El Grew Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Found this 10 minute clip on YouTube. Motherwell V Celtic at FP in 1968. Lost 0-1 but to the majority of the Lisbon Lions side. Big Peter McCloy in goals all in black. I wonder how many posters remember seeing these 'Well players playing. http://m.youtube.com/results?q=motherwell%2520v%2520celtic%25201968&sm=3 I picked out Peter McCloy, Davie Whiteford, Joe Wark, Tom Forsyth, Willie McCallum, Bobby Campbell, Jimmy Wilson, Jackie McInally, Dixie Deans. First 'Well team I saw. Ah what great memories! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Found this 10 minute clip on YouTube. Motherwell V Celtic at FP in 1968. Lost 0-1 but to the majority of the Lisbon Lions side. Big Peter McCloy in goals all in black. I wonder how many posters remember seeing these 'Well players playing. http://m.youtube.com...c%25201968&sm=3 I picked out Peter McCloy, Davie Whiteford, Joe Wark, Tom Forsyth, Willie McCallum, Bobby Campbell, Jimmy Wilson, Jackie McInally, Dixie Deans. First 'Well team I saw. Ah what great memories! Link doesn’t work Grew, however, I have fond memories of that team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 A wee bit early for me, but saw Davie Whiteford in the crowd on Saturday past! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
2/6 tae get in Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Great clip ,great memories of the team and stadium of my youth. If you go direct to YOU TUBE and type in Motherwell v Celtic 1968 you'll get it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 I would be 8 or 9 and starting on my career as a Well fan. Remember all of them fondly, particularly Willie McCallum and Dixie deans before he was sold to Celtic. Great times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
2/6 tae get in Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Davie Whiteford was my PE teacher at Garrion Academy and didnae like you beating him .Really tried to do you in return. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Pretty sure i was at that game. I'd be about 12 and used to go all over the place following the might well. Cant see the fottage well enough on my computer at work to see who all was playing. Maybe get a better look when I get home Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Big Peter McCloy dodges a screwtap after requesting the ball back from the travelling support. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Was at the game, great crowd great clip find...ah the memories...at that time I was eight years of following Motherwell home and away 2nd, 1st divisions cup games.... It is always good to see the terraces full at Fir Park...and it wasn't always just for the old firm... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Couple of years before I started following the 'Well, but a lot of familiar faces who were still playing during my early days. Think I had all of them in my football card collection too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well_Jaggy Posted January 22, 2014 Report Share Posted January 22, 2014 Davie Whiteford was my PE teacher at Garrion Academy and didnae like you beating him .Really tried to do you in return. Aye, had him and big Rodger Hynd too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 23, 2014 Report Share Posted January 23, 2014 Link doesn't work Grew, however, I have fond memories of that team. Here's a better link: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted January 23, 2014 Report Share Posted January 23, 2014 Interesting to note the old advertisements around the ground too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishielad Posted January 23, 2014 Report Share Posted January 23, 2014 I remeber all of that team. I, also, remeber b getting my nose burst by a ball hit by Dixie. I was sitting on wall at halfway line in what is now the East Stand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 23, 2014 Report Share Posted January 23, 2014 I do love watching old footage from Fir Park, not least because if you ignore all the empty seats these days, it pretty much still looks exactly the same on the telly now as it did 40+ years ago. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted January 24, 2014 Report Share Posted January 24, 2014 More from the same season, v Dundee in the League Cup... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...