numpty Posted June 2, 2014 Report Share Posted June 2, 2014 From today's Scotsman: http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/english/roberto-martinez-motherwell-shaped-me-as-manager-1-3429707 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Villageman Posted June 2, 2014 Report Share Posted June 2, 2014 Probably enabled him to identify non trying wasters like himself Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted June 2, 2014 Report Share Posted June 2, 2014 Only annoying thing there is the Rangers fan in the comments section suggesting that McCall has also learned enough at Fir Park and should move on. I wonder where this Gers fan had in mind... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted June 2, 2014 Report Share Posted June 2, 2014 Probably enabled him to identify non trying wasters like himself Baws. Was just a stupid signing not used to our style of game. Quality player. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted June 2, 2014 Report Share Posted June 2, 2014 . Honestly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted June 2, 2014 Report Share Posted June 2, 2014 . Honestly Yup, I think it does a very respectful and intelligent footballer an injustice to say he was uninterested and a waster. I just think he struggled badly with the pace and our style at the time. Stick that player in Scottish football just now he would stand out like a sore thumb!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 Did Boab not get his boaby baw deep in a young thing from Motherwell? An excellent footballer who struggled badly in our team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 Did Boab not get his boaby baw deep in a young thing from Motherwell? An excellent footballer who struggled badly in our team. His missus is Scottish and he met her while with us, I believe... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 His missus is Scottish and he met her while with us, I believe... Yep, she was a few years above me at high school. Met her at The Moorings when she was working there, I believe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 Beth Thompson was it not? Wid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 Beth Thompson was it not? Wid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 He seems a pretty decent sort Martinez. He can perhaps afford to a bit more mellow in his outlook when reminiscing about how his time at Motherwell came to close given what he has achieved since, but you contrast that with the venom of the likes of Forrest and Dow when presented with the opportunity. I also found it quite amusing to read in another article about him (in Four Four Two IIRC) that his living room has a huge corner sofa with two large TV's so his missus is kept happy watching her shite whilst he watches whatever fitba happens to be on the telly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted June 3, 2014 Report Share Posted June 3, 2014 He seems a pretty decent sort Martinez. He can perhaps afford to a bit more mellow in his outlook when reminiscing about how his time at Motherwell came to close given what he has achieved since, but you contrast that with the venom of the likes of Forrest and Dow when presented with the opportunity. Aye, it never ceases to amaze me how precious some footballers are when they are made redundant. I imagine almost every poster on here has been affected by lay-offs at some time in their life (twice directly for me), and I'll bet none of us went greetin' to the press or bawlin' our eyes out to whoever would listen about how unfair it was. It's a job. Sometimes you lose your job. Then you need to find a new job. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted June 4, 2014 Report Share Posted June 4, 2014 I always remember the bizarre sight of Jordi Cruyff at Cliftonhill to watch Martinez make his debut in a 2-0 friendly win. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted June 5, 2014 Report Share Posted June 5, 2014 Aye, it never ceases to amaze me how precious some footballers are when they are made redundant. I imagine almost every poster on here has been affected by lay-offs at some time in their life (twice directly for me), and I'll bet none of us went greetin' to the press or bawlin' our eyes out to whoever would listen about how unfair it was. It's a job. Sometimes you lose your job. Then you need to find a new job. I think anyone would be angry if they were under contract and they lost their jobs, that's natural. But I have less sympathy for guys that got paid unbelievable money for doing absolutely fuck all. None of the most vociferous voices ever played at that level again for a reason - they were shite and should never have been there in the first place. By the way, the one exception, Mark Brown, I don't remember bleeting to the press like Forrest, Dow, Ready etc.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted June 5, 2014 Report Share Posted June 5, 2014 I think anyone would be angry if they were under contract and they lost their jobs, that's natural. But I have less sympathy for guys that got paid unbelievable money for doing absolutely fuck all. None of the most vociferous voices ever played at that level again for a reason - they were shite and should never have been there in the first place. By the way, the one exception, Mark Brown, I don't remember bleeting to the press like Forrest, Dow, Ready etc.... Maybe not publicly, aye. His father though? He of Spam Valley* residence, well capable of letting his mouth run away with itself *in reference to the Spam Valley chants at Inverness 7 or 8 seasons since... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted June 5, 2014 Report Share Posted June 5, 2014 I always remember the bizarre sight of Jordi Cruyff at Cliftonhill to watch Martinez make his debut in a 2-0 friendly win. Fairly sure I read that Jordi Cruyff was his best man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faddythedaddy Posted June 5, 2014 Report Share Posted June 5, 2014 *in reference to the Spam Valley chants at Inverness 7 or 8 seasons since... That, was a day oot and a half. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ballso Posted June 5, 2014 Report Share Posted June 5, 2014 One of the best Inverness trips! Sure there was also chants about his mrs that he was non plus see about... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottW1886 Posted June 6, 2014 Report Share Posted June 6, 2014 And his sister.... I seem to recall him saving a penalty that day in front of the 'Well fans and celebrating in style! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesacs Posted June 6, 2014 Report Share Posted June 6, 2014 anyone see "the manager" on BTSport? he comes across so well, very much a "football man" - they make reference to that couch someone referred to above and I'm with Sieb, an excellent footballer who was way ahead of Scottish footbal at the time a very good watch Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...