Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Greg Miller. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Meldrum done a job. was a fairly reliable no2. Wouldn't be near worst 11 He was our number one for a while was he not? I remember him having a long spell playing. There is a few videos on youtube where he is playing and it he is dreadful in all of them. The saint mirren game from the malpas season is a prime example. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
one m in motherwell Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Meldrum was never that bad. I don't think he had a particularly consistent run of games - I remember him stepping in for Buzz on a few occasions but not much more than that. Always struck me as someone who was a reasonably capable pair of hands, certainly not in the same league as Stevie Woods, for example. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 I don’t remember Meldrum being that bad, however, if anyone has video evidence I would be prepared to look at it. We have had far worse goalkeepers over the years with John Gardiner’s name instantly springing to mind. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tottenmfc Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 The only player I would 100% say should be included in this is Bob f*****g Malcolm... an absolute abomination of a footballer and by most (all?) accounts an absolute bellend aswell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Jim Gillespie was fucking brutal, as was John Reilly. Gregor Stevens, Alex Kennedy, Paul Shepstone, Neil Candlish, Robert Clark, Derek Weldon, Jason Dair and Alan Sneddon were all fucking rank From a similar period to some of them, Jamie Doyle is the slowest central midfielder I can remember seeing play for us. Jamie Fairlie was also pretty rotten. We had some right haddies in the 80's as wee Tommy tried to gradually improve the team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Greg Miller. You should get some kind of award for remembering that guy. If you asked me to remember every Motherwell player I'd ever seen I'd have never have plucked him out the old memory. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Who was the boy that came through at the same time as Fagan? Kevin McDonald was it? Used to get pelters. Stevie Nicholas was another waste of money. Kevin McDonald was one of those ones where you 'heard' he was a tremendous player in the reserves and then when he played in the first team he just didn't have it. There are players that when they step up and start playing in front of a crowd they just go into their shell and he was apparently one of those. Stevie Nicholas was a good player that it just didn't work out for at Motherwell. He had injuries and there was a high turn over of different managers at that time which didn't help him. He was in the classic mold of the technically gifted player that struggles for consistency but he wasn't one of the worst ever. He scored a few goals for a start. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 The only player I would 100% say should be included in this is Bob f*****g Malcolm... an absolute abomination of a footballer and by most (all?) accounts an absolute bellend aswell. Aye, and there were multiple posters on here trying to convince me that he was going to be a great signing because of his great ball playing skills. They were pretty quiet after his first few games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Jim Gillespie was fucking brutal, as was John Reilly. John Reilly scored 12 goals in 56 appearances. Not exactly Higgy-esque statistics and he could be as frustrating as hell, but just occasionally he'd score a belter and he was by no means the worst striker we've ever had -- looking at the same era, his strike rate was pretty much identical to Stevie Cowan's (11 in 51) and Andy Walker's (17 in 77), in fact. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted January 13, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 So I've went through over 100 posts and compiled a list, some my be in the wrong position heading, some I need clarification on position, first names, etc. so any help appreciated. Just put a "D", "M" or a "F" beside the name. NB It took me ages GOALKEEPERS: Colin Meldrum John Gardiner Stevie Woods Mikko Kaven John Fallon Cammy Duncan DEFENDERS: Karl Ready AlanAndy Sneddon? (is this someone getting it wrong or are they two separate players?) Jamie Doyle Franz Resch Sasa Curcic Said Chiba Ange Oueifio Alex Burns Gary Bollan Yassin Moutouakil Jonsson Greg Denham Danny Murphy Bobby Donnelly Gary Bollan Eddie Forrest MIDFIELDERS: Chic McClelland Alan Mackin John Muir Gordon "Night" Mair Derek 'Ruby' Murray Paul Keegan Trevor Molloy John Davies Roberto Martinez Trevor Molloy Bob Malcom Eddie May Andy Dow Alex Spark Davie Shanks Pat Gardner Sam Goodwin Alan Gow FORWARDS: Calum Elliot Derek Townsley Davide Ferrerre Andy Roddie John Hendrie Omar Daly Kevin Christie Esteban Casagolda Michael McGlinchy Callum Elliot Paul Keegan Roy Essandoh Richard Offiong Stephen Halliday CAN'T REMEMBER'S/BLANKED FROM MY MIND/BEFORE MY TIME Neil Tarrant Kevin McBride Brian Kerr Robert Maaskant Tony Thomas Angeand Graeme Miller Gunni Jonssen Nysonnen Davie Shanks Jim Gillespie John Reilly Gregor Stevens Alex Kennedy Paul Shepstone Neil Candlish Derek Murray Shaun Fagan Tony Vaughan Robert Clark Derek Weldon Kevin McDonald Paul Wilson Khaled Kemas Jim Gillespie Mike Larnach Stevie Nicholas Jamie Fairlie Greg Millar Jason Dair Jamie Doyle Joni Lehtonen Elroy Kromheer Mario Dorner Abel Thermeus Franck Bernhard Graeme Smith Jan Michels Rob Matthaei Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 I remember seeing Alex Kennedy and Gerry McCabe both getting sent off for fighting, rolling around in the mud in front of me when I stood in the south enclosure. Many years later Alex Kennedy turned up again, on TV in the Junior Cup Final - he got sent off for a tremendous flying head butt! