ONeils40yarder Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 What would be your all-time greatest Motherwell team in a McGhee style 4-3-3 (none of this 4-5-1 pish), players you have seen for Motherwell in the flesh only. Dykstra Corrigan Martin Krivokapic Boyd O'Neil Lambert O'Donnell Cooper Coyne McFadden Subs; Maxwell, McKinnon, McCart, Hughes, Davies, Kirk, Arnott Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Smith Quinn Craigan Reynolds Hammell Hughes Klimpl Fitzpatrick Clarskon Sutton O'Brien That'll do for me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Smith Quinn Craigan Reynolds Hammell Hughes Klimpl Fitzpatrick Clarskon Sutton O'Brien That'll do for me If we make europe this season i'll back that all the way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Who's Clarskon? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 MacRae Whiteford Martin Watson Wark Graham McFadden Cooper Arnott Deans Pettigrew Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eaststandfan Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Maxwell Corrigan Boyd Aitken Martis McFadden Pat Quinn Arnott Saint John Hunter Cooper what a tem this would have been Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Dykstra Burley Nijholt Martin McKinnon Lambert O'Donnell Davies Clarkson Coyne McFadden Rather than try and think of the best eleven, I tried to think of players that would play well together. Hence Clarkson instead of Porter. And frankly Arnott wasn't that good... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sweeney Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Only been watching Motherwell since '94/95 so... Andy Goram Stevie Hammel (the old version ) Brian Martin Van Der Gaag (liked him when i was a kid, did he even play CB?) Paul Quinn (of last season) Pearson Lambert O'Donnell God (We know who that is) Porter McCormack Subs: Marshall, Corrigan, The player i thought Bob Malcolm would be, Coyne, McDonald EDIT: Someone with the new Football Manager should stick the old Motherwell players in a team with loads of money so they don't move clubs, go on holiday and see where they finish after a year. McCormack, Mcfadden, Pearson, McDonald & Porter all in the same team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Dykstra Nijholt Martin Krivokapic McKinnon O'Donnell O'Neill Cooper McFadden Coyne Arnott Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 My Greatest Motherwell Eleven would be; Sieb Dykstra Luc Nijholt Joe Wark Willie McVie Gregor Stevens Jamie Dolan Phil O'Donnell Davie Cooper Willie Pettigrew Tommy Coyne James McFadden What a Team that would have been Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burn_Broomfield Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Goram Soloy* Boyd Martin McKinnon *(would have been brilliant in McGhees team) Davies Lambert O'Donnell McFadden Coyne Cooper Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ColtnessDosser Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Makes me feel really old, looking at some of these selections I'll go for: Rennie Nijholt Martin Krivocapic Wark Lambert O'Neill Cooper Pettigrew Graham McFadden Too many subs to list Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Makes me feel really old, looking at some of these selections I'll go for: Rennie Nijholt Martin Krivocapic Wark Lambert O'Neill Cooper Pettigrew Graham McFadden Too many subs to list I'm really surprised at your choice of 'keeper. I never thought Stuart Rennie was that great and when he took too many steps in the Scottish Cup semi-final against Airdrie and they scored with the resultant free kisck, costing us a place in the final, he went down even further in my estimation. We've had plenty better 'keepers before and since. I really dont understand that selection. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Keith MacRae Luc Nijholt Brian Martin Graham Forbes Joe Wark Peter Millar Vic Davidson Bobby Russell Willie Pettigrew Bobby Graham Davie Cooper Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 I'm really surprised at your choice of 'keeper.I never thought Stuart Rennie was that great and when he took too many steps in the Scottish Cup semi-final against Airdrie and they scored with the resultant free kisck, costing us a place in the final, he went down even further in my estimation. We've had plenty better 'keepers before and since. I really dont understand that selection. The "too many steps' decision was a farce. Keepers did it every week, and were usually only pulled up on it if they were looking to waste time. It's like the newer rule about keepers holding onto the ball for 6 seconds - how often does that get enforced? I don't think he was our best keeper, though. McRae tops that list. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Ah, godammit, Grew. I forgot Bobby Russell. I'd have him instead of Billy Davies... