Frazzie Posted February 3, 2014 Report Share Posted February 3, 2014 I thought I'd fire up a wee thread for the same reason as the other guys- fill a bit of time when there's a spell without games. Anyway, the jist of it is that I'm getting married in August and one of the small details I've managed to seize control of is the names of the tables. I have nine in total and obviously jumped to naming them after 'Well players (although I am open to other suggestions if anyone has any). At the moment I'm thinking that it should be players I've seen in the flesh so currently have: Dijkstra Arnott McFadden Nijholt Kirk Cooper Coyne Craigan O'Donnell Can anyone suggest any changes I should make to either the theme, the rules or the list? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted February 3, 2014 Report Share Posted February 3, 2014 get a lasley table and fill it with celtic fans. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted February 3, 2014 Report Share Posted February 3, 2014 Its a good theme. I got married a couple of weeks after the cup final (3years ago). Had an agreement in place if we won, i could name the tables after the team. In the end i had to go with golf courses. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NottsMFC Posted February 3, 2014 Report Share Posted February 3, 2014 I'd maybe put Martin in for Craigan but that's possibly because he played in 2 of my favourite seasons when I was going to most games home & away. To be fair I think that's a pretty good 9. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 3, 2014 Report Share Posted February 3, 2014 Create an Offiong or Calum Eliot table for people you have to invite but don't really like... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted February 3, 2014 Author Report Share Posted February 3, 2014 Create an Offiong or Calum Eliot table for people you have to invite but don't really like... I would, but you'd be sitting at it..... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 I thought I'd fire up a wee thread for the same reason as the other guys- fill a bit of time when there's a spell without games. Anyway, the jist of it is that I'm getting married in August and one of the small details I've managed to seize control of is the names of the tables. I have nine in total and obviously jumped to naming them after 'Well players (although I am open to other suggestions if anyone has any). At the moment I'm thinking that it should be players I've seen in the flesh so currently have: Dijkstra Arnott McFadden Nijholt Kirk Cooper Coyne Craigan O'Donnell Can anyone suggest any changes I should make to either the theme, the rules or the list? Philliben misses out again. Poor guy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 Create an Offiong or Calum Eliot table for people you have to invite but don't really like... Or a Steve McDonald table for relatives over from Australia who are flying straight back immediately after the wedding. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 Why not have a McGregor table, granted not a Motherwell player but it will remind the little lady what'll happen if she steps out of line and gets a bit lippy. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 Why not have a McGregor table, granted not a Motherwell player but it will remind the little lady what'll happen if she steps out of line and gets a bit lippy. Fraz should probably consider a Titus Bramble table then... John Ruddy since he is the best goalkeeper in your lifetime? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted February 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o3tAqGYi2zo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 Controversial but...I probably wouldn't have Dijkstra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o3tAqGYi2zo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 I'm thinking Mark Reynolds. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted February 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 Controversial but...I probably wouldn't have Dijkstra Dijkstra came over from Holland and played for Fir Park Corner. His is the top table! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 To be honest,August could be dodgy. Maybe a europa league tie around then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted February 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 We'll be out by then! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted February 4, 2014 Report Share Posted February 4, 2014 I'd name every table after a wife beating footballer just for giggles: Stan Collymore George Best Paul Gascoigne did Ashley Cole ever hit little miss "weak, limp, lifeless"? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted February 5, 2014 Report Share Posted February 5, 2014 How about variations of the word shite? I have the following so far. Turd Poop Crap Jobby Poo Feces Excrement Dump Toaly (Possibly colloquial) Think of the endless laughter when informed you're shitting, sorry sitting, at the Jobby table. No? Okay, I'll get my coat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted February 5, 2014 Report Share Posted February 5, 2014 I'd name every table after a wife beating footballer just for giggles: Stan Collymore George Best Paul Gascoigne did Ashley Cole ever hit little miss "weak, limp, lifeless"? You forgot Jimmy Johnstone Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muzz Posted February 5, 2014 Report Share Posted February 5, 2014 I had this at my wedding and I went with:- 1. Maxwell 2. Nijholt 3. Wark 4. O'Neill 5. Craigan 6. Philliben 7. Arnott 8. O'Donnell 9. St John 10. McFadden 11. Cooper 12. Kirk All players I've seen except St John who I put in as he was my fathers hero back in the day. I put together a wee blurb at the back with some stats and some wordage - so I put Celtic and Sevco fans at the Arnott table just to poke it up them a bit. The ball and chain wouldn;t let me name the top table though - upsetting. ETA - I nearly had a table 13, which I was going to call the Kraska table and fill it with people I'd never seen or heard of. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted February 6, 2014 Report Share Posted February 6, 2014 How about variations of the word shite? I have the following so far. Turd Poop Crap Jobby Poo Feces Excrement Dump Toaly (Possibly colloquial) Think of the endless laughter when informed you're shitting, sorry sitting, at the Jobby table. No? Okay, I'll get my coat. Take off faeces and excrement - way too formal - replace them with keich and ploppy and you're on to a winner. Seat the Blackadder fans at the Ploppy Table.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted February 18, 2014 Report Share Posted February 18, 2014 How about variations of the word shite? I have the following so far. Turd Poop Crap Jobby Poo Feces Excrement Dump Toaly (Possibly colloquial) Think of the endless laughter when informed you're shitting, sorry sitting, at the Jobby table. No? Okay, I'll get my coat. Surely the 2nd table should just be table "number 2"? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Folkie Posted February 19, 2014 Report Share Posted February 19, 2014 Dae ye need a Ceilidh Band? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted February 19, 2014 Author Report Share Posted February 19, 2014 My mother would love that, but my missus (to be) would hate it, and there can be only one winner that day... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...