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 kevin christie as a striker is a scary thought. Said chiba was a good player and was miles better than the majority of the rest of our squad when he was her. I don't know why he always gets mentioned,. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mio Krivokapic Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Thought someone would ve mentioned Paul Baker by now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 I would suggest that Townsley, Shivute, Fagan and Ross should all be exempt for scoring in games we didn't lose against the Old Firm, likewise Fitzpatrick for THAT goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Presume that isn't an exhaustive list - just a quick scan and see no sign of Mark Shanks, Jackie McInally or Jumbo Muir Jumbo muir!!!!!! , no fuckin way Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Derek Weldon......signed from shotts bon accord. The story goes he chucked it when he was told to get his hair cut( think he was into motorbikes), poor guy was in a bike smash years ago and ended up paralysed from the neck down. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 I would suggest that Townsley, Shivute, Fagan and Ross should all be exempt for scoring in games we didn't lose against the Old Firm, likewise Fitzpatrick for THAT goal. Aye. We need to get Fitzpatrick out of that, I don't think he is anywhere near as bad as some of those rags o' shite that have been included. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted January 13, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Anyone want to help with that list please? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Having just had a look through that list, the positions are a mile oot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted January 13, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Well rather than have a go, give me a hand FFS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 My offical worst XI. GK Graeme Smith - So dire he got dropped on multiple occasions for Colin Meldrum. DF Alan Sneddon - Quality mouser, shit player. Came to us very much at the end of his career. DF Karl Ready - A player I don't mind calling a complete scumbag and wage thief. Did I mention he was a scumbag? DF Ange Oueifio - One of those occasions when a park level player somehow finds himself playing professional football. DF Gary Bollan - He's fat, he's round, he's....just fat and round. MF Andy Dow - One of those players I'm actually glad had their contracts ripped up when we went into administration. MF Paul Keegan - As Lady Catherine Lamb almost said "Sad, bad and dangerous to watch." MF Kevin McBride - His nickname should have been Kevin 'White Feather' McBride. Biggest shitebag I've ever seen. Could probably make him faint but bursting a crisp packet. FW Andy Roddie - So bad he actually transcended abuse and became a sort of funny likable clown in a Motherwell shirt. Oh Andy! LOL Another miss from half a yard, whit ye like! FW Khaled Kemas - They called him Hammerfoot after a terrific volleyed goal. Unfortunately before and after they mostly called him Shitefoot. FW Trevor Molloy - The Malpas season in a nutshell. If that nutshell was a really crap Irish footballer with the word footballer in inverted commas. Subs. Colin Meldrum - So bad he kept letting Graeme Smith get back into the team to fuck things up. Eddie Forrest - Airdrie bawbag and crime on the eyes. Gunni Jonsson - Gave away a goal with a slack pass back, scored an OG, gave away a penalty and then got sent off in one match. His 2nd and last match. Joni Lehtonen - Or as he should have been known Joni Who-let-him-on. Mario Doerner - As far as most people are concerned the 2nd worst Austrian of all time. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 My offical worst XI. GK Graeme Smith - So dire he got dropped on multiple occasions for Colin Meldrum. DF Alan Sneddon - Quality mouser, shit player. Came to us very much at the end of his career. DF Karl Ready - A player I don't mind calling a complete scumbag and wage thief. Did I mention he was a scumbag? DF Ange Oueifio - One of those occasions when a park level player somehow finds himself playing professional football. DF Gary Bollan - He's fat, he's round, he's....just fat and round. MF Andy Dow - One of those players I'm actually glad had their contracts ripped up when we went into administration. MF Paul Keegan - As Lady Catherine Lamb almost said "Sad, bad and dangerous to watch." MF Kevin McBride - His nickname should have been Kevin 'White Feather' McBride. Biggest shitebag I've ever seen. Could probably make him faint but bursting a crisp packet. FW Andy Roddie - So bad he actually transcended abuse and became a sort of funny likable clown in a Motherwell shirt. Oh Andy! LOL Another miss from half a yard, whit ye like! FW Khaled Kemas - They called him Hammerfoot after a terrific volleyed goal. Unfortunately before and after they mostly called him Shitefoot. FW Trevor Molloy - The Malpas season in a nutshell. If that nutshell was a really crap Irish footballer with the word footballer in inverted commas. Subs. Colin Meldrum - So bad he kept letting Graeme Smith get back into the team to fuck things up. Eddie Forrest - Airdrie bawbag and crime on the eyes. Gunni Jonsson - Gave away a goal with a slack pass back, scored an OG, gave away a penalty and then got sent off in one match. His 2nd and last match. Joni Lehtonen - Or as he should have been known Joni Who-let-him-on. Mario Doerner - As far as most people are concerned the 2nd worst Austrian of all time. That was an entertaining read. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 Great guy, good laugh etc but when it came to playing football Steven McGarry was a bit shit! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted January 13, 2014 Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 McGarry had a superb six months under McGhee. There were several who really benefited from his training methods McGarry more than most. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...