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ColtnessDosser Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 The "too many steps' decision was a farce. Keepers did it every week, and were usually only pulled up on it if they were looking to waste time. It's like the newer rule about keepers holding onto the ball for 6 seconds - how often does that get enforced? I don't think he was our best keeper, though. McRae tops that list. Can't really remember that much about McRae, he was the keeper just as I started on the rollercoaster. I picked Rennie as the best of a bad lot really (in hindsight, maybe Maxwell desrved the place), but was never a big fan of Dykstra who seems to be a popular choice particularly among our younger contributors. Always thought he flattered to deceive, and I know a few guys older than me who thought the same of Keith McRae. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ernie Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 Quite simple and like some the selections show my age McCloy Nijholt Martin Boyd Wark Russell O'Donnell Marinello Davidson Pettigrew Coyne Subs Sproat, Cooper, McLair, Lambert, Deans, McCart, McFadden All in all a balanced team methinks that could easily win the league in this day and age. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest 'Flow Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 My first game was in the mid 80's any my first real recollections of Motherwell were round about the Cup Win in 1991 but at eight and a half, my memory is a little hazy to be honest. Starting going every week with my dad around 1992/1993 and as such, my team would be: Sieb Dykstra Martyn Corrigan Brian Martin Chris McCart Luc Nijholt Scott Leitch Phil O'Donnell Paul Lambert James McFadden Tommy Coyne Dougie Arnott Subbies: Gordon Marshall, Miodrag Krivokapic, Rob McKinnon, Colin O'Neil, Davie Cooper, Scott McDonald, David Clarkson My all-time favourite player is, without doubt, The Kasier... Legend! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 Sieb Dykstra Luc Nijholt Brian Martin Miodrag Krivokapic Rab McKinnon Colin O'Neill Krisztian Vadocz Paul Lambert James McFadden Tommy Coyne Davie Cooper. Trickiest one for me was who the ball winner was next to big Krisztian, but no-one can hold a candle to Pyscho in that department, purely for senitimental reasons... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
studos Posted February 14, 2009 Report Share Posted February 14, 2009 McRae Whiteford Wark Martin McCallum (Willie) Russell O'Donnell Cooper Deans Coyne Pettigrew I know this team would probably not gel particularly midfield and front three however just putting down best players in each position I can think of. BTW McRae only gets it cos I thought he was brilliant when I was wee. whether he was or not I can't remember. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JonnyWishbone Posted February 15, 2009 Report Share Posted February 15, 2009 Dykstra Wishart Martin Krivokapic Boyd Lambert O'Donnell O'Neil Pettigrew Kirk McFadden Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Can't really remember that much about McRae, he was the keeper just as I started on the rollercoaster. I picked Rennie as the best of a bad lot really (in hindsight, maybe Maxwell desrved the place), but was never a big fan of Dykstra who seems to be a popular choice particularly among our younger contributors. Always thought he flattered to deceive, and I know a few guys older than me who thought the same of Keith McRae. I remember MacRae playing for either a Scottish league team or the Under 23's can't remember which, but I'm pretty sure the defenders in front of him were Jardine and McGrain and they were passing it between them when an attacker broke through and MacRae came out and dived at his feet ending up with a broken wrist. He was out for months. I was speaking to Malcolm Allison about him a year or so ago, and he said he was a terrific 'keeper with great agility but a complete headcase who wanted to play centre forward in training. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GIMFC Posted February 17, 2009 Report Share Posted February 17, 2009 sieb kaiser mckinnon buff van der gaag gordon mair o' donnell faddy lambert coyne porter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ColtnessDosser Posted February 17, 2009 Report Share Posted February 17, 2009 I remember MacRae playing for either a Scottish league team or the Under 23's can't remember which, but I'm pretty sure the defenders in front of him were Jardine and McGrain and they were passing it between them when an attacker broke through and MacRae came out and dived at his feet ending up with a broken wrist. He was out for months. I was speaking to Malcolm Allison about him a year or so ago, and he said he was a terrific 'keeper with great agility but a complete headcase who wanted to play centre forward in training. Well, he did famously play outfield for us a few times. I remember Ian St John saying in his book that he thought McRae was occasionally spectacular, but not basically sound. Always wondered why his career never really took off when he left us for such a big fee at the time (£100k). Oh and by the way GIMFC....Gordon Mair??????? aka Night. You havin a laff? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...