rab_mackinnon Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 It's our local rivals on saturday and wee Mccarthy picked up a hamstring injury b4 a ball was kicked against germany in there under 21 game last night. Here's hoping he's still unfit for saturday Mon the well O h watched the game last night on sky Cillian looked as sharpe as a sponge. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyRoss Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Did you choose that over Brazil v Italy? Ireland Under 21's?? I have heard it all now! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rab_mackinnon Posted February 11, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 I work till 11 at night and sky was re broadcasting the full game at night so it was that or nothing. I wanted to see how cillian got on as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyRoss Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Fair play. All is forgiven. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
airfinz Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Does that mean that McCarthy is still eligable for Scotland? Didn't he pull out injured from their last game? Hope he is keeping his options open at this stage. May be controversial, but I would still take him back for Scotland in the unlikely scenario he had a change of heart. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DC'd Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Nah Airfinz, no turning back now for McCarthy, he is stuck with his choice of ROI. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaka Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 he isnt stuck wi it, you can change country anytime until your 21st birthday now, so he has a year n a half i think. not that i think he ever will Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DC'd Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 No, that only applies if he has been capped at a lesser level, but AFAIK he has been capped at all levels of Irish football U17,18,19 and 21 level. Which means he is unable to change now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 he isnt stuck wi it, you can change country anytime until your 21st birthday now, so he has a year n a half i think. not that i think he ever will Dont think so, as far as i know you can change up until your 21st birthday but that is only if you haven't been capped at under 21 level already...could be wrong though! Cheers, Dezz Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 Dont think so, as far as i know you can change up until your 21st birthday but that is only if you haven't been capped at under 21 level already...could be wrong though! Cheers, Dezz You can change up till your 21st. Even If you've played under 21's. If you've earned a full or b-team cap then you can't. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 I don't think that's correct. As I understand it, he can switch countries until he has either gained a full cap for one or he turns 21. Under-21 caps don't make a difference. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted February 11, 2009 Report Share Posted February 11, 2009 The rules were changed in 2004 so that they now enable British nationals to play for one UK team despite having already played for another at Under-21 level or below and foreign nationals to make the same choice on completion of a required two-year residency period to qualify for a UK passport. So he could change his mind although I agree its highly unlikely 1 If a Player has more than one nationality, or if a Player acquires a new nationality, or if a Player is eligible to play for several representative teams due to nationality, he may, up to his 21st birthday, and only once, request to change the Association for which he is eligible to play international matches to the Association of another country of which he holds nationality, subject to the following conditions: (a) He has not played a match (either in full or in part) in an official competition at “A” international level for his current Association, and at the time of his first full or partial appearance in an international match in an official competition for his current Association, he already had the nationality of the representative team for which he wishes to play. (b) He is not permitted to play for his new Association in any competition in which he has already played for his previous Association. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 That was a longwinded way of saying "Aye, weeyin's correct" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Aye weeyins correct Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...