Yabba's Turd Posted March 2, 2014 Report Share Posted March 2, 2014 Edinburgh to face Hibees, we're better than them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted March 2, 2014 Report Share Posted March 2, 2014 Not always a guarantee of 3 points being better than the other team. If we can play like we did on Saturday then I would be hopeful of 3 points. We need to keep winning as I can see United continuing on another long winning run. Heading along to this one so let's hope Hibs are as poor as they were on Friday night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcdez Posted March 2, 2014 Report Share Posted March 2, 2014 Watched a bit of their game vs United on Friday night and they were absolutely ganting . Hopefully our own wee blip is over and if we can replicate the spirit and performance from the Hearts game we can get over the line in this one . Going for a 2-0 win . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted March 2, 2014 Report Share Posted March 2, 2014 Not always a guarantee of 3 points being better than the other team. If we can play like we did on Saturday then I would be hopeful of 3 points. We need to keep winning as I can see United continuing on another long winning run. Heading along to this one so let's hope Hibs are as poor as they were on Friday night. With 6 games left I am not so sure since 4 of them are St Johnstone, Inverness, Aberdeen and Celtic plus St Mirren and Hearts However I would expect them to get at 9 to 12 points from that So we certainly need to keep picking up points Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 We only need 14 points from a possible 33 remaining to beat our club record for a third season in a row. I have no idea how this game will turn out, but its an important statistic to hang on to when things arent going our way. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 4-0 to us. Sutton x2, Ainsworth and McFadden on the score sheet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 We only need a point to confirm a top 6 place, but Hibs are pish so i expect all 3 to continue our challenge to be the best of the rest Not bothered about the score, as long as its 1 more than Hibs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Our top six berth was confirmed weeks ago, guess its a sign of expectations that there is no running commentary on it, in here, any more. I'm thinking Terry will have them battling again by next week, might not be pretty , but am hopeful that we can take something Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Our top six berth was confirmed weeks ago, guess its a sign of expectations that there is no running commentary on it, in here, any more. Which given the turnover in personnel, reduced budget and mini-injury crisis we have endured is an excellent achievement for me. We could easily have had a mid-table battle on our hands this season, but instead, here we are again well in the mix for a Euro spot. You could argue it is a more impressive achievement than finishing 2nd with the squad we had last season. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 I'm pretty pissed off they have moved this game from it's original date (which I could make) to this one (which I can't) although I appreciate it does make sense to play a game on a Saturday at 3pm. Looking for a point from this to be honest. Our top six berth was confirmed weeks ago, guess its a sign of expectations that there is no running commentary on it, in here, any more. It's still a major achievement in my eyes. Imagine the stress if we were Thistle, Killie, St Mirren or Ross County right now?!?!?! Which given the turnover in personnel, reduced budget and mini-injury crisis we have endured is an excellent achievement for me. We could easily have had a mid-table battle on our hands this season, but instead, here we are again well in the mix for a Euro spot. I'd agree with that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 With 6 games left I am not so sure since 4 of them are St Johnstone, Inverness, Aberdeen and Celtic plus St Mirren and Hearts However I would expect them to get at 9 to 12 points from that So we certainly need to keep picking up points They have St Mirren and St Johnstone at Tannadice in their next 2 games. The way they have been playing that is 6 points in the bag.. I agree they may drop points when they come to play Aberdeen and Celtic and on the face of it they have a more difficult run in b4 the split than we do. Celtic will have won the title before then and will probably play kids against them. Would like to maintain the current gap as a minimum for after the split. Not discounting ICT I might add... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sbcmfc Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 With 3 of the teams that could finish above us, plus rangers who are in eligible still being in the Scottish cup, Europe looks fairly likely at the moment. Can't see Dundee Utd and Inverness CT both catching us. As long as anyone who does catch us wins the cup or loses the final to Rangers, 4th would do. Hibs are pretty poor by all accounts. 3-1 win. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 1-1, Sutton for us. Wouldn't be a disaster. On the other hand, we're 100% against the bottom six, so I'm not sure! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 1-1 with Ainsworth scoring for us. