biggayal0 Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Interview in the Sun today with "Oor Wullie" (Pettigrew) Bit before my time, but hearing stories from my dad and uncles and watching old clips etc shows what a player he was, and Motherwell through and through. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Sun article clicky But for me my proudest moment in football was the first time I pulled on a Motherwell shirt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Great article - almost makes up for yesterday's debacle. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Willie Pettigrew: The one thing I always guaranteed was goals. I scored a lot at Motherwell, United and Hearts. The fact I was blessed with pace also helped me stand out. Was there not a game where he did a timed sprint to try and beat some record (over 70m?) before a game, possibly a friendly? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ColtnessDosser Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 That was before Joe Wark's first testimonial against West Brom in 1978 I think. He came in 3rd behind Laurie Cunningham and Cyrille Regis, just before they gubbed us 8-0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Can never resist posting on any thread about Wullie. I'm sure there's at least one a year. Quite simply - he will always make an all time Well 11 and he was my first hero. Honest you youngsters - Wullie woz better than Faddy, Coop and Coyne. Well legend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 You're right, but the youngsters won't believe you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yosemite sam Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 My one claim to fame is I played golf at Wishaw with a four ball consisting of myself, Dougie Arnott, Jim Griffen and Willie Pettigrew. Heaven! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jammyget Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 I agree, best Motherwell player in my lifetime. Although, having Peter Maranello and Bobby Graham in the same team must have helped. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Hope the 'Well Boys have added "Oh Wullie Wullie" to the song list for Saturday! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Top man The 'Grew. Best and most natural goal scorer I've ever seen at FP. Knew where the goal was by pure instinct and always believed shooting on sight before 'keepers could set themselves. His partnership with Bobby Graham was fantastic and if they were having their careers over again, we probably wouldn't be able to hold them. I remember seeing his first game at FP when he came on as a second half sub. Caught offside so many times the fans demanded he be taken back off again!!! He was so green and playing on the shoulder of the last defender is never easy but you could see that when he worked that out he was going to be very good. I'll never forget his winner against Cup holders Celtic in first round at FP in 1976 after we had been 0-2 down at halftime. BBC Commentator Alastair Alexander - "Pettigrew! Pettigrew! Oh a sensational goal!" Pure magic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emmjay Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Off the pitch, he was a true gentleman, and was a great ambassador for the Club. I met him a few times when he and other team members would be summoned to the then Chairman's place of work.... ..good times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 The Grew was in the Fir Park Club after the game on Saturday. nothing is a problem to him. When one of the regulars asked for an autograph, Wullie P actually thanked them for asking him. A legend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Not old enough to have any memories of Pettigrew's playing career, but I'll always remember him from owning the Lifestyle shop on High Blantyre Main Street around the mid-90's! I mind going round once with one of da's old programmes from the 70's and getting him to sign his photo in it - tap man! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 12, 2009 Report Share Posted February 12, 2009 Was fortunate enough to be coached by both Wullie P and Bobby Graham at amateur level, tap men baith of them. Hopefully my goals over the years have shown that their time wisnae wasted completely but forever grateful for the time they spent on me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 I agree, best Motherwell player in my lifetime. Although, having Peter Maranello and Bobby Graham in the same team must have helped. There is no doubt in my mind that Wullie's natural talent for finding the net mixed with Bobby Graham's pin point passing skills made them two of the best players I've had the joy of watching at Fir Park. As for Peter Marinello, what a winger, the guy had it all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ForthThistle Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 Was fortunate enough to be coached by both Wullie P and Bobby Graham at amateur level, tap men baith of them. Hopefully my goals over the years have shown that their time wisnae wasted completely but forever grateful for the time they spent on me. What team was that Fatcalf!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 Both at Colville Park, different times though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelmen Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 Caught offside so many times the fans demanded he be taken back off again!!! He was so green and playing on the shoulder of the last defender is never easy but you could see that when he worked that out he was going to be very good. Just a shame Stuart Eilliot never worked it out..... Never had the pleasure of seeing the man play, but my Granpa never shut up about him and Bobby Graham. Lee Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 but my Granpa never shut up about him and Bobby Graham. Your Grandpa!!! Shit, I must be old. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phoenix Posted February 13, 2009 Report Share Posted February 13, 2009 The Grew was in the Fir Park Club after the game on Saturday. nothing is a problem to him. When one of the regulars asked for an autograph, Wullie P actually thanked them for asking him. A legend. Willie was actually in the Fir park club before the game (naw it's no a rangers pub) and it was quite bizzare meeting him in there on Saturday. I met Bobby Graham walking up to the ground on Saturday as I had my 2 girls with me so went early to show them around, anyway had a chat with Bobby as I know him quite well he went over to stadium and I went in the club. Willie, his boy and mates were sitting at the next table talking about all things Motherwell, I didn't want to intrude so when I got a chance said hello and mentioned to Willie that i had been talking to Bobby and he was away over to the ground for a meal, he replied aye Bobby over there and I'm in here, to say i was confused about that remark is right but didn't ask the legend anymore, I did however find it quite funny he was in the club and not over with the former players as, he after all did score the winning goal v St Mirren all they years ago. Well I met Bobby again toight and mentioned to him Willie was in the FPC before the game and I was wondering why he was not over in the stadium mealing it up. Bobby said Willie being Willie has not joined the former players club and just does his own thing. I think maybe Willie enjoys the company of the fans. A true motherwell legend, and if he is in the club tomorrow I will buy him a beer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...