makaveli Posted October 13, 2012 Report Share Posted October 13, 2012 So what your saying then, is that we should seat the rangers and celtic fans there when they play at fir park? great idea... yes! they do that either end anyway thats what makes that stand so shite! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted October 13, 2012 Report Share Posted October 13, 2012 So what your saying then, is that we should seat the rangers and celtic fans there when they play at fir park? But shyte doesn't burn Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted October 13, 2012 Report Share Posted October 13, 2012 The Phil O'Donnell stand is exempt from fire regulations as it can't be fire proofed because of its age... When I was working in the stadium as ground staff we couldnt use the power washer as the water would pour thru into the offices and faculties below meaning we had to do the seats in that stand by hand... If the water can pour through into the the rooms below I'm sure any fire in the rooms below would easily break though and cause a Bradford type fire in the stands... Given the height of the pod and the age of most the fans in the stand it takes little imagination to imagine the casualties if it were to happen What fire regulations and - in detail - why is it exempt as I'd love to know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 I do come home from time to time you know, and go to the games. The only place I get legroom these days is at the cinema. If you think theres no room at St Mirrens ground then you are too used to the facilities in America. I have no love for the Midden or their shitey/shiney stadium, but it certainly has more leg room than the rest of the competition Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 The Taylor Report detailed certain specifications regarding seat structures, pitch, leg room etc.. Apparently Rugby Park was one of the 1st post Taylor stadia redevelopments, (built to the minimum specs), which were subsequently modified as a result of the cramped environment created in darkest Ayrshire. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 What fire regulations and - in detail - why is it exempt as I'd love to know. Can't remember the the exact details but something to do with not being able to fire proof a large section under the seating of the Phil O'Donnell and the wooden seats being against regulation but being aloud due to the fact the stand was exempt and because they couldnt put in any other kind of seat because of the shape of the stand... It was over 4 years ago I worked there so exact details are abut vague Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Montrose Well Fan Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 yeah we should move. build somin like one of these: http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_menu/past_future/future_stadiums.shtml Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 Ach what the hell...seen this one recently..has the holy grail of pissy wee new stadiums...'filled in corners'..only 12k seats too which is ideal for us. http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_menu/past_future/pictures/future_stadiums/rotherham_newyork.shtml Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 Ach what the hell...seen this one recently..has the holy grail of pissy wee new stadiums...'filled in corners'..only 12k seats too which is ideal for us. http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_menu/past_future/pictures/future_stadiums/rotherham_newyork.shtml Would be nice, but cost 25 million. More than 3 times the cost of a Barr effort like St. Mirren Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted October 14, 2012 Report Share Posted October 14, 2012 I still think sharing the ground might be the way to go.....having concerts....renting out office space....works well out here...but you would need at least a 27k stadium something like this... http://www.skilledpark.com.au/ at the 'Craig site would be good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted October 15, 2012 Report Share Posted October 15, 2012 I still think sharing the ground might be the way to go.....having concerts....renting out office space....works well out here...but you would need at least a 27k stadium something like this... http://www.skilledpark.com.au/ at the 'Craig site would be good. Aye just don't build a multi million dollar centre of excellence right outside the front door Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted October 15, 2012 Report Share Posted October 15, 2012 Aye just don't build a multi million dollar centre of excellence right outside the front door Ah forgot about that...that's the Titans RL for ye Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted October 15, 2012 Report Share Posted October 15, 2012 Can't remember the the exact details but something to do with not being able to fire proof a large section under the seating of the Phil O'Donnell and the wooden seats being against regulation but being aloud due to the fact the stand was exempt and because they couldnt put in any other kind of seat because of the shape of the stand... It was over 4 years ago I worked there so exact details are abut vague Was that where you honed your smoking skills? No fire here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted October 15, 2012 Report Share Posted October 15, 2012 Some amount of pish on this thread. 'There's no leg room in new stadiums!' Jeesy peeps. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted October 16, 2012 Report Share Posted October 16, 2012 Some amount of pish on this thread. 'There's no leg room in new stadiums!' Jeesy peeps. Aye, but you're probably one of those people that thinks there's leg room on a plane too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted October 17, 2012 Report Share Posted October 17, 2012 Aye, but you're probably one of those people that thinks there's leg room on a plane too. I'm 6'4, there's no leg room anywhere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliePettigrew Posted October 18, 2012 Report Share Posted October 18, 2012 AZ Alkmaar stadium 17,000 seats a scaled down version say 10 or 12000 of this would be great. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scott_mfc Posted October 19, 2012 Report Share Posted October 19, 2012 I'd go for either of these Kalmaar in Sweden, holds 10k http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/sweden/kalmar_guldfageln.shtml Odd Grenlank in Norway. Nice steep stands and capacity of 13,500 http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/norway/skien_odd.shtml Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted October 19, 2012 Report Share Posted October 19, 2012 I'd go for either of these Kalmaar in Sweden, holds 10k http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/sweden/kalmar_guldfageln.shtml Odd Grenlank in Norway. Nice steep stands and capacity of 13,500 http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/norway/skien_odd.shtml Those are both cracking wee grounds, but when you see that the Kalmaar cost over 22 million quid, then there is no chance of ever seeing us build a similar one. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dinnae-punt-it Posted June 4, 2013 Report Share Posted June 4, 2013 An interesting wee stadium........11000. Re-built stand by stand, while still in use. http://www.archdaily.com/380405/pasaron-stadium-acxt-arquitectos/ I know concrete would float everyone's boat, but like the scale of the interior. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted June 4, 2013 Report Share Posted June 4, 2013 I'm 6'4, there's no leg room anywhere. Try being 6'7" ..... no effin head room either Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burn_Broomfield Posted June 4, 2013 Report Share Posted June 4, 2013 AZ's AFAS Stadion is a belter, just on the edge of Alkmaar. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted June 4, 2013 Report Share Posted June 4, 2013 An interesting wee stadium........11000. Re-built stand by stand, while still in use. http://www.archdaily.com/380405/pasaron-stadium-acxt-arquitectos/ I know concrete would float everyone's boat, but like the scale of the interior. That is pretty jammin for a modern wee stadium. Far to pessimistic to think we'd ever get something like that though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PennsylvaniaDosser Posted June 4, 2013 Report Share Posted June 4, 2013 1370377380[/url'>' post='385335']An interesting wee stadium........11000. Re-built stand by stand, while still in use. http://www.archdaily...xt-arquitectos/ I know concrete would float everyone's boat, but like the scale of the interior. An interesting stadium. That concrete should help resonate the crowd sound. Wonder how loud it is inside there. Another article on the stadium is here: http://www.insidespa...ron-pontevedra/ Cost 18 million Euros to build. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted June 4, 2013 Report Share Posted June 4, 2013 An interesting wee stadium........11000. Re-built stand by stand, while still in use. http://www.archdaily.com/380405/pasaron-stadium-acxt-arquitectos/ I know concrete would float everyone's boat, but like the scale of the interior. Looks pretty decent. Concrete isnt any uglier than breezeblock! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...