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rambunctious Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 I'm pretty sure whenever I've been to Easter Road that Motherwell have won. It's a bit of a strange coincidence, but we have enjoyed a good record there for a few years now. I'm home from Inverness this weekend and will be making the trip through I think our team will be fairly similar to last weeks. Hammell will hopefully be fit again (with ZFA picking up a knock it could be a necessity), and I'd imagine Carswell will be back in for Leitch, even though the young lad did well vs. Hearts. Hollis Reid Hutchinson McManus Hammell Ainsworth Lasley Carswell Vigurs Sutton McFadden McCall has sprung a few surprises the last few weeks though, that 3-5-2 against St Johnstone was a disaster. Hopefully it's the above team, and hopefully Anier will be fit enough to make the bench. Both teams are stronger than when we last met, more so us probably. I think it'll be a tough game, but I'd be slightly disappointed if we didn't win. Changed days! If Ainsworth, Faddy and Vigurs are in the mood, then we will create a load of chances...and that man Sutton will take at least one! Ainsworth's pace makes him a nightmare, and he has an end product. Vigurs left foot is a wand, he doesn't need pace to get to the by-line when he can put in pin-point crosses from deep. Faddy's link-up play is class and he will be a real handful for both the Hibees centre backs and holding midfielders. 3-1 Motherwell. Sutton with two and one from Faddy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Hibs have conceded at least 1 goal in their last 8 matches. At the very least we should score but Hibs have also scored a few goals since Butcher took over so I don't think we can say it's going to be a push over based on form. Might be one of those ones where you stick it down as a 3 goals or more at the bookies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Might be one of those ones where you stick it down as a 3 goals or more at the bookies. That is my thoughts on the vast majority of our games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Hibs have conceded at least 1 goal in their last 8 matches. Im guessing there will be similar stats for us though...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Im guessing there will be similar stats for us though...... Just 6 matches since Dan was between the sticks keeping clean sheets galore! That's kinda why I said we can't say it will be a push over even though Hibs have only won once in 7. They only picked up 2 points against Kilmarnock, Dundee Utd and St. Mirren for instance but they scored 5 goals across those matches (1-2-2). In their four wins since December they also scored at least twice. Need to be careful, I'd suggest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted March 3, 2014 Report Share Posted March 3, 2014 Which given the turnover in personnel, reduced budget and mini-injury crisis we have endured is an excellent achievement for me. We could easily have had a mid-table battle on our hands this season, but instead, here we are again well in the mix for a Euro spot. You could argue it is a more impressive achievement than finishing 2nd with the squad we had last season. No argument here weeyin, I was still tracking it, like may others would've been also , securing top six is a significant achievement in it's own right, for all the reasons you mention. I've found it interesting to watch the meltdown around the social media sites from our supporters who over the last month, whilst barely even acknowledging the achievement of securing top six. Even the club no longer mention it as a goal achieved? It's still a major achievement in my eyes. Imagine the stress if we were Thistle, Killie, St Mirren or Ross County right now?!?!?! Too right it is an achievement, just how much will probably only be measured when the spend of all the teams for the campaign is revealed in a year. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted March 6, 2014 Report Share Posted March 6, 2014 Reading that the drum has been banned from Easter Road as it "makes too much noise"! Too much noise at a football match?!?! Cannae have that eh? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted March 6, 2014 Report Share Posted March 6, 2014 Reading that the drum has been banned from Easter Road as it "makes too much noise"! Too much noise at a football match?!?! Cannae have that eh? Whispered conversation and polite applause only please. Don't buy crisps as they make too much noise Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted March 6, 2014 Report Share Posted March 6, 2014 Big group who were attending now mostly will not be. Not giving them my cash after such a ridiculous decision. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nellies Posted March 6, 2014 Report Share Posted March 6, 2014 The decision to ban the drum because of to much noise is totally embarrassing,ave never heard such a ridiculous excuse in my life. No wonder stands are empty, £22 quid to sit in silence, no thank you. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted March 6, 2014 Report Share Posted March 6, 2014 A really terrible decision by Hibs, and absolutely baffling. The "fans" who complained because the big bad Motherwell fans make too much noise should be ashamed of themselves. I'll still be going, as it's a rare "home" game for me, but I totally understand anyone who now chooses not to go because of this decision. Absolute madness. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...