steelboy Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Naw Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Wispy Flossy Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 payment of last seasons bonuses has taken its time to reach some of the players. At least there won't be similar problems next season Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 The low league finish though means we will have saved money on win bonuses and league position bonuses at end of year so should free up some cash. No? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Aye and when he was getting kept out the team by Craigan and Reynolds he was in the War Office getting MWI. Maybe if he'd abstained from clubbing/drinking and watched his dietary intake on the night before matches back then he'd have been in the team Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 I don't think we'll bring anyone in. Don't think there are 2 brass farthings to rub together. Might hold onto Ojamaa and O'Brien till the end of the season but that's it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 I'm fairly sure there will be some movement before the end of January, if not indeed when January has come and gone. The GM said the manager had some irons in the fire and whilst Baraclough acknowledged we might need to be creative the suggestion of freshening up the squad wasn't dismissed. Where we might have some difficulty is those who you might have expected to be makeweights in providing the finance to do anything are currently injured - like McHugh or perhaps Moore, or have already been out on loan like Cummins. That seemed to be the part of the process that enabled us to get Anier permanently this time last year. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
asdf1234 Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Surely baraclough can find a cheap gem from Ireland? Could we get money from McManus of he was sold Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 I'm fairly sure there will be some movement before the end of January, if not indeed when January has come and gone. The GM said the manager had some irons in the fire and whilst Baraclough acknowledged we might need to be creative the suggestion of freshening up the squad wasn't dismissed. Where we might have some difficulty is those who you might have expected to be makeweights in providing the finance to do anything are currently injured - like McHugh or perhaps Moore, or have already been out on loan like Cummins. That seemed to be the part of the process that enabled us to get Anier permanently this time last year. Good post Andy and I think that sums things up well. We do know that the club is trying to extend the deals for Ojamaa and O'Brien. Apart from that Ian Baraclough did suggest in a recent interview that there was some scope to make one or two personnel changes albeit through wheeling and dealing. One or two fringe players going out on loan or a loan player or two coming in. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 One way he could free up salary would be to let Ojamma and O'Brien return to their clubs and use those savings to pay the salaries of new recruits for the positions he sees as needing immediate upgrade. Don't know, but would think we must be paying a fair bit for their loan deals.....The loss of Ojamma might be seen as a disaster by many on here. But if it means we can get some decent full backs and some midfield protection for the defence then I reckon I could live with that. IB has inherited a crock of shite and, coupled with the injury list, his hands are tied to a great extent. He will need to be creative...and lucky...to get us out of the mess the players, McCall and Black have got us into. It will take time. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mic2904 Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 If its about 'freshening up' the squad we should maybe approach similar dealing like Dundee and Hibs did and swap players (Or whatever teams swapped players). The wouldnt cost too much and salary should technically stay the same...?! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 If Ojamaa leaves then we're as good as down imo. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FJ-94 Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 O'brien loan extended until the end of the season Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezz Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 The last para of Baraclough's quote is interesting...'January is likely to be a busy month. We've got to move a few players on and get a few new faces in. I expect my phone will be very busy indeed'. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 If Ojamaa leaves then we're as good as down imo. Really even if his wages would cover a striker that actually scores goals regularly and a midfielder...? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Happy enough with keeping O'brien as long as we have a decent deal on the wages. Hopefully that means we can move out Cummins somehow and use his wages elsewhere. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 O'brien loan extended until the end of the season Happy with this tbh. Lesser of the evils we have in defence at the club at the moment. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yassin Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Really even if his wages would cover a striker that actually scores goals regularly and a midfielder...? I'm skeptical about our chances of finding a goal scoring free agent in January who is willing to come for half a first team player's wages. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 I'm skeptical about our chances of finding a goal scoring free agent in January who is willing to come for half a first team player's wages. We can but hope! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Surely baraclough can find a cheap gem from Ireland? Could we get money from McManus of he was sold From what I saw of the LoI this year, gems were in pretty short supply. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 I'm skeptical about our chances of finding a goal scoring free agent in January who is willing to come for half a first team player's wages. Thinking more of a loan signing whose wages we don't need to contribute as much as to as Ojaama's. Young championship reserve player perhaps... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Delighted O'Brien has signed on again. Big fan of his tackle first and ask questions later approach. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Quite happy with O'Brien staying. If he can stay fit, he has the makings of a decent no-nonsense defender. Hopefully we can get one of the lesser defenders off the books though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelman1991 Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Absolute bomb scare of a player - surely we could get a cheaper option with the limited ability expressed by thisGRAEME as his preferred option The quicker he returns to Oireland and takes up Gaelic Football the better - its what his talents demand. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 Maybe someone can have a wee word with him and tell him to stop hoofing the ball every time it comes to him. 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
santheman Posted January 5, 2015 Report Share Posted January 5, 2015 As opposed to passing it straght to an opposition player like his fellow central defenders you mean? 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...