SteelmaninOZ Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 I think we can all agree that he can play on the left and.... he plays for Motherwell FC ....yes? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 I think we can all agree that he can play on the left and.... he plays for Motherwell FC ....yes? Forums are all about opinions ? Nobody ever sees it the same ? naw ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 Forums are all about opinions ? Nobody ever sees it the same ? naw ? Aye agree Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 I think we can all agree that he can play on the left and.... he plays for Motherwell FC ....yes? But you are quite right !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaka Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 no idea where this notion he cant defend comes from. Yesterday he made 2 or 3 good blocks and his covering at times shows he can read the game pretty well for a raw 19yo kid, going forward his use of the ball + powerful running is a massive plus so he is a very useful weapon for us and has the potential to develop into a real player Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 I think we are in danger of building this guy up a bit too much. He's come in and done reasonably well. I agree with the school of thought that he's not a left back and would be better up the pitch a bit. He played well on Saturday and if he keeps his place in the team for the Kilmarnock match he deserves it. But some folk need to calm it a bit with 'Hammell is finished now' talk. Stevie Hammell has had a couple of ropey matches but he's also had 300+ games as good as anything Francis-Angol has produced in his short career. Give the guy time to develop, he's a teenager and still has a lot to learn. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 I dont see why it needs to be a 'Hammil or ZFA' debate. ZFA's best attributes seem to be going forward and attacking. The chances are Murphy will be off soon anyway. ZFA can play left wing and leave hammy at left back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 ZFA is not the finished article but we seem to play some excellent stuff when he is on the park. Can't just be a coincidence. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 ZFA is not the finished article but we seem to play some excellent stuff when he is on the park. Can't just be a coincidence. Not a coincidence at all. When he plays we get a left footer in an advanced position, bringing some natural width where we usually have none. Hammell rarely gets to the bye-line these days, so it's good to have an option like ZFA to bring some much needed width in the final 3rd. The lad's done well, and hopefully can continue to build on his performances and progress. To say Stevie Hammell is done is just daft. ZFA is young and WILL be inconsistent. We need Hammell's experience and delivery, but it's absolutely brilliant to have an additional option down the left who can play instead of or in front of one of the most consistent players in the league. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 27, 2012 Report Share Posted December 27, 2012 He is certainly not a left back, we were left exposed a few times because he had pushed so far forward. He is an exciting young player who seems more at home playing in the oppositions 18 yard box. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted December 28, 2012 Report Share Posted December 28, 2012 When is he contracted until?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted December 28, 2012 Report Share Posted December 28, 2012 end of the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted December 28, 2012 Report Share Posted December 28, 2012 End of the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted December 28, 2012 Report Share Posted December 28, 2012 I would say hes done enough to warrant a new contract then IMO. Cant imagine he would be looking for the big bucks just yet. Touch wood Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted December 30, 2012 Report Share Posted December 30, 2012 Yesterday game was a very powerful argument for giving ZFA a run at left back. Stevie Hammell was all over the place and his blunder cost us the second goal. He's now had a hand in a worrying amount of the goals we've lost this term. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted December 30, 2012 Report Share Posted December 30, 2012 Felt sorry for the young boy not getting any game time yesterday after his display v Aberdeen. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted January 2, 2013 Report Share Posted January 2, 2013 Again, for ZFA (said in a couple of threads), I've heard that he is indeed highly rated, but has leg problems of some sort which have led to him 'dropping' to our level, as opposed to at least a mid range club, after leaving Spurs, as he'd be dubious on the ability to pass a medical front. I like him, despite (or perhaps due to) his clear rawness. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted January 2, 2013 Report Share Posted January 2, 2013 whits the problem? his legs no long enough? as opposed to a mid range club, Holy shit! I'm out 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted January 2, 2013 Report Share Posted January 2, 2013 It's like 'one flew over the cuckoos nest' on here Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted January 2, 2013 Report Share Posted January 2, 2013 Just hip issues apparently. Along the lines of the "weak ankles" or "bad knees" stories that we've all heard from folk who never made it. And by mid range, I essentially mean Championship. Not many people drop from the Premiership's higher regions into the SPL, without a trial or similar at a level higher than the SPL. I hope my source was wrong/we get lucky, but I'm relatively sure that Angol wont be a good sell-on, sadly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted January 2, 2013 Report Share Posted January 2, 2013 It's the first I've heard of any niggles concerning ZFA though in the eighteen months or so he's been with the club, that's not to say there isn't any truth to what you say. But two things spring to mind. How did he pass a medical at Fir Park and the tale of Chris Porter, a player whom Oldham fans had plenty to say about his alleged fitness, or lack of, and we managed to a get a return of something like £400,000 for. Suppose time will tell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted January 2, 2013 Report Share Posted January 2, 2013 It's the first I've heard of any niggles concerning ZFA though in the eighteen months or so he's been with the club, that's not to say there isn't any truth to what you say. But two things spring to mind. How did he pass a medical at Fir Park and the tale of Chris Porter, a player whom Oldham fans had plenty to say about his alleged fitness, or lack of, and we managed to a get a return of something like £400,000 for. Suppose time will tell. I'm on board with the middle ideas, especially the Porter one, as he was highly regarded as unfit before he appeared with us, by the Oldham fans. We, as a club, in my opinion, in recent years, have been phenomenally good at managing training and the general health of the squad in order to manage illnesses/minor niggles. If you look at our first team, we're very very rarely without members of it, outwith lengthy absences (say 4 weeks or more), so it's perhaps an offshoot of that, for players like Porter. Again, what I've heard may be utter bullshit, but it's something to keep in the back of the mind perhaps. No more than that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...