Bobby Russell's lovechild Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 Unless I have missed something, why is next week's game live on bbc Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 the something you missed might be the last couple of decades? that's just how it is these days TV companies pay money and show games live to suit their schedule Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 1382280903[/url]' post='397597']the something you missed might be the last couple of decades? that's just how it is these days TV companies pay money and show games live to suit their schedule Looks like BBC Alba get 3 live matches and 35 delayed matches each year - might sit in the house and watch this rather than a trip to Perth, £20 lost to the game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 Looks like BBC Alba get 3 live matches and 35 delayed matches each year Yep. This is just the first year they've taken up their live match option, for some reason. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 With this being a Sunday match at an odd time, on live TV and at St. Johnstone who have been struggling to attract fans I suspect the crowd could be pretty sparse. Maybe even in the 2,000's. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobby Russell's lovechild Posted October 20, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 the something you missed might be the last couple of decades? can't remember the last time we were shown live on a free to air channel for a league game. Didn't realise alba had the three league games contract Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 Looks like BBC Alba get 3 live matches and 35 delayed matches each year - might sit in the house and watch this rather than a trip to Perth, £20 lost to the game? your £22 and many others likely as well, I'll not be there, looking at the schedule a while back the decision was always to sacrifice this one to pick up on a couple of others marginal argument that of all the deals the Alba deal is the preferable, Limited disruption to weekend match scheduling but with decent exposure of the product. shame for St Johnstone, as we've had a good wee crowd up there a few times and an enjoyable few visits. still reckon Sunday 16:05 is preferable to 12:30 the Sunday after at home vs Hibs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 I'm more likely to give the Hibs game at home a miss than the St Johnstone game away through convenience/preference. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
A Well Fan Posted October 20, 2013 Report Share Posted October 20, 2013 Yep. This is just the first year they've taken up their live match option, for some reason. They showed live games last season as well. can't remember the last time we were shown live on a free to air channel for a league game. Didn't realise alba had the three league games contract The Ross County home match at the end of last season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Works perfectly for me as I can watch it at work. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 the something you missed might be the last couple of decades? that's just how it is these days TV companies pay money and show games live to suit their schedule To be fair I think he's asking why it's being shown live rather than on delay like Alba usually do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 To be fair I think he's asking why it's being shown live rather than on delay like Alba usually do. Delayed games are usually played at 3pm on a Saturday, can't show them at that time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Delayed games are usually played at 3pm on a Saturday, can't show them at that time. Yeah, I know that, I'm just saying that I can understand why the OP asked the question. Alba aren't known for their live broadcasts (even if I certainly won't be complaining). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Yeah, I know that, I'm just saying that I can understand why the OP asked the question. Alba aren't known for their live broadcasts (even if I certainly won't be complaining). Just saying that's why they're delayed, have noticed more live games from them though, maybe stepping up after dipping their toe in with the delayed broadcast. Natural progression perhaps? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 Let's hope so. From a purely selfish standpoint I'd like to see more non-bigots games shown on telly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 Whilst it's only last season they picked up the live SPL stuff, it's maybe worth pointing out that Alba have actually been showing a smattering of "non-bigot games" as David puts it, for a good few seasons now in the shape of the Challenge Cup and the SFL play-offs. Certainly they've pounced upon Rangers with them being in the lower leagues to boost viewing figures but if you consider their live games would otherwise not involve either of the Old Firm and they rarely feature in the delayed transmissions; you have woman's fitba if that's your bag and there's Junior Cup then its a reasonable amount of coverage they devote away from the mainstream. I've got a lot of time for Alba's sports coverage. Aside from the live games, and any delayed stuff involving MFC I regularly watch their live rugby showing Glasgow or Edinburgh. They've also been known to chuck out the odd documentary too like that Aberdeen one about them winning the Cup Winners Cup. I would imagine that the amount of time I spend watching sport on Alba, and its relevance to me, far surpasses that on BBC Scotland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 Anytime the 'Well are on ALBA I always record it and watch the half-time feature back - it's far better than anything the mainstream media produce for us wee teams. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 Just hope it's on Radio Scotland too then i'll have commentry as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Anytime the 'Well are on ALBA I always record it and watch the half-time feature back - it's far better than anything the mainstream media produce for us wee teams. This. Definitely far better coverage than sky or BT offer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 They do seem to go for in-depth interviews, normally with someone behind the scenes, to show how the club operates. I've been quite impressed - it's certainly better than pundits talking forever about the least wee thing to kill time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 ALBA's focus for the day is that entire match, and the team probably spend the day setting up etc. BBC/SKY is on the league. If ALBA covered as much as the others then the wee feature wouldn't happen. Definitely a great feature none the less. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...