Kmcalpin Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 For those who haven't seen it there's an excellent article on Fir Park Corner about our groundsman and his views on the pitch. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 And if, like me, it took you a while to find it, here's the link: http://www.pitchcare.com/magazine/motherwell-football-club-me-and-my-shadow.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 From someone who was highly critical of mistakes made in the past... credit where credit is due. Given the rainfall mentioned, our pitch hasn't broken up and whilst not the lush green hybrid pitches we see every waking hour on skysports - our pitch is fairing better than most in the country. Interesting to note, the main problem area is towards the South East corner - as the gradient goes, it's the highest part of the pitch Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 Interesting to note, the main problem area is towards the South East corner - as the gradient goes, it's the highest part of the pitch Or the DEEP END as it was christened a few season back. (whos got the photo?) or was that to do with the overflowing pissers running down the stand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 Must be because of the regular gathering of police and stewards wetting their pants over a load of wee boys in that corner. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 Must be because of the regular gathering of police and stewards wetting their pants over a load of wee boys in that corner. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted April 8, 2014 Report Share Posted April 8, 2014 The deep end is also the darkest end... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 Mildest winter for quite a while though, interesting to see how things go when things are a bit more tasty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 I think cold and frost is easier to deal with than the torrential rain that fell at times during the winter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 Good work ME and his helpers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 Away stand shadow causing them real issues. Would have though that we would have built the stand with a roof that allowed the light through. Probably cost too much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 I think cold and frost is easier to deal with than the torrential rain that fell at times during the winter. Your use of "I think" means that's an opinion rather than a fact Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 Your use of "I think" means that's an opinion rather than a fact Empirically, we have had more issues with waterlogging than freezing for the given sample universe. From a hypothesis test with 95% confidence limits, that indicates torrential rain is more problematic. Once the data is peer reviewed by the appropriate referees I'll post a link to the publishing journal. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goggles & Flippers Posted April 9, 2014 Report Share Posted April 9, 2014 Neg votes ... deary me. The pitch was woeful a few years back, an empiricle sandpit, no doubt that helped seal the P45 of the existing groundsman. This article resulted in a lot of back slapping on here for the current one. All I was saying was (and it appear it wasn't grasped) if he encountered a winter where snow lay and froze pretty much for 2 months as it did in 2009 and 2010 then the current state of the pitch I suspect would be very different and he would no doubt be facing a little more sniping on here. All I was pointing out it may have been fair to judge his efforts off the back of a cruel winter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted April 11, 2014 Report Share Posted April 11, 2014 All I was pointing out it may have been fair to judge his efforts off the back of a cruel winter. I live 5 minute from Fir Park and there wasn't a single night of lying snow this year. Probably the mildest winter I can ever remember. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted April 11, 2014 Report Share Posted April 11, 2014 I live 5 minute from Fir Park and there wasn't a single night of lying snow this year. Probably the mildest winter I can ever remember. Aye, we kept it all over here this winter - so much that the towns were running out of salt to put on the roads. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...