makaveli Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Bring back the Esteban Nah, think Dan the Man needs a chance, 1st game and he gets hit with two penalties. Think the problem is the player fouling in the penalty box not the keeper not saving him on his first game. He played well against Fulham, could have easily been 3 or 4 nil if it wasn't for a couple of good saves by him Far better than Nielson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Disagree Yoshi...Dan didnt have much at all to do except pick the ball out the net at two penalties. Apart from that he made the blocks he needed too and got fouled at the one cross he fumbled. Agree the defence looked lazy. Midfield - Thought Vigurs had a good game, was running rings round them and set up a goal. He lost the ball a couple of times at the end but overall good. Law had a great first 45. Carswell was solid. Ainsworth a good first 45. Lasley had a shocker for an experienced player. Countless missed passes and he did move his hand to the ball for the first pen. Sutton - Mingin but no service Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 New back four, please. And a keeper. And a centre mid. And a left winger. And... and... and... Behave... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamst Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Jim Goodwin was in the Phil o' donnell tonight... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Jim Goodwin was in the Phil o' donnell tonight... Given he's first team coach at our first opponents in the league, scouting would be the order of the day... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamst Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Given he's first team coach at our first opponents in the league, scouting would be the order of the day... Thank god, relieved! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Behave... ;-) I did wonder how long it'd take but most people above actually agree with me. I'd probably withdraw the keeper one. Dan does have some potential. The rest? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Saying we need a new back 4 is pushing it. Another centre half wouldnt go a miss though. Left winger, agree. Centre mid though?Nah, think we are fine there. By god do we need a wee tricky striker though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted July 17, 2014 Report Share Posted July 17, 2014 Err..what did Dan do wrong to merit his jotters? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 He's neither black or Irish Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Eh? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Err..what did Dan do wrong to merit his jotters? Nothing - but he didn't cover himself in glory. Fumbled one cross and got involved in an almighty mix up with 2 defenders when he should have taken charge. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Dan is pish after two games. The same Dan who was the saviour based on five games. Knee-jerk reactions and hyperbole. Welcome to Steelmen Online... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Dan is pish after two games. The same Dan who was the saviour based on five games. Knee-jerk reactions and hyperbole. Welcome to Steelmen Online... Nothing wrong, nothing at all, with a measured response. During his temporary 5 game spell with us last season some of us never saw him as being a "saviour" as you put it. Yes he did well, but some of us felt he was weak in the air because of his lack of stature (not his fault). Thats been evident this season, so what has changed? He also failed to take charge in a potentially costly defensive mix up. That could have been disastrous for us. I for one am not calling him rubbish or whatever alternative term you choose but he has given cause for concern in my book - no more and no less. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Exactly my point! A measured response is what's needed. Was it measured from those who felt after just five games that a guy who couldn't get a game for Dundee was the answer? No. Is it measured from those who feel after one pre-season game and one European game who are now demanding a new keeper to play instead? No. Where are we disagreeing there? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellman Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Bring back the Esteban Nah, think Dan the Man needs a chance, 1st game and he gets hit with two penalties. Think the problem is the player fouling in the penalty box not the keeper not saving him on his first game. He played well against Fulham, could have easily been 3 or 4 nil if it wasn't for a couple of good saves by him Far better than Nielson Marshall will soon knock any of his good traits out of him. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Exactly my point! A measured response is what's needed. Was it measured from those who felt after just five games that a guy who couldn't get a game for Dundee was the answer? No. Is it measured from those who feel after one pre-season game and one European game who are now demanding a new keeper to play instead? No. Where are we disagreeing there? Probably not. The fact that he couldn't get a game for Dundee does make you think but thats no reason in itself to castigate him. At the moment I'm ambivalent about him, but he's due his chance. Early indications are that, performance wise, he's on a par with Lee Hollis and Gunnar Neilsen, but my view my change as the season starts. Of the three Gunnar Neilsen is potentially reckoned to be the best of the three, but that doesn't always translate into on the field performances. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 If Gunnar Neilson had come out flapping like a wee skinny pigeon like Dan did everyone here would be bashing their keyboards in rage. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 If Gunnar Neilson had come out flapping like a wee skinny pigeon like Dan did everyone here would be bashing their keyboards in rage. He clearly got fouled and pushed under the ball. Or are we just ignoring that aye? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Dan is certainly not the man. Another Lee Hollis I think. Looked miles off with most shots and crosses that went by Sadly, I had concerns his hype was bigger than his perceived talent. Was a little disappointed we didn't look down south for another Ruddy or Randolph style deal. Hopefully just a shaky start and he will prove, yet again, I know nothing about this game. (Oh, and Gunnar would have saved one of the pens :-) ) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Sadly, I had concerns his hype was bigger than his perceived talent. Was a little disappointed we didn't look down south for another Ruddy or Randolph style deal. Hopefully just a shaky start and he will prove, yet again, I know nothing about this game. (Oh, and Gunnar would have saved one of the pens :-) ) Exactly! McCall should have done a Holland and Sub'd in Gunnar for Dan on the last pernalty but he didn't. Fkn ridiculous SACK HIM! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Didn't mccall say in an interview that it was down to Marshall on the who we get in when it came to keepers? Thought this was odd as I thought it was the managers job to bring in players regardless of postion Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dossertillidie Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 In terms of keepers of recent seasons we have been a bit spoiled! Sadly due a time of feeling a bit disapointed with who we currently have between the sticks. I fear for the season we don't come 2nd and get into Europe as well! Need to enjoy every good moment of being a well fan while it lasts! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 He clearly got fouled and pushed under the ball. Or are we just ignoring that aye? if that even is the case it would help if we wasn't built like the side of a fiver Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted July 18, 2014 Report Share Posted July 18, 2014 Sadly, I had concerns his hype was bigger than his perceived talent. Was a little disappointed we didn't look down south for another Ruddy or Randolph style deal. Seconded. Despite Darren Randolph's stature in the SPL keepers of his calibre are ten a penny in England. We've gone from having one of the best keepers in the SPL to having one of the weakest. Is there no in between? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...