PettyWulliegrew Posted February 15, 2009 Report Share Posted February 15, 2009 Apparently its going to cost £200,000 etc etc to sort the park out, ie re turf etc .....Why dont we invest in "Stadium Grow Light Concept" (Artifical lights to grow grass)which they use in the Premiership/Smeltic park........canae be that expensive ????? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted February 15, 2009 Report Share Posted February 15, 2009 Aidrie have confirmed they plan to lay an artificial playing surface, maybe we can buy thier pitch. We can cover the costs of a case of Buckfast. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gunn Posted February 15, 2009 Report Share Posted February 15, 2009 Aidrie have confirmed they plan to lay an artificial playing surface, maybe we can buy thier pitch. We can cover the costs of a case of Buckfast. Thats a bit shite!! At least put in 10 mayfair!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PettyWulliegrew Posted February 15, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 15, 2009 Aidrie have confirmed they plan to lay an artificial playing surface, maybe we can buy thier pitch. We can cover the costs of a case of Buckfast. Its ok, yer allowed plastic in the 2nd division ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
keeman Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 what about red ash ? could we put that down until the end of the season lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Apparently its going to cost £200,000 etc etc to sort the park out, ie re turf etc .....Why dont we invest in "Stadium Grow Light Concept" (Artifical lights to grow grass)which they use in the Premiership/Smeltic park........canae be that expensive ????? http://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/ind...ost&p=32228 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PettyWulliegrew Posted February 16, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 what about red ash ? could we put that down until the end of the season lol Think of the cost of Iodine to get rid of those ash burns......Again the big park down The Calder,,,,flat as a pancake !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Why artificial playing surfaces aren't allowed in the SPL is a total mystery. My dad was telling me that they were near queueing round the block to play on their plastic surface. Its a brilliant idea, the one at Hamilton/Dunfermline was as good as a real surface, so whats the problem? From a business point of view, it'd be a brilliant money spinner for the club. I know I'd love to pay with another 21 mates to play at Fir Park for an hour or two. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Why artificial playing surfaces aren't allowed in the SPL is a total mystery. My dad was telling me that they were near queueing round the block to play on their plastic surface. Its a brilliant idea, the one at Hamilton/Dunfermline was as good as a real surface, so whats the problem? Not that simple I'm afraid. I can't speak for Hamilton but Dunfermline installed it purely for commercial reasons. The surface was shocking and the players hated it as they picked up more injuries. Big Terry said in fact that when we were playing at East End Park there were some players he couldn't pick because of it. I recall one CIS Cup game there played in freeezing conditions and the all weather surface was anything but. The ball would hit it then ricchet off it at unpredictable angles. A good idea but we're not quite there yet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 We need a roof! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
elky Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Need money tae clean the stairs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Not that simple I'm afraid. I can't speak for Hamilton but Dunfermline installed it purely for commercial reasons. The surface was shocking and the players hated it as they picked up more injuries. Big Terry said in fact that when we were playing at East End Park there were some players he couldn't pick because of it. I recall one CIS Cup game there played in freeezing conditions and the all weather surface was anything but. The ball would hit it then ricchet off it at unpredictable angles. A good idea but we're not quite there yet. Put in my place then. The technology isn't far away though, I don't remember hearing bad things about the Hamilton pitch, didn't England and Russia play on an artificial pitch as well? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Can someone in the know explain exactly what has gone wrong? I take it the undersoil heating was never properly repaired and the tonnes of clay under it are still there. Why is the hot air bubble destroying the grass? I'm not asking so I can have an informed greet and moan. Was just hoping if we can all ascertain the problem with the pitch, then hopefully we can work out a solution. Grow Light bulbs and a decent artificial surface are two sound suggestions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 I presume the balloon is melting the frost and creating a lot of moisture on the pitch, which, when trained upon as it's the only field in the area that isn't frozen, causes it to cut up helluva easy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WishyWell Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Put in my place then. The technology isn't far away though, I don't remember hearing bad things about the Hamilton pitch, didn't England and Russia play on an artificial pitch as well? It was well known at the Hamilton Advertiser at the time that the Accies players hated playing on the artificial pitch, but the paper were too scared to print that in case the top brass at the club fell out with them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 Yet they have that to thank of being in this league Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
studos Posted February 16, 2009 Report Share Posted February 16, 2009 I presume the balloon is melting the frost and creating a lot of moisture on the pitch, which, when trained upon as it's the only field in the area that isn't frozen, causes it to cut up helluva easy. Spoke with a groundsman and he told me the problem with the pitch is that due to the bubble being up and hot air blasting away 24/7 the pitch is as dry as a witches tit, therefore it cuts up easily. I'm told that once the frosty weather lifts the covers will come off and old mother nature will take over. It'll all be yesterdays news the morra. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted February 18, 2009 Report Share Posted February 18, 2009 Spoke with a groundsman and he told me the problem with the pitch is that due to the bubble being up and hot air blasting away 24/7 the pitch is as dry as a witches tit, therefore it cuts up easily. I'm told that once the frosty weather lifts the covers will come off and old mother nature will take over. It'll all be yesterdays news the morra. Cheers. So basically hot air bubbles don't work. Someone says the team are training on it as well. Is there no all weather surface somewhere local? For instance, Bathgate Acadmy has a good artificial pitch that is well used by various clubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
niall Posted February 18, 2009 Report Share Posted February 18, 2009 there is a 3G pitch at Dalziel Park Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted February 18, 2009 Report Share Posted February 18, 2009 And Mark McGee is on record saying we have used the all weather pitch at Wishaw. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted February 18, 2009 Report Share Posted February 18, 2009 there is a 3G pitch at Dalziel Park Where? Unless it's been installed in the past week, they've only the first generation astroturf up there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted February 18, 2009 Report Share Posted February 18, 2009 there is a 3G pitch at Dalziel Park Where abouts is that? I havent been up for ages and it was that sandy pish last time i was up, has it been replaced? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 19, 2009 Report Share Posted February 19, 2009 For this auld bugger at least astro grass means sitting out games later on due to damage to the knees. It's well known the hard surfaces cause long term damage so why anyone would subject pros to it regularly is beyond me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...