GrahamH Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Or it could be that Sheffield United still have other candidates to speak to. Edit: too slow! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well 4 Europe Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 #Motherwell manager Stuart McCall was interviewed by #sheffieldunited last night. He is awaiting their decision. #sufc #well #blades 4:52pm - 23 May 13 From Scott Burns twitter, sounds like McCall wants the job and is indeed waiting to hear back from Sheffield United. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 The board of Directors have been pretty good in selecting the last few managers who have, despite a few personal lapses from the managers themselves, been good for the club. I will trust the same directors to keep this trend going and will pick the right man for the job. I for one have faith in our board as I believe they have done a sterling job in the last few years despite some barracking on here from some. Keep up the good work in difficult financial times. Although it's crucial to have the right manager I think it is just as important to have the right directors steering the club in these troubled days and they have acquitted themselves well. Agree - with one proviso:- how much input did John Boyle personally have in selection, and would he have any now? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Well Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Not sure he would have any sway as he doesn't have a seat on the board..What difference does it make..?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 John Collins and John Hughes are a pair of duds. Plenty of good potential replacements out there. Keep the heid. Oh aye? You've been quick to criticise everybody else's suggestions, so you name some for consideration so we can all do likewise! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Oh aye? You've been quick to criticise everybody else's suggestions, so you name some for consideration so we can all do likewise! To be fair, Frazzle nailed his colours to the Joe Jordan mast a couple of pages ago. As unrealistic as that is, he has stated that as his preferred choice... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Looking at those tweets, can I just say that ain't exactly going to tell them what's happening before telling the club. So I don't know why their bothering asking the question. I hope he decides that Fir Park is the place to be but if he goes, then Good luck to him. We'll move onto the next part of the rollercoaster. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Elvis will enter the building Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 See on one of the Sheffield boards, there is a rumour that there'll be an announcement tomorrow. Expecting to hear McCall as the new boss and another that he'll be signing Higgy and Law and Higginbotham. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 See on one of the Sheffield boards, there is a rumour that there'll be an announcement tomorrow. Expecting to hear McCall as the new boss and another that he'll be signing Higgy and Law and Higginbotham. Squeaky bum time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 I've heard some dude is just a phonecall away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Elvis will enter the building Pressley? Wasn't a name I'd thought of but not averse to the idea... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 1/10 on some betting sites. He is away. Not who I would like to come in, but Owen Coyle would be a good shout. Doubt he would move up here though. Another shout would maybe be Allan Johnston ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 I've heard some dude is just a phonecall away. Expensive phone call. He was in China the last I heard... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Pressley? Wasn't a name I'd thought of but not averse to the idea... Elvis got a move to Coventry a month ago did he not? Hardly about to chuck it already i wouldnt have thought Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
one m in motherwell Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 I'm sure the shortlist will consist of the usual randoms, Gary Mac will probably be on it, might Sbragia be tempted this time too? Pressley is a non-starter, for the reasons already stated. He's not long joined Coventry, so short of him getting punted in the very near future, he's hardly going to want to leave? My preference would be Adams...although admittedly that's very unlikely. We'll no doubt end up with someone who none of us have thought of, who'll bring along a stack of players who we'll also never have heard of - such is the Motherwell way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Elvis got a move to Coventry a month ago did he not? Hardly about to chuck it already i wouldnt have thought They've gone into administration since then. Maybe disillusioned with that and the stadium carry on... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Not for me Pressley. Although his wife would add a bit of glamour Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Not for me Pressley. Although his wife would add a bit of glamour Wouldn't be my first choice but has some things going for him. Willingness to give youth a chance, had Falkirk playing attractive football. As others have said anyway, if McCall leaves then we'll all just be guessing anyway. Don't think anyone would have predicted any of our last four managers when the previous ones left... Guessing is just something we'll do to pass the time until the name is announced... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stef Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 If he does go it would be nice if he didnt "rape" the club and take all our out of contract players (apart from Daley).Of the names mentioned i would prefer if we steered clear of Elvis,Adams,Calderwood(s),McPherson wouldn't mind Hartley or Coyle if he would come. What are peoples opinion on Butcher coming back ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Falkirk fans I know couldnt wait for Pressley to GTF McCall will be back tail between legs, having been played 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Falkirk fans I know couldnt wait for Pressley to GTF McCall will be back tail between legs, having been played The Blades fans definitely want the MK Dons boy. Question is - is there any way back for the wee man. Will it ever be the same now we know he fancies a move away. First bad result, well you can just guess what the patter will be like 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 If he doesn't get it, it doesn't mean he wants every job that comes up - he just wanted this one with a club he has strong links to. He didn't go chasing it but spoke to them following an approach. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 he's not played it very clever so far, couldve easily had it all done on the QT, without the huge press coverage only days before saying how good Motherwell was for him and never speaking to anyone Butcher recovered from his interview jaunt trying to leave ICT. Stuarty will just have to mimic that, tbh, committing and getting the few players to commit who are already hovering will endear him enough as well as the courtesy of acknowledging his undoubted success to date Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fergi4 Posted May 23, 2013 Report Share Posted May 23, 2013 Scottish manager at Rotherham, Evans, done well to win promotion, but are his team going to he competitive in the next league? Motherwell could be a good platform to a bigger move in time if he does well. In middle of a 3yr deal though, so would have to pay to get him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...