nethertonwellfan Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Very enjoyable game today. Had to talk myself into going around 2pm. Glad I went now. Had a great wee jump around when Lasley scored. Haven't done that in a long while! Did you enjoy the HI goal Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desp Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Yes. Not as much as the last minute save from HO though. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 feck me that was a great game best of all was the 3 points for the Well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dmacd1 Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Thoroughly enjoyed that today. Agree pretty much with most the previous comments. We dominated huge chunks of that game, nothing we could do about their first, and scoring 3 goals is always good. No real stand outs for me, suppose Hollis for saves at end and the boys for taking their chances. As said before what was Hateley playing at giving away that corner??? They always looked dangerous from corners. The one thing I would say is we have a huge chunk of our fans whom I dont think could ever be pleased. Moan about everything McCall does, normally moaning about lack of sub activity. Today its 2-2 and changes are made and folk are moaning their faces off about it, and guess what....3-2 We are not an enormous club. We are in 3rd place. Lets get behind the manager and players. No ones perfect. Cracking day though. Cant wait for Tuesday Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 At last McCall makes the right substitutions at the right time. Some save from Hollis at the end. Hately gives me the fears right now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Did anyone else in the ground think they were the right subs at the time? Hateley is pish. This is not new. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Thoroughly enjoyed that today. Agree pretty much with most the previous comments. We dominated huge chunks of that game, nothing we could do about their first, and scoring 3 goals is always good. No real stand outs for me, suppose Hollis for saves at end and the boys for taking their chances. As said before what was Hateley playing at giving away that corner??? They always looked dangerous from corners. The one thing I would say is we have a huge chunk of our fans whom I dont think could ever be pleased. Moan about everything McCall does, normally moaning about lack of sub activity. Today its 2-2 and changes are made and folk are moaning their faces off about it, and guess what....3-2 We are not an enormous club. We are in 3rd place. Lets get behind the manager and players. No ones perfect. Cracking day though. Cant wait for Tuesday We are all Stuart McCall..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Did anyone else in the ground think they were the right subs at the time? Hateley is pish. This is not new. Cant say i agreed at the time, but i do think ZFA had a great game when he got on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 First two subs were like for like when we were winning, so no complaints there. The third one was bordering on bizarre but it forced us to play it a wee bit more crisper and on the deck, given their three defenders were mopping up anything with height that was, in hindsight, an inspired change. Of course the moment we went 3-2 up we wanted Higdon back for defending set plays. My only concern was the shiting it episode when we went 2-1 up as we clearly didn't know what to do from a position of ascendancy but from that setback we did bounce back well. Good three points, hopefully curse of home results broken and we move onto a huge game next week. Not lost in five or six weeks now, so confidence should be improving. Hollis isn't as commanding at cross balls and corners as Randolph but has shown himself an able deputy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Did anyone else in the ground think they were the right subs at the time? Hateley is pish. This is not new. I actually thought he had one eye on Tues. Hateley has been brutal for months. Hopefully Ramsden can put a wee bit of pressure on him... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Interesting to see Angol coming on for a player other than his ususl straight swap for Hammell to give further options in midfield and up front. Superb shot from Quinn but enjoyed the chance to see 'Well win at home again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 I actually thought he had one eye on Tues. Hateley has been brutal for months. Hopefully Ramsden can put a wee bit of pressure on him... +1 for me with that..Hateley is feckin brutal just now...but the whole back line apart from Hutch is a bomb scare it needs to be sorted 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Law and Higdon both had knocks maybe forced the subs . 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 Great result and badly needed. Hopefully we can take a bit of confidence from that into Tuesday night. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 I'd say that a screamer and an unfortunate concession aside, this was one of the most pleasing home displays in a long time. Great performances all round, especially from Lasley, who had the best game of his season, and Humphrey and Higdon, who are in my opinion somewhat moronically targeted by some Fir Park boo boys. Good to get the home victory monkey off the backs before Tuesday's match as well. I enjoy the little press coverage we frequently get, as it still leads to us surprising some managers, and saves the fans winding up like the fans of say Aberdeen or Hearts, expecting success. I do have one minor qualm though. Why does Daley get torrents of abuse, yet Bob McHugh gets off scot free? I see neither as being better/worse/more or less effective than the other, but for some reason Daley is almost loathed at times, whereas McHugh gets positivity. Is it a local thing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 I would sum it up by saying we were brilliant and shite in equal measure. Our attacking play at times was a joy. Our defending at times was abysmal. We were playing well in the 1st half and should have been ahead. Then we get the 2nd goal in the 2nd minute of the 2nd half and after that instead of taking confidence we play gash. Ross Counties 2nd goal was coming as we seem to give teams acres of space on the edge of our box to shoot at will. Higdon had a very good game as is the norm these days, but once he was subbed we were forced to play the ball on the deck and hey presto we were a revelation and probably deserved the 3 points. Average season if you believe the pundits, but one point behind ICT and ahead of Hibs and Aberdeen who have been getting MOST of the plaudits. Ross County were an extremely hard working team and no-one will win easy against them...that is for sure. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted December 8, 2012 Report Share Posted December 8, 2012 It has been covered millions of times before but....................thank Christ we are not in the bottom 3 or what would our crowds be? Sitting top half and home crowds of 3000+. I know it is Xmas and I know there is a perilous economy, but I was taken by some comments early in the thread about fans having to get themselves up for even attending - WTF Home results have not been great, but the performances themselves have not been that bad. I drive through (or more accurately get driven through) from Edinburgh. I was looking forward to the game today..... This is not a post about who suppoprts the team more or is a better supporter. I just wish more would get up for the home games and I hope we get a decent turn out for Tuesday night given the prices and the importance of the game... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 Said before it I'd take a shitty 1-0 but magic seeing some goals at FP after that barren spell & fair play to County who everyone has been slaughtering as a park the bus team. Mind you, anyone who parks the bus against us, especially at Fir Park, rather than just having a good go at our iffy defence really hasn't done their homework. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 It has been covered millions of times before but....................thank Christ we are not in the bottom 3 or what would our crowds be? Much the same, probably. Our crowds have never gone up or down all that much however well or badly we're doing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 It has been covered millions of times before but....................thank Christ we are not in the bottom 3 or what would our crowds be? This is not a post about who suppoprts the team more or is a better supporter. I just wish more would get up for the home games and I hope we get a decent turn out for Tuesday night given the prices and the importance of the game... The same, I'm afraid. As disappointing as our crowds can be (and indeed are) we don't fluctuate that much. ETA - Apologies, utterly irrelevant reply, being as Numpty already made my point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 I do have one minor qualm though. Why does Daley get torrents of abuse, yet Bob McHugh gets off scot free? I see neither as being better/worse/more or less effective than the other, but for some reason Daley is almost loathed at times, whereas McHugh gets positivity. Is it a local thing? Cos Daley is shite, and Bob has potential and needs game time to progress. Its clearly obvious! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 ZFA looked really sharp and composed when he came on - would be nice to see how he links up with Hammell on the left with a run in the team. Humphrey was absolutely outstanding yesterday, best game I think I've seen him have in a well jersey. Guess that's the problem with wingers though - they're either brilliant or awful, you never seem to see a winger having an "awrite" game. Law's goal was a corker, fine bit of skill - and the build up and finish for lasley's goal equally as good. Hollis - saved us the 3 points after Hateley's fuck up. Take a bow son - you did well. The players were delighted with him at full time as well 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 I do have one minor qualm though. Why does Daley get torrents of abuse, yet Bob McHugh gets off scot free? I see neither as being better/worse/more or less effective than the other, but for some reason Daley is almost loathed at times, whereas McHugh gets positivity. Is it a local thing? For me, simply because McHugh can be arsed, Daley can't. Good to get the monkey of our back yesterday. Lasley had the best game he's had in a long time and I thought both wingers were great again and quality from Higdon yet again, we've definitely not had a player who's scored eleven goals before Christmas in my time going to games. Wasn't sure about McCall's subs at time but it was one of those moments that reminds you why he's the manager and we're the punters in the stand. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaka Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 I said to my old man at the game that we were equal to a man down wi Humph for most of the 2 nd half cause no matter what , we refused to feed him. Then when we do he creates a goal! The space he had,if wed bothered to use him more we could have had 1 or 2 more. ZFA was great in his cameo n Higdon took.gis goal superbly. Biggest gripe was our fucking inability to do simple defensive duties. Ross County had 5 or 6 free shots from the edge of the box and just before their 2nd I said Quinn or Vigurs were going to score before long and miraculously they did. Do we ever fucking learn? N Hateley is fucking awful,if Fraser plays on tues he's gona rape Hateley silly 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted December 9, 2012 Report Share Posted December 9, 2012 One thing that did irk me yesterday was our failure to shut down Quinn for the first goal. The strike was a worldly, yes, could Hollis have stopped it, no, could we have prevented it being taken, yes. Don't know what benefit we think standing off someone in that area has, we never learned our lesson from the same thing when Grainger scored against us at Tynecastle and because both strikes were executed superbly there's never any mention the poor attempts to close down. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...