mfcdez Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Was so bored in work today , I found myself reading a copy of The Sun in the canteen , and saw in the ' In This Week ' column that it was 15 years ago this week that we signed Namibian sensation Eliphas Shivute . Can't believe it's so long since the big man strutted his stuff at The Arc . Always remember his diving header against Rangers ( deceased ) at Ibrox , wearing the luminous yellow away top , a goal and name that always brings a smile to my face . I know there have been favourite player threads in the past , but was just wondering if anyone else had any favourite players / goals like this that stick in the memory and make you smile ! Mods feel free to remove to HOTD !! . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MotherwellVet89 Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 As far as goals go, one that I always remember which is often forgotten about was Iain Ross' winning goal against Celtic at Fir Park, link here: 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Michael Doesburg and Benny Kemble's celebrations together after good results, especially against the Old Firm, were enough to make them cult heroes IMO. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NottsMFC Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 I loved big Sieb, perfect look for a cult hero with that dodgy tache as well. Remember the chant of 'Sieb Dykstra's barmy army', then 1 game at Fir Park it was just 'Sieb' with the last part left out, went on for ages, loved it! Was always up for swinging on the bar when requested too. Trying to smuggle his Siamese cats in from Holland was quality, mental but pure brilliant! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Hugh Sproat for "Shuggie, Shuggie - swing on the bar" and for getting involved in a snowball fight behind the goals at Muirton Park during the game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Browni Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 I loved big Sieb, perfect look for a cult hero with that dodgy tache as well. Remember the chant of 'Sieb Dykstra's barmy army' I remember a game where we did it for ages, pretty sure it was at Tannadice and when he let in a goal the Dundee U fans started chanting it back at us! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Way too many to pic a No.1 from. My 1st was Jimmy Wilson, and the rest is history. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Super Cooper, the spark that lit the fire. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcdez Posted September 10, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Special , I realise that most people may have many such favourite players , was meaning more a particular goal or moment by one of them that sticks out , like shuggie swinging on the bar as has been mentioned , or one of psycho's many moments , like the elbow to peter grant , or conducting the singing doon the east . Still maybe doesn't help narrow it down for some people with as many years following the team as yourself mind ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 An obvious as the moment is, McFadden's big daft grin after he got the captains armband after the hat-trick has always stuck out for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 This Legend Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Always had a soft spot for Johnny Gahagan, since watching a compilation of Well games showed him jumping up and down celebrating another goal.........usually behind the goals as a sub! Always stuck in my mind as it showed how much it meant to him even when he wasn't playing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 I remember a game where we did it for ages, pretty sure it was at Tannadice and when he let in a goal the Dundee U fans started chanting it back at us! Scottish Cup game at Tannadice. Big Softy equalising in the last minute queue some Mayhem at final whistle. Goes without saying that big Sieb was my hero. Loved wee Psycho and Dougie Arnott also. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Miodrag Krivocapic celebrating after scoring at Easter road an absolute legend of a defender but anybody that bet on him scoring mustve been loaded Video doesnt really show it but his celebration up onto the hoardings with us was memorable http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_ambgnSqRI 93-95 we were spoiled team littered with legends for that generation just remembered the Tommy Coyne (ma Lord) duping Dunfermline?(maybe St mirren) at Fir Park by kneeling down and tieing his boot laces, as the were doubling up on him, thru ball and he had the couple of yards he needed to beat them from the half way line Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Way too many to pic a No.1 from. My 1st was Jimmy Wilson, and the rest is history. Oh yes! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maplewell Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 An obvious as the moment is, McFadden's big daft grin after he got the captains armband after the hat-trick has always stuck out for me. I agree with this, his cheeky penalty kick that day as well will stick in the memory Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Has to be Shivute...hence the avatar! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 big mitch 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Remember going to a game at firhill in the early 90s, and chanting SIEB dijkstra's barmy army.... For what seemed ages! Real cult legend. Remember he'd like to dribble by centre forwards too, which was scary! That's going back to when we were in the enclosure under the main stand. Does anyone have the sorb dijkstra goals top that they would lend or sell me? Was thinking of dressing as him for Halloween. I would have had it, but went to fir park with my gran who said "you could spit peas through it" and wouldn't let me buy it. Softy was always a hero of mine, favourite moments were the equaliser at tannadice, and a 35 yard daisy cutter v Dunfermline at fir park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Last post by: Posted September 10, 2012 Report Share Posted September 10, 2012 Freddie D in the club shop..... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 This Legend Didn't know the Flask signed for Levante! Funnily enough, none of their fans over there mentioned him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 Stevie Kirk http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezrW_DA2H6g 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 After Anton Rogan had kicked Cooper up & down the park Cooper picking the ball up & handing it to Rogan saying that's the ball there. & not forgetting Luc NIjholt's hairdo was 'Action Man with real hair & eagle eye'. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigColin08 Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 There where so many heroes in the 90s from Tommy coyne To Dougie Arnott, Dykstra,SoftyRab McKinnon but for me there was only Skelator Brian Martin Solid Defender But then again 93 through to 95/96 we where spoiled for choice Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted September 11, 2012 Report Share Posted September 11, 2012 There where so many heroes in the 90s from Tommy coyne To Dougie Arnott, Dykstra,SoftyRab McKinnon but for me there was only Skelator Brian Martin Solid Defender But then again 93 through to 95/96 we where spoiled for choice Aye until the the Ginger Tosser came in and dismantled it all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...