well-army Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Looking for some famous commentator one liners for something i'm working on for Fatcalf ... So far i have Hugo Sanchez eat your heart out And Motherwell have won the cup in the most dramatic fashion possible. Any others you can think of as my memory aint the greatest when it comes to these things Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "The Helicopter is changing direction" - Peter Martin, 22/05/2005 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Goal for Kilmarnock scored by Number 10 - Dick Turpin. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "Sutton... Jutkiewicz on the chase, might get there... Hanlon is with him... Jutkiewicz... OH WOW! OH WOW! LUKAS JUTKIEWICZ!" 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Don't know if context is appropriate but 'as brave as a Lion' 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "The match reaches tense, last quarter...there's Kirk, now O'Neill, the run made by Cusack there's a FINE EFFORT...Colin O'Neill has scored for Motherwell...a goal of supreme quality" 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
henry Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Tommy McLean. " people have written us off before, tae thur peril "......classic wee Tam. And still applicable today. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Arthur Montford's .................... "Chance of a lifetime for Pettigrew ....... And it's there", as the bold Wullie put one past the Beggars at the Bowl. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tickle Pickle Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Not a favourite of mine but it was always a common one while growing up... "Motherwell nil...." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobWilson (Anchorman) Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 And there's no sign of danger til Redpath fires a snorter! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
orange county dosser Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "a touch of hollywood comes to Perth" - on Ross Forbes goal of the season contender, scored on opening day at St Johnstone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Very good thread this. Keep em coming folks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "Celebrations will go on long into the night in this steel town of Motherwell" as used in the Banter Thiefs' song for the cup final last year. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 And there's no sign of danger til Redpath fires a snorter! This one's a definite Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roly Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "The super sub has done it again!!!!!!" 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
john-mfc Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Anyone no were I can hear the banter thiefs song from the cup final last year ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Dougie Arnott: "Did he mean it??". Referring to Psycho's 57 yarder against Celtic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grant Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 And its an own goal from Craigan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 " A night of emotion, a night of drama". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 "a goal of supreme quality" Haha, those words were uttered by Jock Brown all the time. Similarly "struck with power and accuracy". Actually miss Jock Brown's commentary. Most likely because he's the soundtrack to a few epic wins. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser_fae_the_shire Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 Can Remember "would you believe it, Paul Smith!". From memory this was from a semi against the Mhankies in the 80s. Think we were 2-0 down, brought it back to 2 each then out on penalties (think Softy missed). One of my earliest Well memories. Some of the older yins might be add a wee bit more info about this game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 Can Remember "would you believe it, Paul Smith!". From memory this was from a semi against the Mhankies in the 80s. Think we were 2-0 down, brought it back to 2 each then out on penalties (think Softy missed). One of my earliest Well memories. Some of the older yins might be add a wee bit more info about this game. Ay Walker came on as sub and sold Packy Bonner the most beautiful shimmy without touching the ball, then slotted home the equaliser, fantastic! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser_fae_the_shire Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 What year was that mate? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 What year was that mate? 85-86 ish I think Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 85-86 ish I think 86 I think. Was working a student job beside a Celtic supporter. 2 - 0 down without playing badly. Great comeback. Walker's goal set up by a cracking reverse pass from Martin (if my memory isn't playing tricks). Gahagan missed a great chance in extra time with a weak shot straight at the keeper. Softy hit the underside of the square bar with his pen. Round bar and it would probably have gone in. EDIT: No idea why I wrote Martin! I was thinking Smith - but could be wrong. EDIT EDIT: If you can bear it, a report is on here Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...