Goggles & Flippers Posted January 13, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 13, 2014 nobody inclined to go through the list I compiled and help me? no? bunch of wideo's ..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 So I've went through over 100 posts and compiled a list, some my be in the wrong position heading, some I need clarification on position, first names, etc. so any help appreciated. Just put a "D", "M" or a "F" beside the name. NB It took me ages GOALKEEPERS: Colin Meldrum John Gardiner Stevie Woods Mikko Kaven John Fallon Cammy Duncan DEFENDERS: Karl Ready AlanAndy Sneddon? (is this someone getting it wrong or are they two separate players?) Dunno who Andy is. Jamie Doyle Franz Resch Sasa Curcic - midfield Said Chiba - midfield Ange Oueifio Alex Burns - striker Gary Bollan Yassin Moutouakil Jonsson Greg Denham Danny Murphy Bobby Donnelly Gary Bollan Eddie Forrest MIDFIELDERS: Chic McClelland Alan Mackin John Muir Gordon "Night" Mair Derek 'Ruby' Murray Paul Keegan - striker Trevor Molloy John Davies Roberto Martinez Trevor Molloy - so bad he's listed twice Bob Malcom Eddie May Andy Dow Alex Spark Davie Shanks Pat Gardner Sam Goodwin Alan Gow - I'd say forward FORWARDS: Calum Elliot Derek Townsley - winger/utility man Davide Ferrerre - left mid Andy Roddie - winger John Hendrie Omar Daly - winger Kevin Christie - defender Esteban Casagolda Michael McGlinchy - winger Callum Elliot Paul Keegan - also listed in midfielders Roy Essandoh Richard Offiong Stephen Halliday CAN'T REMEMBER'S/BLANKED FROM MY MIND/BEFORE MY TIME Neil Tarrant - striker Kevin McBride - right/centre mid Brian Kerr - centre mid Robert Maaskant - centre half Tony Thomas - right back Angeand Graeme Miller Gunni Jonssen - centre half Nysonnen - forward Davie Shanks Jim Gillespie John Reilly Gregor Stevens Alex Kennedy Paul Shepstone Neil Candlish Derek Murray Shaun Fagan - midfield Tony Vaughan - centre half Robert Clark Derek Weldon Kevin McDonald - centre mid Paul Wilson Khaled Kemas - forward Jim Gillespie Mike Larnach Stevie Nicholas - winger Jamie Fairlie Greg Millar - forward Jason Dair - shite everywhere Jamie Doyle Joni Lehtonen - winger Elroy Kromheer - midfield Mario Dorner - forward Abel Thermeus - forward Franck Bernhard - full back Graeme Smith - goalie Jan Michels - midfield Rob Matthaei - midfield Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 So I've went through over 100 posts and compiled a list, some my be in the wrong position heading, some I need clarification on position, first names, etc. so any help appreciated. Just put a "D", "M" or a "F" beside the name. NB It took me ages GOALKEEPERS: Colin Meldrum John Gardiner Stevie Woods Mikko Kaven John Fallon Cammy Duncan DEFENDERS: Karl Ready AlanAndy Sneddon? (is this someone getting it wrong or are they two separate players?) - ALAN Jamie Doyle - Midfielder Franz Resch Sasa Curcic Said Chiba Ange Oueifio Alex Burns - FORWARD Gary Bollan Yassin Moutouakil Jonsson Greg Denham Danny Murphy Bobby Donnelly Gary Bollan Eddie Forrest MIDFIELDERS: Chic McClelland - DEFENDER Alan Mackin - DEFENDER John Muir - DEFENDER Gordon "Night" Mair Derek 'Ruby' Murray - DEFENDER Paul Keegan - FORWARD Trevor Molloy John Davies Roberto Martinez Trevor Molloy Bob Malcom Eddie May Andy Dow Alex Spark Davie Shanks Pat Gardner Sam Goodwin Alan Gow FORWARDS: Calum Elliot Derek Townsley Davide Ferrerre Andy Roddie John Hendrie Omar Daly Kevin Christie Esteban Casagolda Michael McGlinchy Callum Elliot Paul Keegan Roy Essandoh Richard Offiong Stephen Halliday CAN'T REMEMBER'S/BLANKED FROM MY MIND/BEFORE MY TIME Neil Tarrant - STRIKER Kevin McBride - MIDFIELDER Brian Kerr - MIDFIELDER Robert Maaskant - DEFENDER Tony Thomas - DEFENDER Angeand Graeme Miller (if this is GREG) - FORWARD Gunni Jonssen Nysonnen - FORWARD Davie Shanks - MIDFIELD Jim Gillespie - FORWARD John Reilly - FORWARD Gregor Stevens - DEFENDER Alex Kennedy - DEFENDER Paul Shepstone Neil Candlish - FORWARD Derek Murray Shaun Fagan - MIDFIELDER Tony Vaughan Robert Clark - DEFENDER Derek Weldon - MIDFIELDER Kevin McDonald Paul Wilson - FORWARD Khaled Kemas - FORWARD Jim Gillespie - FORWARD Mike Larnach - FORWARD Stevie Nicholas - FORWARD Jamie Fairlie - MIDFIELDER Greg Millar Jason Dair - MIDFIELDER Jamie Doyle Joni Lehtonen Elroy Kromheer - DEFENDER Mario Dorner - FORWARD Abel Thermeus - FORWARD Franck Bernhard Graeme Smith - GOALKEEPER Jan Michels - MIDFIELDER Rob Matthaei - MIDFIELDER Having seen most of these players it was really difficult to class some of them under any of the categories Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellhappy Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I'm sure Derek Murray played Left Back not midfield. I'll need to dig out the old programmes.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I'm sure Derek Murray played Left Back not midfield. I'll need to dig out the old programmes.... Yep, that's my recollection too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Elroy Kromheer was a centre half. As I recall, Tommy McLean's second attempt at replacing Craig Paterson, following Bob Maaskaant. I remember they did the comedy photo op of 6ft4 Kromheer next to wee Tommy. Wonder if some are thinking of Bart Verheul when they are saying midfielder or forward. .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I'm sure Derek Murray played Left Back not midfield. I'll need to dig out the old programmes.... Definitely - but whether he played there or not is debatable Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Elroy Kromheer was a centre half. As I recall, Tommy McLean's second attempt at replacing Craig Paterson, following Bob Maaskaant. I remember they did the comedy photo op of 6ft4 Kromheer next to wee Tommy. Wonder if some are thinking of Bart Verheul when they are saying midfielder or forward. .. Yeah that was the one. I was mixing them up - its old age. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I watched the highlights from the '85 semi against Celtic last night from the link someone posted to lots of clips. The often mentioned John Gardiner, Derek Murray and Jamie Doyle (one of my suggestions) all seemed to have reasonable games. Murray played left back and I can't remember him ever playing anywhere else. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I watched the highlights from the '85 semi against Celtic last night from the link someone posted to lots of clips. The often mentioned John Gardiner, Derek Murray and Jamie Doyle (one of my suggestions) all seemed to have reasonable games. Murray played left back and I can't remember him ever playing anywhere else. I dont recall Derek Murray being that bad but compared to some of the other left backs that have served us so well, he was poor in comparison. He would make a worst haircut 11 though for his Charlie Nicholas mullet perm! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellhappy Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Also remember an (irish?) player Mark Caughey (SP?) who was rank. And notable for being a disappointment was a young player Marty McBride, who looked great first couple of sub appearances I saw him but subsequently did nothing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Cowan App Society Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 They may already have been mentioned but dynamic frontmen Roy Essand'oh and John"Airwolf"Reilly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 They may already have been mentioned but dynamic frontmen Roy Essand'oh and John"Airwolf"Reilly They have. And as somebody with your username should know, John Reilly has pretty much exactly the same strike rate in Motherwell colours as Stevie Cowan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Also remember an (irish?) player Mark Caughey (SP?) who was rank. And notable for being a disappointment was a young player Marty McBride, who looked great first couple of sub appearances I saw him but subsequently did nothing. Was that the guy whose first touch in a 'Well jersey was to score an o.g. against Hamilton Accies? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Cowan App Society Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Maybe, but "Mavis" Reilly didn't have a cookbook,t shirts and badges in his honour Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I dont recall Derek Murray being that bad but compared to some of the other left backs that have served us so well, he was poor in comparison. He would make a worst haircut 11 though for his Charlie Nicholas mullet perm! Murray's weakness was his positioning. He consistently stood too far off the man he was marking and didn't get close enough to tackle. If he had the speed of, say, and Andy Dornan, he could have got away with it. But he didn't, and he couldn't. As someone who stood in the shed, there were many times I was closer to the opponent than he was. As for John Gardiner - of course as a professional keeper he did occasionally make saves and even have a game or two when he didn't make mistakes. However, his overall performances were littered with poor positioning, inability to take a cross and 'spills'. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Was that the guy whose first touch in a 'Well jersey was to score an o.g. against Hamilton Accies? I recollect Mark Caughey doing exactly that, though I'm not so sure it was against Accies. I think the Accies link comes from the swap deal that saw Jamie Fairlie go there and Caughey come to us. He had scored a few with Accies, was an NI internationalist I believe at a time when NI had qualified for successive World Cups so weren't too shabby. But I think he was back in NI by the start of the following season and ultimately ended up in the police. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I think we signed Mark Caughey following a goal he scored for Accies reserves against us where he ran nearly the full length of Fir Park and went round half the team. Never quite managed to produce the goods for us although I think he did go on a similar run against someone but fell over trying to knock the ball into the net. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted January 14, 2014 Author Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 So all identified except for this lot, any help appreciated. Angeand Paul Shepstone Derek Murray Jamie Doyle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 So all identified except for this lot, any help appreciated. Angeand Paul Shepstone Derek Murray Jamie Doyle Derek Murray was definitely a left back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tottenmfc Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Harsh on buzz considering he made a massive contribution to us finishing third, got himself into the Scotland squad and played well enough in his final season to get a good move. I doubt McGhee had any special training methods he just had higher standards than maplas. I said to maplas that mcgarry and Paterson were fat and he said "what can I do about it". I also find it a bit bizarre that Graeme Smith has even been mentioned on this thread... according to wikipedia he made 127 appearances in 4 seasons so was pretty much a regular and was part of the McGhee team. His penalty save in Nancy was about the only highlight as far as the match went and I actually thought he won the club poty / ppoty award around that time too? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 So all identified except for this lot, any help appreciated. Angeand Paul Shepstone - FORWARD Derek Murray Jamie Doyle Derek 'Ruby' Murray and Jamie Doyle were both identified - think you should check for doublers, never heard of Angeand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StipeIsGod Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Late one here, but Steve McDonald. Towering Australian pile of shite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casagolda Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 I think you have to take longevity into account. Sure Bobby Donnelly was terrible but the boy only played a handful of games. The guys that are the worst to me are the ones who hang around like a bad smell. So my team will only include guys who spent more than a season at the club. Colin Meldrum Kevin Christie Brian McLean Jamie McGowan Derek Townsley Ian Ross Paul Harvey Andy Roddie Omar Daley John Hendry Trevor Molloy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted January 14, 2014 Report Share Posted January 14, 2014 Jamie Doyle was a very slow central midfielder. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...