Browni Posted March 19, 2013 Report Share Posted March 19, 2013 From the 'fishal twitter today Motherwell FC @MotherwellFC The U20s are back in action tomorrow night when they face @acciesfc at New Douglas Park. Kick-off is 7pm - entry is free (donations welcome) Update: Motherwell FC @MotherwellFC Due to the recent bad weather, tomorrow's U20s match with @acciesfc has been switched to Airdrie's Excelsior Stadium with a 2pm kick-off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iain7_mfc Posted March 19, 2013 Report Share Posted March 19, 2013 Good to see they have actually advertised this one! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 19, 2013 Report Share Posted March 19, 2013 A wee word to wish Fraser Johnston a speedy recovery. He was carried off last night with what appeared a bad leg/ ankle injury. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted March 19, 2013 Report Share Posted March 19, 2013 Think that's putting it mildly. He was appointed after the boys started back so a wee bit of leeway was rightly given to him. However there does seem to be an overall lack of direction with the U/20's. I think the main problem is he is just too nice a guy and as a result maybe lacks a wee bit of respect from the boys. Having said that Kenny Black is more often than not in the dugout as well, and he does most of the shouting. From what I see and hear the younger boys have had a far easier introduction to pro football under JJ than previous squads under C McCart or G Young. Cheers for that insight Noah. When you say ' a far easier introduction', you just re-iterating that he's too soft ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 Cheers for that insight Noah. When you say ' a far easier introduction', you just re-iterating that he's too soft ?? Not fudging this but I think it's more he tries to be authoritative but he does not appear to have the 'nasty' edge that is needed in a coach and the youngsters have cottoned on to this. I can't and won't be overly critical but there does seem to be a slackness about some of the boys that I didn't see under the previous HOYD. Maybe it's his style and in the long term it will prove the right way but i'm afraid at this moment the jury is out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 Is Gordon Young still at the club and in what role? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WishyWell Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 Is Gordon Young still at the club and in what role? He's Academy Director - in charge of the youth system from the wee ones right up to u17s. Under rules intrroduced for the start of this season by the SFA, the Academy Director cannot also be the u20s coach, which is why JJ was brought in. Previously our Head of Youth did both jobs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 Good 3-2 win away at Accies today, match played at New Broomfield, Airdrie. 1-1 H/ T McHugh pen 2-3 F/ T Erwin pen and Carswell pen . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Browni Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 Good 3-2 win away at Accies today, match played at New Broomfield, Airdrie. 1-1 H/ T McHugh pen 2-3 F/ T Erwin pen and Carswell pen . You forgot to mention that Accies 2nd goal was also a penalty Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 You forgot to mention that Accies 2nd goal was also a penalty I know, dinnae want folk to think I was on the sauce, 4 pens in the game! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted March 20, 2013 Report Share Posted March 20, 2013 I know he didn't feature today but does Saunders look to be nearing a first team outing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 21, 2013 Report Share Posted March 21, 2013 Hard to call LD, seems there may be a bit of divided opinion as to where he should play. The lad Cummins recently signed a new contract and Murray is getting back to form after injury, so IMHO dependent on his contract situation he may not feature too often, as SM begins building and planning for next season. From what I have seen he is match fit now and wouldn't let the team down, but I just have the feeling he is down the order now. (cue injuries and suspensions on a Biblical scale at the back ) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
marty Posted March 21, 2013 Report Share Posted March 21, 2013 He came on for a couple of minutes at pittodrie. Obviously there's a huge difference between that and actually starting a game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 25, 2013 Report Share Posted March 25, 2013 U/20's play Dundee Utd at Tannadice tonight 7pm KO weather permitting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 25, 2013 Report Share Posted March 25, 2013 U/20's lost 3-0 tonight. Basically played off the park by a better team. Could have been more but for a few saves from Stewart. Another bad day at the office I'm afraid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted March 25, 2013 Report Share Posted March 25, 2013 Aye and on paper anyway it was a strong looking Well side , Carswell ,Humphrey and McHugh all in the team. Saunders and Francis-Angol were also playing . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 25, 2013 Report Share Posted March 25, 2013 Aye and on paper anyway it was a strong looking Well side , Carswell ,Humphrey and McHugh all in the team. Saunders and Francis-Angol were also playing . It was, and you can add Asghar, Erwin and Murray to that list, as they are tipped for stepping up! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted March 28, 2013 Report Share Posted March 28, 2013 U/20's playing St Mirren tonight at FP 7pm KO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted March 29, 2013 Report Share Posted March 29, 2013 Beat again 0-1 . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted March 29, 2013 Report Share Posted March 29, 2013 Adam Ashgar out on loan to Dumbarton. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 29, 2013 Report Share Posted March 29, 2013 Do U20 managers have the same results-based pressure as first-team gaffers? If so, JJ must be on a shoogley peg. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted March 30, 2013 Report Share Posted March 30, 2013 Do U20 managers have the same results-based pressure as first-team gaffers? If so, JJ must be on a shoogley peg. A very young and inexperienced under 20 squad this season so its going tae be tough for them ,should get a better picture next season . Over and above that the whole youth set up was revamped so its very much a transition phase at the moment. So for me JJ is safe . On another note anyone have any idea how the young Morton player who was on trial with us a few months ago did ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted April 2, 2013 Report Share Posted April 2, 2013 U/20's at home to Aberdeen this afternoon, 2pm KO. Reckon a strong 'Well side will be in action. Feel the club missed a trick here and should have tried to have game played yesterday at 2pm, when most people were off. I accept there are alternatives and it's a family day but I think it would have brought in a fair crowd compared to 2pm today. Another wee complaint in as much that there have been no refreshment kiosks open at the last couple of games, when it's been baltic. Even just opening and serving tea, coffee or Bovril would help. If it costs too much vis a vis staff costs why not use catering jugs in one of the hospitality suites and charge folk £1 a cup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan09 Posted April 2, 2013 Report Share Posted April 2, 2013 is there any reason as to why our under 20's team is so bad? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noah Dosser Posted April 2, 2013 Report Share Posted April 2, 2013 U/ 20's lost 0-4 to Aberdeen. Poor performance again, coupled with a bizarre referring performance not a good day for a strong 'Well team. 0-2 at H/ T Cummins sent off minutes after restart. Very disjointed performance and more disappointing as very strong team for this level on show! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...