figures are correct. Those are two of our best players and to let them go for such paltry sums would have been ridiculous, so well done for standing your ground MFC. However I very doubt that this will be the end of the matter and I fully expect both players to be gone in the next few weeks leaving us with a very, very bleak outlook for the season ahead. I just hope that we can get somethings resembling a decent transfer fee for these players but in the current financial climate and given that our club appear to be cash strapped, I won't be holding my breath. Worrying times indeed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Hopefully get as much as possible for the two of them which would allow us to put a bit in the bank and hopefully have a wee peak at the market with regards to bolstering midfield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Hutchinson will end up going if a bid over £600,000 comes in I reckon. If he played for Dundee United, they'd get over a million plus a number of add ons. Unfortunately we always go moist at the first sign of a half serious bid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 I'm thinking we don't sell anyone before europe is done. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 I'm thinking we don't sell anyone before europe is done. I agree with that, I posted the figures in one of the European threads, but sure it's £1.3 million for beating levante, before a balls kicked or ticket sold for group stages. There are then bonuses for every point, 3 big home gates and possible tv income. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 As a club with a requirement to 'sell a player a season' we have done pretty well in holding onto our assets. However, I think it was inevitable, even before new TV deal was signed, that we would need to offload one or two this time around. I was expecting Randolph and Hutch to be prime targets and I think we have sufficient cover to avoid it being a catastrophic loss. It would be more difficult to deal with the loss of Jennings and Law. I'm a realist and agree with most of that Weeyin, just tend to think its been down to lack of offers rather than us choosing to hold on to our assets The official statement certainly looks like a "come and get them" advert to me. Ideally we can get a decent amount for Law and start a bidding war for Shaun Hutchinson. It's a shame he got injured when he was on the verge of an England U21 cap, that could have considerably increased the amount sides are willing to pay and could have sparked a bit more interest. yeah I'm happy the club are doing it, in a way you see it with the bigger clubs, just sticks out like a sore thumb when we do it, and can be interpreted as desperate if you like, but its all part of the game To be fair, the Steelmen Forever thing so far, at least to me, seems to have been "Big shiny new campaign launched! Send us ideas!" and then silence. yeah I was a bit disheartened by LD's comment, even went and read over the bumf again and realised its all Internet based and never even heard or seen it at opening game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 regardless of how we play as a team in european games, if individuals perform well then that canhelp drive up the price. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Transfer fees are partly based on players current contracts. The fact that our players are at the bottom end of the pay scale in the SPL means we will always suffer when we eventuially punt them on, even when they are on lengthy deals. Guys like Goodwillie were on good wages when they were sold so United could demand a bigger fee. You can also bet Gunning is on a decent amount too. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 The fantasy is that we can't afford to lose them. The reality is we can't afford to keep them. Motherwell have to sell and the St Johnstone attendance just proved that 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Anything less than £1.5m for the pair of them and I'll be raging I'd be getting prepared to be raging then. We'll get half that, tops. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 The fantasy is that we can't afford to lose them. The reality is we can't afford to keep them. Motherwell have to sell and the St Johnstone attendance just proved that Pretty much this imo. Sad as it is. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 I think history has shown nobody is irreplaceable. From Pettigrew to McFadden, players have moved on and we still have managed to win a trophy and get some decent league placings. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 I am a little confused by the STV story and the official MFC story. The MFC one states we have knocked back bids that were significant - how can £150k and £250k be construed as significant, even with our negotiation history. I was pretty sure Hutchy would be off b4 the transfer window and I suspect that will start the bidding process. We should be looking at minimum £800k+ for Hutch. 2 years left on his contract. No hurry and hopefully he will add value. Law is slightly different if he has only 12 months left. But would still be looking for £500k Both would be big losses, but would allow us to bank near enough £1m and hopefully anything left over to bolster the squad. Faddy for Law Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Significant for Motherwell it said. For a team that just cut £200,000 from it's wage bill, signed a TV deal that earns us less than the last one, and on Saturday had a crowd of just over 4,000 that IS significant, sadly. We're skint. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Significant when we are over £1mil short of Well Society target. I miss John Boyle. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Yes we need to sell and i expect Randolph and Murphy to follow them. Mediocrity for us this season im afraid. <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 we already need to sign two players before the window. if law and hutchy go we need 3 or 4 depending on saunders. are there that many ex bradford players out of contract? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 I'm thinking we don't sell anyone before europe is done. Only problem with that is. It gives us a day in the summer window to sell anyone.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Yes we need to sell and i expect Randolph and Murphy to follow them. Mediocrity for us this season im afraid. <_> I don't think Murphy is going anywhere. Think he only has value to us right now. If he goes through a streak of good form before Christmas perhaps someone will come in for him then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Losing players is no big deal. I've seen scores of irreplaceable players leave Fir Park only to be replaced by others. When Faddy left the club was supposedly going to implode. It didn't. The same thing happened with Ian St John, Bobby Roberts, Dixie Deans, Keith McRae, Gary McAllister, Lee MacCulloch, Phil O'Donnell, Brian McLair, Scott MacDonald, to name but 9. The club is still here. Our problem is our reputation or rather lack of it. Any young player breaking through at Easter Road, Tannadice or Pittodrie is automatcially a world beater. It might not be true but English clubs believe that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 Sorry, but when do we ever have crowds of over 5/6000? 4000 sounds about right for a Motherwell game, granted its usually 4700 ish well fans. For August when folk are mainly still off abroad on holiday or are having to cover holiday makers at work, that's not so bad.i may be sugar coating hell here but sill, calm doon.. That's small rant aside, the offered amount would up our budget by 150k considering the 200k deficit. Highly significant in running our team. We could offer someone a decent wage for the season, and help ensure a higher finish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 The problem would be the amount of experience we have lost in defence very quickly. Craigan, Clancy, and if it happens, Hutchinson in a matter of months. Saunders is out for a while and apart from Ramsden it is Cummins, Kerr, or Page in on a full time basis. At tjhis point, Kerr is only with us till January as well. We would need another defender to come in imo and at least another midfielder, possibly two, if we lose Law. If we can do that.....well that's another story. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pettywulliegrew-2 Posted August 14, 2012 Report Share Posted August 14, 2012 In my lifetime..... McLoy,Deans,Forsyth,McRae,Pettigrew,Mclair, Mcallister,Walker,Boyd,O'Donnell,McFadden, McDonald,Pearson etc etc have all left the club,for in some cases good/poor/excellent fees...... we are and always have been a selling club and as previously mentioned un less we can double our home crowd nothing will change !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...