siebsbarmyarmy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Really? was Ruddy our keeper when you started going to FP? what about Woods? Duberdaux? Smith? I would have Smith and Doubourdeux ahead of Hollis tbh WJ and in my opinion also he was an awful keeper. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 By far the worst goalkeeper since I started going to Fir Park! He wasn't even the worse goalkeeper at the club last season! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Hollis suffered from following Randolph and Ruddy in the same way that Moyes suffered from following Ferguson. It was asking a lot to match up to two of the best keepers I've seen at Fir Park. I suspect that Hollis is no better or worse than a lot of keepers in the first team at SPL level (keepers in the SPL last season, outwith Forster, much of a muchness). His injury record leaves a lot to be desired which didn't help him get a run of form last season. I'd have him ahead of Twardzik but Nielsen ahead of them both. Still can't believe we signed Twardzik this summer when Jamie McDonald was available... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 You must be on crack! He was an awful goalkeeper and was struggle to even sit on the bench at Fir Park. By far the worst goalkeeper since I started going to Fir Park! Can assure you there have been many keepers worse than Hollis at FirPark. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rambunctious Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Can assure you there have been many keepers worse than Hollis at FirPark. I can think of one who's still at the club. I'm not entirely sure what Hollis did to be branded as shit. He was in fact one of our more reliable players last season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmac Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 He inspired no confidence whatsoever. Could not impose himself in the penalty box and made everybody in front of him nervous. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Us auld yins who remember Stevie Woods are nodding sagely and smirking. Melvin, as always, hits the nail on the heid... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 He inspired no confidence whatsoever. Could not impose himself in the penalty box and made everybody in front of him nervous. Exactly this. Defenders genuinely looked feart playing infront of him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Us auld yins who remember Stevie Woods are nodding sagely and smirking. Melvin, as always, hits the nail on the heid... In your opinion he does. I don't agree so in my opinion he doesn't. You don't need to be that old to remember Woods FFS. He didn't exactly play in the 70's. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Woods by far worse than any keeper I've seen in goals for us. Only reason he got away with it was because of the class defenders we had at the club around that time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Exactly this. Defenders genuinely looked feart playing infront of him. Is that the defenders' excuse for giving away so many cheap goals from set pieces last season? "I didn't pick up my man because Hollis made me feart". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Is that the defenders' excuse for giving away so many cheap goals from set pieces last season? "I didn't pick up my man because Hollis made me feart". Don't be such a pedant if possible. You know fine well a defender having confidence in a keeper coming off his line at set pieces to collect a ball can have an impact on how many goals they concede. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 In your opinion he does. I don't agree so in my opinion he doesn't. You don't need to be that old to remember Woods FFS. He didn't exactly play in the 70's. Its all about opinions at the end of the day, fora like this wouldn't be as much fun if it wasn't. I personally don't agree with yours but I respect your right to have it. I was being self-deprecating and ironic with the old statement, those of us in the throes of mid-life take their fun where they can. Chill. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Hollis suffered from being absolutely gash, he wasn't even a decent shot stopper and I distinctly remember thinking he looked like a bad 5 a side goalie after he let a shot right through him the first time I saw him play for us. Up at Aberdeen in the last game of the season he threw the ball out to Reid when he wasn't looking and almost cost us a goal. He also lost the flight of the ball in the air and it clipped the inside of the bar much to his bemusement. His kicking that day was also terrible as normal. A thoroughly nice guy by all accounts and yes unlucky with injuries but when he did get his chance he just wasn't any good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Hollis was absolutely rank, even worse than Gunnar. Inspired zero confidence in anyone in front of him or in the stands. The worst ever though? Maybe not (I personally think Fraser, Dubeordeux and Kaven were worse) but he's certainly not far away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 the cat was by far the worse i seen meadowbank in the pishing rain getting a 4-2 humping Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 I can't remember that one. You got a wee photo to jog my memory? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Hollis suffered from being absolutely gash, he wasn't even a decent shot stopper and I distinctly remember thinking he looked like a bad 5 a side goalie after he let a shot right through him the first time I saw him play for us. Up at Aberdeen in the last game of the season he threw the ball out to Reid when he wasn't looking and almost cost us a goal. He also lost the flight of the ball in the air and it clipped the inside of the bar much to his bemusement. His kicking that day was also terrible as normal. A thoroughly nice guy by all accounts and yes unlucky with injuries but when he did get his chance he just wasn't any good. Reid was looking then did the cardinal sin of not turning and facing. In the same game he challenged Anderson twice as our defenders shat it, despite being fouled. He made less mistakes than a lot of our keepers. And much less than the men in front of him 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Judge Jules Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 I grew up watching Woods and he was a total bomb scare and probably the worst i've seen but it doesn't take away from the fact that Hollis was a terrible keeper at our level. Remember he was Airdrie's number 2 when we signed him !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Reid was looking then did the cardinal sin of not turning and facing. In the same game he challenged Anderson twice as our defenders shat it, despite being fouled. He made less mistakes than a lot of our keepers. And much less than the men in front of him Reid didn't show for the ball because he clearly didn't want it. It wasn't on and Hollis shouldn't have thrown it to him. That was his mistake IMO. Maybe our defenders were expecting him to come and claim a cross in his area. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Us auld yins who remember Stevie Woods are nodding sagely and smirking. Melvin, as always, hits the nail on the heid... What about Meldrum or the leg end that was John Gardner lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faddythedaddy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Stevie woods, no contest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chummy Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Stevie woods.....winning 2-1 scottish cup tie at fir park 2 mins to go against rangers throws the ball against Durie..2-2.. pumpdd 3-0 at ibrox in replay... cunt Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted August 16, 2014 Report Share Posted August 16, 2014 Stevie Woods was my biggest nightmare in the 90s Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted August 17, 2014 Report Share Posted August 17, 2014 Maxwell was the first goalkeeper I seen in a 'Well jersey. Hollis gave everyone around him the fear, not just us fans sitting in the stand. Despite us having some poor keepers, with most being named, none of them are as bad as this imposter! On the subject of Stevie Woods. He is always remembered for the high profile mistake against Rangers but he doesn't even make the top 3 shit keepers we have had in the last 25 years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...